EY "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

EY Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated 22 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
79%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
EY Global Chairman and CEO Carmine Di  Sibio
Carmine Di Sibio
797 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Director 

    I have been working at EY full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Work life balance is great

    Cons

    Complex org to navigate through

    EY2020-01-27
  2. "Senior Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in London, England

    I have been working at EY full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - great people to work with - good work life balance - interesting projects/ large scale

    Cons

    - low salary compared to other firms or in house

    EY2020-02-16
  3. "Great starting place but not long term"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at EY

    Pros

    Great experience for a graduate - you gain a wealth of knowledge and most people there are great .

    Cons

    Work life balance is none existent - would use it as a platform for initial experience but if you want to stay there long term you should accept that it will become your life.

    Continue reading
    EY2020-02-14
  4. "It's ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at EY full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible working Good Work life balance

    Cons

    Poor employee benefits Not very challenging

    EY2020-01-28
  5. "Challenging and rewarding in equal measures"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Manager 

    I have been working at EY full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great mentors, all the autonomy and responsibility you want, good progression opportunities

    Cons

    Unpredictable hours, difficult clients, work-life balance

    EY2020-01-18
  6. "Good learning curve"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Consultant, Retail 

    I have been working at EY full-time

    Pros

    Good exposure to international projects

    Cons

    No work life balance. Some poor quality senior managers

    EY2020-01-14
  7. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at EY full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Continuous improvement of skills Dynamic Friendly

    Cons

    Improve Work life balance Salary packages should be improved

    EY2020-01-05
  8. "Good culture, poor salary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at EY full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    good working culture work life balance good branding standard progression within the firm to be expected

    Cons

    unpredictable project - not always relate to your area of expertise poor salary, almost no bonus

    EY2020-01-03
  9. "People-focussed organisation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Associate in London, England

    I have been working at EY full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly and considerate teams, work-life balance

    Cons

    Not a very dynamic or challenging environment

    EY2020-01-07
  10. "Not worth the hours or stress for the qualification."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Audit Senior Associate in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at EY full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Looks good on your CV for moving into industry

    Cons

    Work life balance is horrendous. Working hours are 9-5 (per contract) but the pressure put on you forces you to stay in the office much much longer. During busy season, very common to spend weeks working past midnight, as well as multiple weekends- of which there is no overtime or TOIL. There is a big staff retention issue in audit, and always resourcing issues, which causes significant stress being the senior on the engagement with limited staff. This caused a massive strain on my mental health, with the worst part being I felt there was no-one at the company I could talk to about it. Always travelling out of London for clients, with no real base to get to know people as always moving around teams. The pay is significantly below industry, so makes no sense to stay at EY after qualification with much better pay and working hours out of EY. There are arbitrary deadlines all of the time to put stress on you.

    Continue reading
    EY2020-01-08

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 4661 reviews
</>Embed