Eastman Employee Reviews about "small town"

Updated Sep 15, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 43 of over 1,991 reviews

3.9
74%
Recommend to a Friend
72%
Approve of CEO
Eastman Chairman and Chief Executive Officer Mark J. Costa
Mark J. Costa
883 Ratings
Pros
  • "Not expected to work over 40 hours per week and work/life balance is valued(in 169 reviews)

  • "Friendly work environment, teams and no work pressure(in 118 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Decision making is a very lengthy process, an employee needs to have a champion to have a career(in 59 reviews)

  • "Small town, large company -- transitioning to global company is difficult(in 43 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "small town"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Former Intern

      Great Internship

      Sep 15, 2020 - Intern 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great people/culture, always willing to help you out. Worked on legitimate projects.

      Cons

      Small town, diversity could improve as well.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Inspiring and collaborative

      Sep 4, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very positive work environment, collaborative and team focused

      Cons

      Corporate headquarters is in a small town and may not appeal to everyone; however, great location, good schools, and access to regional airports

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Former Intern

      Eastman is a great company

      Sep 15, 2019 - Intern in Kingsport, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      * Great company culture * Lots of opportunity

      Cons

      * Small town, large company -- transitioning to global company is difficult

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Commitment to location (Kingsport, TN) is a major consideration for career opportunities

      May 23, 2018 - Corporate Strategy Manager in Kingsport, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Company is going through major business model change to catch up with the rest of the industry. 30% of employees approaching retirement age in the next few years. Therefore, lots of opportunities within the company. However, local connection or commitment to the location (Kingsport, TN) has become a major consideration for any career opportunities. Performance is secondary or even third tier consideration for career progress.

      Cons

      Company HQ located in a very remote area, Kingsport, TN. Most of the people in the company still have a small town mind-set. Company policy rewards loyalty instead of performance. For example, if 2 people doing exactly the same job, one could have an office and makes much more than the other just because the prior has been with the company for longer time. This is such a disappointment for a global company. Another thing has bothered me personally is Eastman likes to get in employee's personal life. For example, almost anyone who joined the company and moved from outside of Kingsport, TN will be asked when they are going to buy a house in town. This question will be asked many times for years until they actually bought a house. I have seen people at all levels, even Director level, to be excluded from promotion because of not having a house in town. Many people have left the company because of lack of career development opportunities.

      7 people found this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Excellent company for innovation, professional development, and career growth!

      Mar 29, 2017 - Advanced Chemist in Kingsport, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Management really cares about its employees professional development and gives us the resources to complete tasks successfully. -Cost of living -Beautiful area -Competitive pay

      Cons

      -Small town (could be a plus to some) with lack of diversity and open-minded people.

      1 person found this review helpful
    6. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Great Employees, Poor Management

      Nov 13, 2016 - Advanced Chemical Engineer in Kingsport, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The strength of Eastman will always be the boots on the ground. Coworkers are friendly and genuinely motivated to help you succeed. Front line management is focused on providing their employees with the tools they need to do their jobs. They also excel at mentoring and growing their employees. Driven and successful people are highly rewarded.

      Cons

      There are many layers of middle management, and from the bottom it is unclear how much value they add. Lower middle management (just above front-line supervisors) tends to be populated by yes-men that have little understanding of the processes or people they manage. Ineffective managers who have impressed somebody in the past are shuffled around to where they can do the least damage. Kingsport is a small town, and those who's parents work at Eastman get promoted with uncanny regularity. Decision-making is slow (except in the case of a manager's pet project!) such that most good ideas are not commercialized until the market has moved on and the product will no longer be profitable. The Executive Suite like to talk about the strength of Eastman's employees and how they are the reason for the company's success, especially before and after announcing layoffs or benefit reductions so the company can meet its earning growth targets. Layoffs are often done quietly. What was once a very paternalistic company where "Uncle George" Eastman took care of his employees is quickly becoming an investor-focused profit machine.

      Continue reading
      13 people found this review helpful
    7. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      Great starting point

      Jan 7, 2016 - Account Manager in Kingsport, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Eastman is a great place to start your career, you'll get some of the best training in the industry. I was able to work with managers that truly cared about me and my development. I worked with some of the smartest people in the industry. Eastman still has many great employees, and I would say they have employed some of the smartest people in the industry. I am proud that I worked at Eastman, I still recommend young people consider Eastman as an initial employer.

      Cons

      Lower than average pay than the industry. Few opportunities outside of Kingsport, TN. No incentive to keep pay in line with the industry when situated in a small town with very few other options available without relocation. HR and Management recognize this and implement various measures knowing many employees will tolerate more than in most geographic areas with more employment options.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Balanced

      Nov 2, 2015 - Chemical Engineer in Kingsport, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The best part about Eastman is the people. I love coming to work every day and working with some of the smartest and kindest people I know. I am challenged every day in my job, and I am constantly learning. Eastman cares about my work-life balance.

      Cons

      Eastman is located in a small town, so it's not always the most exciting place to be. Also, Eastman's communication can be slow.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee

      The name of the game at Eastman is INTEGRITY.

      Oct 1, 2015 - Project Manager in Kingsport, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      This company strives to provide value to all its stakeholders by offering valuable products from safe and environmentally friendly processes. Everyone is empowered to identify safety risks and STOP any activity that could prevent someone from going home free from injury at the end of the day. Management is keenly aware of Eastman's role in protecting the environment so future generations can enjoy the planet as much as we do.

      Cons

      If anything, the area has a small-town feel. For some that's a benefit. For others who desire a more urban lifestyle, a different geography may be required.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Former Intern

      Great company

      Sep 30, 2015 - Anonymous Intern in Kingsport, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You have the opportunity to work with a lot of very smart and driven people.

      Cons

      The only con I'd say is that it is located in a small town, which is not my preference.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 43 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Eastman Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Eastman? Share Your Experiences

    Eastman logo
    or