Edelman Vice President Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Edelman Vice President Reviews

Updated 31 Dec 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.9
49%
Recommend to a Friend
42%
Approve of CEO
Edelman President and CEO Richard W. Edelman
Richard W. Edelman
147 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Excellent agency"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Vice President in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Edelman full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Collaborative environment with an exceptionally supportive senior management team Investment in new technologies and platforms to ensure they kept pace with industry change Great team spirit Paid above market salary with benefits

    Cons

    There is a potential to get lost within a big firm so hard to stand out

    Continue reading
    Edelman2016-08-10
  2. "The best of the best"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Edelman full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The people, the quality of clients, the resources, travel opportunities, big budgets.

    Cons

    - It seems like it's hit or miss in terms of quality managers - some are great, others are dreadful. - Little work/life balance; long hours. - Promotional cycles are too limited. - Offices are open space and we all sit way too close to one another.

    Continue reading
    Edelman2013-11-09
  3. Helpful (2)

    "No work life balance the higher you get"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Edelman full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Best in class clients, colleagues and capabilities to do the best comms work; opportunity to do not just account work but also run a business - forecasting, profitability and prospecting.

    Cons

    No balance - if you’re a high achiever and strong performer, you’re run ragged. That also doesn’t equal fast track to growth: other lower performers get moved along at similar pace to “retain” talent.

    Edelman2020-01-01
  4. "Good experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Vice President 
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Edelman full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Top notch firm. Talented staff

    Cons

    Lack of work/life balance

    Edelman2019-12-11
  5. "Great, smart people. Good for junior roles"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Vice President, Communications in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Edelman full-time

    Pros

    Good for agency experience and learning the ropes when you are junior. You’re surrounded by sharp, talented people and get to work on interesting clients.

    Cons

    Not a lot of support or resources when it comes to career pathing. Because of its size you can get lost in “the system” unless you are good at building relationships. It’s can be very political.

    Edelman2019-09-23

    Edelman Response

    October 14, 2019Edelman

    Thanks for your review. I'm glad you found Edelman a good place to learn about our industry and about high quality work, and that you think highly of our employees. I do too! I See your comment about career pathing resources and that is something we're making consistent progress on, most recently with the rollout of our career management site for employees. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. Maria O'Keeffe, Executive Director, US HR

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Fast Spiral Downward"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Vice President 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Edelman full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good list of clients, benefits are pretty good

    Cons

    Poor compensation, Horrible work/life balance, staff burn out, disorganized leadership, no clear strategic direction

    Continue reading
    Edelman2019-09-30

    Edelman Response

    October 14, 2019Edelman

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. I'm sorry you didn't feel you could find balance here. I know we have high expectations and work hard. We are definitely listening and actively making changes based on employee feedback, which we now collect every 3-4 months. Our new Livewell (wellness) campaign is a good example, including our recently announced "Dawn 'till Dusk" (no) email policy and Whil, our meditation and wellness ap. In terms of company strategy, yes it has evolved with our times and we continue to look for ways to ensure consistent sharing with all staff. We appreciate your review. Maria O'Keeffe, Executive Director, US HR

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (1)

    "D.C. office has gone downhill"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Edelman full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    This place used to be great. I built my career here.

    Cons

    With new D.C. leadership, there is a new mentality that does not value individuality, just conformity. Emphasis is on speed and overworking, not quality,

    Edelman2019-09-14

    Edelman Response

    October 14, 2019Edelman

    I'm sorry to read your post. It's important that all employees are comfortable bringing their whole self and best thinking to work. Our business is built on the creativity and excellence of our workforce and work product. The D.C. office would seem to be thriving by both measures according to output but I'd like to better understand why you're not experiencing it that way. Would you reach out to me or Yanick Wilson for a discussion? Thanks for considering it. Maria O'Keeffe, Executive Director, US HR

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Great agency reputation, poor leadership in DC."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Edelman full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Biggest agency in the business, very well-known reputation, very desirable clients and projects. Great place to learn - but not stay very long.

    Cons

    Leadership is the biggest challenge. Management of the Washington, DC office is very poor. The MD is very critical of business development efforts by staff but does not bring in business herself. The culture has sharply declined; people are not treated with respect or civility unless they are a favorite. It's a stressful, disorganized place.

    Continue reading
    Edelman2019-07-17

    Edelman Response

    August 5, 2019Edelman

    Thank you for your post. Please rest assured that a very important part of my job is to work with leadership to ensure that we ALL uphold our firm's high standards regardless of level. Your suggestions for improvement include, “Hold yourself to the same standards you ask for in your team. Be more respectful and just plain nicer to people. Be open to feedback, and recognize perceptions of favoritism.” I agree and know that DC leadership would also agree. Therefore, I wonder if this may be an opportunity for us to have an open dialogue and obtain some examples that would demonstrate how perception may differ from reality or intent. If you would be willing, I encourage you to reach out to me, Yanick Wilson or another member of executive leadership who you are comfortable with for a discussion so we can help work through this. Maria.O'Keeffe@edelman.com. Maria O'Keeffe, Executive Director, US HR

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Solid values, smart team, great clients but..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President Operations in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Edelman full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    always impressed by the level of smarts in the room. excellent tactical approach based in analytics.

    Cons

    lack of career pathing (especially in the Creative Network). very different standards for advancing from account staff to creative. Salary far below average for role.

    Continue reading
    Edelman2019-04-09

    Edelman Response

    April 25, 2019Edelman

    Thanks for your review, and for spending the better part of a decade at Edelman so far! I'm glad to hear you've been continually impressed with the people we hire. I am too. I've taken note of your comments about the Creative Network and appreciate your feedback. Maria O'Keeffe, Executive Director US HR

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (6)

    "Very Happy Here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Edelman full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Diversity of work, large client list, flexibility and good work/life balance, fantastic people to work with

    Cons

    Some processes are out of date and there are times when work can suffer due to unrealistic expectations or turnarounds or low budgets. But we do our best, always.

    Continue reading
    Edelman2019-02-28

    Edelman Response

    March 11, 2019Edelman

    Thanks for your review. I'm glad to hear that your experience has hit on many of the strengths I love about Edelman too - our flexiblity, access to great work and amazing colleagues. I also appreciate the advice you've left. Maria O'Keeffe, Executive Director US HR

    Continue reading
Found 183 reviews