Edelman Account Director Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Edelman Account Director Reviews

Updated 22 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 15 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
44%
Recommend to a Friend
52%
Approve of CEO
Edelman CEO Richard W. Edelman
Richard W. Edelman
10 Ratings
  1. "Great career opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Director in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Edelman for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great accounts, which is great if you're starting off in your career Stable agency - strong and steady growth Really smart people Very creative individuals willing to come up with inventive ways to solve client problems

    Cons

    Junior members of staff work incredibly long hours Hiring seems to be concentrated on really senior individuals, or 'vanity hires' - who sometimes do not add much value to the organisation Although the policy has changed, there was a conflict between the accounts the firm represented and its own values

    Advice to Management

    Reward junior and middle management staff better

    Edelman2015-10-09
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Edelman Healthcare"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Director in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Edelman full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Huge international network and great experts from around world, big corporate clients and interesting work and some talented people

    Cons

    User unfriendly financial systems and very long hours for fairly average pay; no clear progression path in my speciality; heavy HR demands (loads of onerous '360 degree' team reviews) demands and lack of flexibility from HR department on changing status of my contract.

    Advice to Management

    Cut down work and hours pressure on junior staff to work long hours; be more flexible on contracts and time out options

    Edelman2018-10-04
  3. Helpful (5)

    "Account Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Director in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Edelman full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Interesting work; high profile clients Nice work space; good canteen Free breakfast Nice clients - apart from PayPal Honestly that’s about it

    Cons

    Very long hours (7:30am - 9pm) and often working on weekends Blame culture with no support Low pay compared to competitors Over servicing by up to 300% leads to ridiculous expectations both from clients and senior team Pretty bad leadership in Brand

    Advice to Management

    Nurture staff - they’re your best asset

    Edelman2018-02-08

    Edelman Response

    February 16, 2018

    Thank you for your honest feedback about your time here. I am sorry to hear that your experience wasn’t as you or I would have hoped, but am pleased that you found our clients and work interesting. In terms of our pay, we regularly benchmark our salaries and feel that we are competitive ...

    Show More
  4. "Account Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Director in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Edelman full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Amazing client briefs, international opportunities, growth/development opportunities

    Cons

    Salary, limited work life balance

    Edelman2017-10-18
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Not what it used to be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Director in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Edelman full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There is room for entrepreneurial spirit as long as it does not interfere with senior management agenda

    Cons

    Petty politics get in the way of producing good work

    Advice to Management

    Do not give talented employees for granted. A meaningful reward scheme should be put in place based on performance rather than networking.

    Edelman2017-09-21
  6. Helpful (2)

    "A good start, but a sad ending"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Director in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Edelman full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great place to get stuck in and learn, because if you show that you're good at your job you'll end up being treated like a carthorse. The people you work with on a day to day basis within your team is the best element - I made some lifelong friends, I was sad to see many of them made redundant recently.

    Cons

    The senior team are arrogant and not supportive. You enter a sink or swim culture that doesn't reward you, even if you do swim. If you're deemed not good enough, you're left to flounder with no help. As a mid level member of the team it astounded me often people wouldn't receive support. The work life balance is appalling; you can push back as much as you want, but nobody listens. You'll easily end up doing 70h+ per...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You are not a 'creative agency', you are a corporate PR agency. Stick to what you know and show some humility to your staff; without them you'd be nothing.

    Edelman2015-03-12
  7. "So much (wasted) potential"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Director in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Edelman full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great culture, surrounded by smart talented junior staff

    Cons

    Incompetence is tolerated, old school management plays favorites (and the favorites are picked based on popularity, fashion sense, looking good, speaking well and not on skills). The most talented and skilled employees are leaving fast because nothing ever gets done and they're not moving forward in their career.

    Advice to Management

    Focus on teams and staff that deliver results and have actual skills. Take a good hard look at yourselves in light of the high turnover of your best staff.

    Edelman2019-06-22
  8. "Best Agencies to work in India"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Director in Gurgaon, Haryana
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Edelman full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Leadership, Values, Intellectuals, System & Processes

    Cons

    Expensive Agency for a lot of Indian client perception

    Edelman2017-09-19
  9. Helpful (3)

    "A great place to work, especially for extroverts"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Director 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Edelman full-time

    Pros

    Truly global business, mobility for talented people, trend setters, rooted in ethics and best practice. Moving towards an integrated model, successfully. Smart people. Efficient and lean business, no room for wastage and laziness.

    Cons

    Competitive, people don't form deep friendships or socialize at work, can be difficult to keep ownership of account and shine, unless you're prepared to work a 50 hour week. As in all agencies I'be worked in management focuses on consumer and more corporate led practices take a back seat. True thinkers are often shouted over.

    Advice to Management

    Prioritize areas such as healthcare and focus on the people in that business too. Understand that not everyone has a brand and consumer trajectory. Respect and reward academics and intellectuals as much as extroverts and self-promoters

    Edelman2017-01-26

    Edelman Response

    February 21, 2017Edelman

    Thank you for your very thoughtful review and I'm glad you enjoy working at Edelman. We are always looking at ways to provide recognition to our employees at all levels, in different practices and with different personality types. It's the diversity of our people and their individual ...

    Show More
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Great global company, awful managers in Germany"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Director in Berlin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Edelman full-time

    Pros

    Edelman globally has great clients and exciting projects, incredibly talented and passionate colleagues with a high level of professionalism. The bigger idea that Edelman stands for is why I am giving 3 stars.

    Cons

    I wish the German management were more professional, less opportunistic and had a clear vision. I get assigned to totally random accounts and feel like I am wasting my talent. The merger with ergo was handled very badly. The work cultures don't match and we have a very different understanding of client service. This has led to a disastrous impact on my work life balance and colleagues on both sides are fleeing the company.

    Advice to Management

    I would highly recommend Edelman but not in Germany.

    Edelman2017-02-11

    Edelman Response

    July 12, 2017Edelman

    Thank you for your response. It is encouraging to read about your respect for your fellow talented and passionate colleagues. Of course, I am concerned to read about your thoughts on the management team and the handling of the merger between Edelman and Ergo. As a business we have ...

    Show More
Found 15 reviews