Edelman Senior Vice President Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Edelman Senior Vice President Reviews

Updated 20 Mar 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 73 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
69%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
Edelman CEO Richard W. Edelman
Richard W. Edelman
57 Ratings
  1. "Top of the game client work, smart colleagues, but company's growth is worsening culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Vice President in New York, NY
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Edelman full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Some of the smartest minds in the PR business. Great clients. Independent status allows for expenditure on cutting edge techniques and intellectual property.

    Cons

    As Edelman grows, the rank and file PR teams seem less and less important to senior management. Culture is diluted by too many bosses. Matrixed organization structure causes too much "swirl" with no accountability.

    Advice to Management

    Cut the bureaucracy in half. Why do we need so many regional presidents, COOs, chiefs of staff, etc.?

    Edelman2014-10-14
  2. "Edelman"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Vice President in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Edelman full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great clients. Collegial work environment. Good growth and professional development potential

    Cons

    Senior managers and executives need to be trained better to become more inspiring leaders

    Edelman2014-07-28
  3. "Fabulous opportunities--with high expectations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Vice President in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Edelman full-time

    Pros

    Incredible work. Challenging client assignments and the resources to the the best work possible. People are very talented and many make great mentors, especially for mid & senior career. For people who fit the culture, the "entrepreneurial spirit" is real. The firm provides resources necessary to make good ideas happen.

    Cons

    Need to set your own boundaries because the firm will always push for better work. Some of the internal financial structure can make collaboration difficult, but individual relationships always trump the official policies.

    Edelman2014-06-25
  4. "The only agency I will ever work for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Vice President in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Edelman full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Unlike other agencies that say they support work-life balance and value their employees as their top asset, Edelman actually does both of these things in practice. Through the actions of middle to senior management, you are truly made to feel valued and appreciated. Opportunities are everywhere and the culture is laid back and fun.

    Cons

    While there is far less pressure on utilization than other agencies, making for a more relaxed environment (that's not to say we don't work super hard to achieve successes), but the salary compensation does seem lower than market competitors in the area. However, with the environment and culture, PTO and benefits, it balances out.

    Edelman2014-03-21
  5. "Stellar people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Vice President in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Edelman full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Edelman is full of very smart people that drive you to do something different every day. That push allows you to learn a lot and take wonderful risks. I love working here! This is a wonderful place to build a career.

    Cons

    The work-life balance isn't as good as it could be, but that is probably true everywhere.

    Edelman2014-03-11
  6. "The company is evolved and enduring."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Vice President in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Edelman full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Entrepreneurial, independent, pioneer, creative, invests in the right next big things

    Cons

    We are bigger but that doesn't mean we are less nimble

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing

    Edelman2013-11-04
  7. "Extraordianry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Vice President Creative Director in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Edelman full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Awesome culture. Real people. Few egos.

    Cons

    Some floors are separated form others

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up. Come down into the trenches a tad more.

    Edelman2013-11-04
  8. "I love working at Edelman! Sharp people, fun work environment and great clients."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Vice President in San Mateo, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Edelman full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Edelman has hired some of the smartest PR professionals in the business. It is great coming to work with them every day. I really feel like this is one of the best places to build a career.

    Cons

    Edelman has high expectations of its employees and that sometimes challenges the work and life balance.

    Advice to Management

    I deeply appreciate the company and culture you have built. Keep building and refining it!

    Edelman2013-11-01
  9. "Great company, people and opportunities; long hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Vice President in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Edelman full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Amazing and smart colleagues with whom I get to work with and learn from every day; high-caliber clients

    Cons

    Difficulties with work-life balance; salaries are higher elsewhere

    Edelman2013-11-01
  10. "Company that does the right thing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Vice President in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Edelman full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Decisions guided by the right thing to do in situations rather than strictly fiduciary Truly hands-off approach to management of individual offices Great roster of client companies that spans countries and industries

    Cons

    Getting to be a big organization where bureaucracy is starting to creep in Pay range is just below other agencies and way below client companies

    Edelman2013-11-01
Found 73 reviews