Edelman Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Edelman Reviews

Updated Dec 3, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
61%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
Edelman CEO Richard W. Edelman
Richard W. Edelman
1,353 Ratings
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Avoid Edelman London"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Edelman full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Some of my colleagues were very smart so you could learn a lot

    Cons

    Toxic culture created by management who rewarded people who were incompetent but best at playing the game

    Advice to Management

    Look after the people who do the real work and are the reason the clients stayed

    Edelman2019-06-30
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Toxic, blame-driven and old-school"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Edelman full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Tries to encourage a can-do approach

    Cons

    The senior leadership is disengaged from the business and has little or no hands-on experience of working with most of the teams. Bad behaviour is ignored, bullying is tolerated and there is a culture which protects the old-timers in the business who actually deliver zero value. The integrated approach is just not a reality and any attempt to apply an integrated approach us undermined by the endless politics.

    Advice to Management

    Get more involved in the business and actually care about your staff

    Edelman2019-06-13
  3. Helpful (5)

    "Toxic Work Environment, Poor employee benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Edelman full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly catering and cleaning contractors.

    Cons

    Without doubt the most toxic work environment I have ever experienced. Basically it's a group of competing functions and within that aggressively competing individuals. The amazing thing is I don't know why they bother given the laughable salaries, and zero bonus reality of the place. That's right, blanket zero or pitifully low bonus even for growing parts of the business.

    Advice to Management

    Remember - your staff are your assets - clients value good, expert, staff not a merry go round of constantly changing junior faces.

    Edelman2019-05-17
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Amazing clients"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Edelman full-time

    Pros

    Big brands, good perks, intelligent people

    Cons

    Can be incredibly intense, bad morale on consumer team

    Edelman2019-03-15
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Misleading role"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Edelman full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Team are really nice, good bunch of people

    Cons

    The role I've joined is very different to what they explained in my interviews, it's not a very social company (not really any team or company drinks etc) , also bad career progression - promotions are very limited. Quite often doing 11/12 hour days.

    Advice to Management

    Be clear to interviewees on the role they're applying for

    Edelman2019-03-14
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Not the company it used to be."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Edelman full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good clients, central London location, good network (ex UK)

    Cons

    Culture, senior (UK) management, Senior (department) management

    Advice to Management

    Read exit interviews - and take constructive criticism on board.

    Edelman2019-02-23
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Account director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Edelman full-time

    Pros

    Work on global clients with big budgets

    Cons

    Bad at rewarding employees and pays low end of salary

    Advice to Management

    Think about ensuring employees come first

    Edelman2019-02-20
  8. "Mid-tier agency, OK work & culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Edelman full-time

    Pros

    Nice working culture Ok work life balance

    Cons

    Politics is rife & stressful to navigate

    Edelman2019-02-14
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Toxic elitist culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Edelman full-time

    Pros

    None that I can think of

    Cons

    Cliquey, snobby and elitist. Long hours with no thanks. Aggressive culture and old fashioned

    Edelman2019-02-06
  10. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Group Coordinator in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Edelman full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits, good environment, great teams and fast paced

    Cons

    Quite hard to move out of the admin side of things

    Edelman2018-12-12
Found 2054 reviews