Edelman Account Executive Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Edelman Account Executive Reviews

Updated Nov 27, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.9
49%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Edelman President and CEO Richard W. Edelman
Richard W. Edelman
300 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Rollercoaster"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Account Executive in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Edelman full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Working at this company is a fantastic way to build relationships, get face to face experience with clients and be surrounded by people with a range of skills, background and interests.

    Cons

    Unfortunately, Edelman UK has a massive issue with cliques within teams, this is bad for morale and I never saw management try to discurrage this behaviour. Teams are rather hierarchical, although Edelman does try to actively discourage this, however, it has been largely unsuccessful.

    Edelman2018-11-20
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Strong company but needs to make a lot of changes to retain talent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Edelman full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible work (working remotely), great people and fun environment including happy hours, great summer and Christmas parties, amazing brands to work on

    Cons

    Completely under resourced, takes forever to hire someone, too many freelancers that come and go, way overstretched on work and hours

    Advice to Management

    Major changes need to happen or people will continue to leave

    Edelman2018-02-10
  3. Helpful (5)

    "Lots of talent - toxic culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Edelman full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Talented employees, particularly among juniors Great clients and feels like you are working on projects that actually matter Great cross company events

    Cons

    Juniors cannot afford to eat. This is not an exaggeration. Made all the more annoying by Edelman's constant proclamations of great pay. £20,000/£21,000 in London is not a living wage and it is the juniors who stay in the office until early hours. Distribution of pay is perpetuating a culture where directors do little, leave on time and have cash to spare. High turnover rate as a consequence among juniors.... Some senior figures snooty and entitled. Blame culture prevails when problems arise. Slow progression as all decisions need to go back to global compliance.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Look into your salary structure. Pay your juniors, who keep the company running.

    Edelman2018-01-28
  4. "Excellent culture yet poor salary & lack of stimulating work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Edelman full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Fantastic office culture, modern workplace, young atmosphere - Blue chip client portfolio - Exposure to high level executives & comms strategy - Fast upward mobility

    Cons

    - Very low salary - Work can be very menial at junior level

    Advice to Management

    Invest in the growth of junior staff by giving them more substantive and strategic comms work

    Edelman2017-10-10
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Great people, bad environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Account Executive in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Edelman for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Really smart, interesting & funny people Top tier clients Good structure Opportunities to travel Great summer/Christmas parties

    Cons

    Long hours Culture of martyrdom Dog eat dog Shallow

    Advice to Management

    Actually do something about the work-life balance, don't just say you're going to.

    Edelman2017-09-18
  6. Helpful (10)

    "AE"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Edelman full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Avoid this company! Worst experience of my life, I regret every second of it!

    Cons

    The worst company I ever worked for!! Full of racist, xenophobic and disgusting people. Unless you are British and have connections in the company, you will be stuck in the same role forever, and will assign you the worst clients and will keep you there until midnight! This company is a Joke!! Don't call yourselves Creatives because you're not! You're a just Corporate PR agency full of small minded people.... They hire young kids to work long hours and make them slaves by paying almost nothing!! The work life is appalling and you will just become depressed! Small minded and conservative people! I would necer recommend this company to anyone, even my worst enemy!! Awful and disgusting ! Should have sued you for discrimination!!

    Show More
    Edelman2017-08-11
  7. Helpful (1)

    "The place to be!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Account Executive in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Edelman for more than a year

    Pros

    I love working at Edelman - the biggest clients, the leading industry talent, the global network. If you are ambitious and want to work with the best - this is the place to be!

    Cons

    N/a as I have had an extremely positive experience.

    Edelman2017-06-27
  8. "Assistant Account Executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Account Executive in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Edelman full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good people, lots of opportunities.

    Cons

    Over worked and underpaid

    Edelman2017-06-22
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Great culture, diverse work, high-profile clients"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Edelman full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The work is varied, stimulating and largely based on high-profile clients and/or campaigns. It's a very young employee-base (most under 35) with lots of exciting company wide events and social perks. Lots of upward mobility and opportunities to carve out one's own niche.

    Cons

    For an account executive, the work can often be menial and unchallenging. Work / life balance linked to compensation is poor. Long hours are not reflected in pay.

    Edelman2017-01-29
  10. "Great if you're AM or above - junior staff/grads keep away!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Edelman full-time

    Pros

    - Amazing reputation - you are working with the best of the best - Great exposure to a fantastic range of high-profile clients - Working there will have you prepared for any kind of work needed of you in the future, if you make it through then you are unstoppable - Working there builds inner resilience and personal balls-of-steel - Probably some of the best office parties I have attended (and ever will!) -... Great benefits (particularly if AM and above)

    Show More

    Cons

    - Lacklustre yet incredibly competitive grad scheme due to client data sensitivity (an unhappy 12 months of endless media lists, basic admin - not PR) - Juniors are spread thin, and treated like glorified personal assistants to senior staff as a result - Abysmal pay for any staff below Account Manager - You're contracted to work only 7hrs/day, but in reality this translates to endless unpaid overtime & eating... lunch at your desk due to high work volume - Lack of support for those experiencing work difficulties, even though I witnessed around 10-15 staff get signed off work due to stress. (Rather than show empathy, I was asked to 'let the team know' when I thought I might burn out or breakdown, so that they could schedule freelance cover) - High turnover rate of staff due to culture of stress, overtime and incredibly high standards - Lack of friendliness within a number of teams, easy to feel isolated In my exit interview the HR manager wholeheartedly agreed with every one of my reasons for leaving, She stated that I was not the first, nor will I be the last junior to leave for the above reasons.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Let your junior staff develop a passion for PR by offering them a chance to grow, rather than treating them like glorified PAs.

    Edelman2016-04-04
Found 375 reviews