Find jobs for Senior Vice President

Edelman Senior Vice President Reviews

Updated 6 Aug 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
73%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Edelman President and CEO Richard W. Edelman
Richard W. Edelman
168 Ratings
  1. "Good experience"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Vice President 
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Edelman full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Top notch firm. Talented staff

    Cons

    Lack of work/life balance

  2. Helpful (1)

    "Fast Spiral Downward"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Vice President 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Edelman full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good list of clients, benefits are pretty good

    Cons

    Poor compensation, Horrible work/life balance, staff burn out, disorganized leadership, no clear strategic direction

    Continue reading

    Edelman Response

    October 14, 2019Edelman

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. I'm sorry you didn't feel you could find balance here. I know we have high expectations and work hard. We are definitely listening and actively making changes based on employee feedback, which we now collect every 3-4 months. Our new Livewell (wellness) campaign is a good example, including our recently announced "Dawn 'till Dusk" (no) email policy and Whil, our meditation and wellness ap. In terms of company strategy, yes it has evolved with our times and we continue to look for ways to ensure consistent sharing with all staff. We appreciate your review. Maria O'Keeffe, Executive Director, US HR


  3. "Great, smart people. Good for junior roles"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Vice President, Communications in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Edelman full-time

    Pros

    Good for agency experience and learning the ropes when you are junior. You’re surrounded by sharp, talented people and get to work on interesting clients.

    Cons

    Not a lot of support or resources when it comes to career pathing. Because of its size you can get lost in “the system” unless you are good at building relationships. It’s can be very political.

    Edelman Response

    October 14, 2019Edelman

    Thanks for your review. I'm glad you found Edelman a good place to learn about our industry and about high quality work, and that you think highly of our employees. I do too! I See your comment about career pathing resources and that is something we're making consistent progress on, most recently with the rollout of our career management site for employees. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. Maria O'Keeffe, Executive Director, US HR

  4. Helpful (3)

    "D.C. office has gone downhill"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Edelman full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    This place used to be great. I built my career here.

    Cons

    With new D.C. leadership, there is a new mentality that does not value individuality, just conformity. Emphasis is on speed and overworking, not quality,

    Edelman Response

    October 14, 2019Edelman

    I'm sorry to read your post. It's important that all employees are comfortable bringing their whole self and best thinking to work. Our business is built on the creativity and excellence of our workforce and work product. The D.C. office would seem to be thriving by both measures according to output but I'd like to better understand why you're not experiencing it that way. Would you reach out to me or Yanick Wilson for a discussion? Thanks for considering it. Maria O'Keeffe, Executive Director, US HR

  5. "Great company, great people."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - VIce President Creative Strategy in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Edelman full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It's a privately held company which offers a really solid foundation and creates a culture that allows for mobility. The team here is solid, no ego, and it's a really balanced lifestyle.

    Cons

    The company lacks racial diversity, and they bonus based on the entire company performance and not individual.

    Continue reading

    Edelman Response

    September 3, 2019Edelman

    Thank you for your review. I share your desire to see more racial diversity in our leadership ranks and will do all that I can to work towards that. I'm proud of the progress we've made with women in leadership positions over the last several years. Today, 80% of our regional presidents in the U.S. are women. I've seen our investment around diversity and inclusion steadily increase and I'm hopeful we'll continue to see it's impact as we do more in this space. If you have ideas, please reach out to Trisch Smith or Denise Busch to share them. I'm so happy that you've found a balanced lifestyle and also love to hear your team is solid and no egos are getting in your way. I wish you much success! Maria O'Keeffe, Executive Director, US HR

  6. Helpful (4)

    "Solid values, smart team, great clients but..."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President Operations in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Edelman full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    always impressed by the level of smarts in the room. excellent tactical approach based in analytics.

    Cons

    lack of career pathing (especially in the Creative Network). very different standards for advancing from account staff to creative. Salary far below average for role.

    Continue reading

    Edelman Response

    April 25, 2019Edelman

    Thanks for your review, and for spending the better part of a decade at Edelman so far! I'm glad to hear you've been continually impressed with the people we hire. I am too. I've taken note of your comments about the Creative Network and appreciate your feedback. Maria O'Keeffe, Executive Director US HR

  7. Helpful (6)

    "Very Happy Here"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Edelman full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Diversity of work, large client list, flexibility and good work/life balance, fantastic people to work with

    Cons

    Some processes are out of date and there are times when work can suffer due to unrealistic expectations or turnarounds or low budgets. But we do our best, always.

    Continue reading

    Edelman Response

    March 11, 2019Edelman

    Thanks for your review. I'm glad to hear that your experience has hit on many of the strengths I love about Edelman too - our flexiblity, access to great work and amazing colleagues. I also appreciate the advice you've left. Maria O'Keeffe, Executive Director US HR

  8. "PR Giant"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Vice President in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Edelman full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Attracts smart talent and interesting clients.

    Cons

    Shift from traditional roots in recent years

  9. "Great opps at lower level"

    3.0
    Current Employee - Vice President in Chicago, IL

    I have been working at Edelman full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Smart people, great work, opportunities to try new things.

    Cons

    Lack of direction for growth

    Edelman Response

    March 11, 2019Edelman

    Thanks for your review. I'm glad that you're happy with the caliber of your colleagues and work as well as opportunities to try new things. Our Career Development meetings that colleagues are holding this time of year are a perfect venue to bring up career planning with your manager. If you haven't already discussed this with your manager, group head and local HR, I encourage you to. Helping employees career plan is an area we are focusing additional effort on right now, which I hope will help you. Maria O'Keeffe, Executive Director, US HR

  10. Helpful (9)

    "I wish I would have listened to Glassdoor reviews."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Vice President in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Edelman full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay and exposure to big name clients.

    Cons

    Edelman is an old sinking ship. Very out of touch with anything going on in the industry. Profits are down, and morale and culture are dismal. I read negative glassdoor reviews before I started and wish I would have listened and stayed away. I don’t have 1 coworker that can say they truly enjoy working here. For the first time in my 15+ year career I felt men totally ran the show here and you have to be in their clique to get respect and recognition.

    Continue reading

    Edelman Response

    March 21, 2019Edelman

    Hi. I'm saddened to read your review the day after finding out that Edelman has been certified as a "Gender Fair" company - an honor shared by only 16% of Fortune 500 companies and based on third-party evaluation using metrics based on the UN Women's Empowerment Principles. I've seen first-hand significant firm advances on this front and how much work we'd done to encourage the success of women, who comprise the majority of our staff. I'm very sorry that your experience was inconsistent with what we strive for and have achieved in many places. If you're willing to share more with me so I can look into it, please reach me at maria.okeeffe@edelman.com. Maria O'Keeffe, Executive Director, US HR

Found 207 reviews