Edelman Senior Vice President Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Edelman Senior Vice President Reviews

Updated 20 Mar 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 73 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
69%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
Edelman CEO Richard W. Edelman
Richard W. Edelman
57 Ratings
  1. Helpful (15)

    "Terrible, terrible, terrible leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Vice President in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Edelman full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    This company used to be well-run, efficient, profitable, and equitable to employees. In the past it was a meritocracy that produced high-quality, innovative, and truly insightful guidance to clients. With the leadership changes that began with the hiring of Steve Lombardo, this all ended.

    Cons

    Beginning with the hiring of Steve Lombardo as "Global CEO" the wheels began to come off this company, and judging by the other recent reviews, that downward trajectory has continued. Aimless leadership, changes in corporate structure that were for the sake of change alone, and a toxic culture were reasons why, after nine years and a successful career at the company, I left and have never looked back.

    Advice to Management

    Richard Edelman, you made a series of crucial mistakes in your management of senior talent at StrategyOne, now Edelman Berland. The junior and mid-level talent you have is fantastic, your overseas leadership is excellent. But the top management in the US needs to go.

    Edelman2014-11-19
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great company, dynamic, creative and talented co-workers, terrific clients, fabulous opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Vice President in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Edelman full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Edelman has a well-deserved stellar reputation in the PR industry. The client list is stellar, your co-workers are all rock-stars, the atmosphere is nurturing and they respect your work-life balance.

    Cons

    While the salary is good and bonuses during my tenure have been great, I don't like the fact that annual raises are tiny- under 3% I believe. I don't know if that would change during a year when bonuses might be limited, but think an excellent performance should merit a more substantial annual raise.

    Edelman2014-10-13
  3. "Amazing place to work alongside the best and brightest"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Vice President in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Edelman full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Super talented colleagues; great clients means we get to work on interesting and challenging assignments; proud to be part of a firm with such a strong and respected reputation

    Cons

    Superstars get tapped a lot

    Advice to Management

    Find quick-hit ways of sharing updates regularly; apply our employee engagement expertise to Edelman's internal communications, too

    Edelman2014-10-13
  4. "Top agency, best talent, becoming a creative shop, what else could you ask for?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Vice President in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Edelman full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Broad range of clients and I often utilize the broad network of experts you simply can't find at any other agency. We are making strides to become the lead marketing agency. The fellows program allows junior team members to transfer to international offices for one year, an amazing benefit of the agency.

    Cons

    Over the past few years the agency has become much more political internally within the senior leadership team. In the rare event there is a bad hire, we have historically been slow to correct the situation. Better integration across other office team is needed, especially at the practice level.

    Advice to Management

    Many teams have become top heavy and we must recruit quality junior staff to support our clients. Our EdelU program seems to have stalled out, invest and have a greater emphasis on our continuing education. The MIP program is too confusing and does not reflect the senior teams investment into the business, this needs to be restructured.

    Edelman2014-10-10
  5. "Blazing a trail for the future"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Vice President in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Edelman full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Incredibly smart and talented workforce. This company gets it, sees where the industry is going. Ability to meld social/traditional/digital/measurement = best-in-class. Unlimited ambition, which can be infectious (in a good way). Diversity of coworkers makes every day an adventure.

    Cons

    Divergence of traditional and digital mediums is both a blessing and a curse, but the savvy of our department heads stack the deck in Edelman's favor.

    Advice to Management

    Continue respecting the talent and vision our junior staff embodies. They will be the leadership, soon enough.

    Edelman2014-10-09
  6. "Position with an exceptional range of duties and collaboration with exceptionally talented colleagues"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Vice President in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Edelman full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    1. Edelman is an adventurous agency that invests in fresh technologies because its CEO is truly a master at identifying cutting-edge advances in communications and puts funds behind testing them out. 2. The range of opportunities, with clients large and small, makes the job so interesting and enjoyable. 3. Colleagues are, for the most part, smart and collaborative and very interesting. 4. Edelman is making an earnest...

    Show More

    Cons

    1. I'm paid squarely but younger, newer colleagues complain that salaries are below the industry average and promotions often take longer than they expected. 2. The agency has grown so large so fast that it must ensure that employees and their careers don't get shortchanged.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to take the steps being taken to stay ahead of the pack, committed to doing good, making the workplace collegial, shooing away or better training poor managers with bad management practices and abusive language. (But those are very few and far less than when I joined eight years ago.

    Edelman2014-10-09
  7. "Embraces Innovation. Always In Motion."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Vice President in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Edelman full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Edelman has assembled a staff with incredible intellectual capabilities and industry experience. The eclectic mix of skill sets, points of view and industry insight allows for more effective teamwork and better client service. New ideas are valued from every level of staff. Edelman is always in motion and the generation of ideas are never static or stale.

    Cons

    Edelman's global network is a clear and distinct market advantage, but navigating the global matrix can be challenging at times.

    Advice to Management

    Interoffice integration and knowledge sharing is fantastic, yet sessions need to have more pragmatic applications to real-life scenarios.

    Edelman2014-10-09
  8. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Vice President in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Edelman full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people, entrepreneurial culture, and a roster of big clients

    Cons

    Not great at onboarding or building connective tissue across teams

    Edelman2014-10-09
  9. "Adrenaline ride of opportunities, deadlines and experiences"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Vice President in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Edelman full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The company is extremely entrepreneurial and you have many opportunities to grow a long-lasting career that is incredibly dynamic and engaging.

    Cons

    It is a competitive environment, which can make it intense at times. However, we hire smart and creative people who are interested in being successful and pushing the limits for new ideas, approaches, etc.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to focus on removing arbitrary barriers created internally by separate P&L structures between offices (and sometimes even within the same office).

    Edelman2014-10-09
  10. "True global network of talented, collaborative colleagues doing good work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Vice President 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Edelman full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The true global network, bright colleagues, entrepreneurial spirit and collaborative culture make this a great place to work.

    Cons

    After you get to a certain senior level, your options for growth and development are more hard to come by. The firm would benefit from more focused/formal career guidance for its top performers. And, you need to get promoted to see any real pay raise.

    Advice to Management

    The firm would benefit from more focused/formal career guidance for its top performers.

    Edelman2014-10-09
Found 73 reviews