Edelman Director Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Edelman Director Reviews

Updated 13 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 41 reviews

2.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
37%
Recommend to a Friend
47%
Approve of CEO
Edelman CEO Richard W. Edelman
Richard W. Edelman
26 Ratings
  1. "Great career opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Director in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Edelman for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great accounts, which is great if you're starting off in your career Stable agency - strong and steady growth Really smart people Very creative individuals willing to come up with inventive ways to solve client problems

    Cons

    Junior members of staff work incredibly long hours Hiring seems to be concentrated on really senior individuals, or 'vanity hires' - who sometimes do not add much value to the organisation Although the policy has changed, there was a conflict between the accounts the firm represented and its own values

    Advice to Management

    Reward junior and middle management staff better

    Edelman2015-10-09
  2. "Toxic, blame-driven and old-school"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Edelman full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Tries to encourage a can-do approach

    Cons

    The senior leadership is disengaged from the business and has little or no hands-on experience of working with most of the teams. Bad behaviour is ignored, bullying is tolerated and there is a culture which protects the old-timers in the business who actually deliver zero value. The integrated approach is just not a reality and any attempt to apply an integrated approach us undermined by the endless politics.

    Advice to Management

    Get more involved in the business and actually care about your staff

    Edelman2019-06-13
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Toxic Work Environment, Poor employee benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Edelman full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly catering and cleaning contractors.

    Cons

    Without doubt the most toxic work environment I have ever experienced. Basically it's a group of competing functions and within that aggressively competing individuals. The amazing thing is I don't know why they bother given the laughable salaries, and zero bonus reality of the place. That's right, blanket zero or pitifully low bonus even for growing parts of the business.

    Advice to Management

    Remember - your staff are your assets - clients value good, expert, staff not a merry go round of constantly changing junior faces.

    Edelman2019-05-17
  4. "Not the company it used to be."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Edelman full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good clients, central London location, good network (ex UK)

    Cons

    Culture, senior (UK) management, Senior (department) management

    Advice to Management

    Read exit interviews - and take constructive criticism on board.

    Edelman2019-02-23
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Politics everywhere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Design Director in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Edelman full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Central location, office environment and bar area,

    Cons

    Politics and agendas rule the roost. Beware.

    Advice to Management

    Too top heavy, poor senior management and a lot of untrained execs.

    Edelman2018-12-12
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Edelman Healthcare"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Director in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Edelman full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Huge international network and great experts from around world, big corporate clients and interesting work and some talented people

    Cons

    User unfriendly financial systems and very long hours for fairly average pay; no clear progression path in my speciality; heavy HR demands (loads of onerous '360 degree' team reviews) demands and lack of flexibility from HR department on changing status of my contract.

    Advice to Management

    Cut down work and hours pressure on junior staff to work long hours; be more flexible on contracts and time out options

    Edelman2018-10-04
  7. Helpful (2)

    "You learn a lot but you need to work hard"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Director in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Edelman full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    You learn a lot fast as you are given opportunities here to work on big campaigns and across a range of disciplines. Your peers and team will largely be fantastic and become a family.

    Cons

    Bad work life balance and if you’re on the Brand team you will frequently be under resourced. There are a few people that are rude and too old school but there aren’t many left.

    Advice to Management

    Stop putting money and financial targets before staff wellbeing.

    Edelman2018-07-01
  8. Helpful (5)

    "Account Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Director in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Edelman full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Interesting work; high profile clients Nice work space; good canteen Free breakfast Nice clients - apart from PayPal Honestly that’s about it

    Cons

    Very long hours (7:30am - 9pm) and often working on weekends Blame culture with no support Low pay compared to competitors Over servicing by up to 300% leads to ridiculous expectations both from clients and senior team Pretty bad leadership in Brand

    Advice to Management

    Nurture staff - they’re your best asset

    Edelman2018-02-08

    Edelman Response

    February 16, 2018

    Thank you for your honest feedback about your time here. I am sorry to hear that your experience wasn’t as you or I would have hoped, but am pleased that you found our clients and work interesting. In terms of our pay, we regularly benchmark our salaries and feel that we are competitive ...

    Show More
  9. "Account Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Director in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Edelman full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Amazing client briefs, international opportunities, growth/development opportunities

    Cons

    Salary, limited work life balance

    Edelman2017-10-18
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Not what it used to be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Director in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Edelman full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There is room for entrepreneurial spirit as long as it does not interfere with senior management agenda

    Cons

    Petty politics get in the way of producing good work

    Advice to Management

    Do not give talented employees for granted. A meaningful reward scheme should be put in place based on performance rather than networking.

    Edelman2017-09-21
Found 41 reviews