Edelman Employee Reviews about "long hours"

Updated 25 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
63%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Edelman President and CEO Richard W. Edelman
Richard W. Edelman
1,383 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "long hours"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great culture, smart people"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Edelman full-time

    Pros

    Work with the smartest people in the industry. Work for an independent organisation that gets stuff done and doesnt answer to a holding company. You can forge your own career path.

    Cons

    Hardworking spills into long hours on occasion. But no different to other companies and senior staff are good at looking after teams.

    Continue reading
    Edelman2020-01-23
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Avoid avoid avoid"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Edelman full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Big global agency - international network Clear path of promotion Flexible and remote working Big name clients Nice office space

    Cons

    Money comes first over people No support for juniors - usually pushed to breaking point with demanding accounts and leadership then blamed for anything that goes wrong No team culture - drinks and socials only happen when people leave or at offsite days/Christmas No creativity in work - rely on being a big name in industry but work is generally pretty average and copy/paste year to year and account to account Not willing to say no to any client requests - staff are worked till they drop (have actually had people faint in office and be told to keep working) Long hours

    Continue reading
    Edelman2019-09-11
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Toxic elitist culture"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Edelman full-time

    Pros

    None that I can think of

    Cons

    Cliquey, snobby and elitist. Long hours with no thanks. Aggressive culture and old fashioned

    Edelman2019-02-06

    Edelman Response

    March 11, 2019Edelman

    I'm sorry to hear your upsetting feedback. Please reach out to me if you'd like to expand on your review and provide any specifics. I'm at maria.okeeffe@edelman.com. Maria O'Keeffe, Executive Director US HR

  4. Helpful (2)

    "Edelman Healthcare"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Director in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Edelman full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Huge international network and great experts from around world, big corporate clients and interesting work and some talented people

    Cons

    User unfriendly financial systems and very long hours for fairly average pay; no clear progression path in my speciality; heavy HR demands (loads of onerous '360 degree' team reviews) demands and lack of flexibility from HR department on changing status of my contract.

    Continue reading
    Edelman2018-10-04
  5. "Great opportunities, poor pay"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Edelman

    Pros

    Attracts the best talent across junior to mid-level staff. Good company benefits. Great opportunities to work for top notch brands.

    Cons

    Long hours, for low pay.

    Continue reading
    Edelman2018-02-26

    Edelman Response

    March 7, 2018Edelman

    Thanks for sharing your feedback. Client service can definitely involve long hours, but we want to make sure we're also enabling and encouraging employees to find the kind of balance that works for them in their work and personal lives. That and compensation are two areas we're eager to collect more feedback on and explore further, so thanks for sharing your insights. Maria O'Keeffe, Executive Director, US HR

  6. Helpful (5)

    "Account Manager"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Director in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Edelman full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Interesting work; high profile clients Nice work space; good canteen Free breakfast Nice clients - apart from PayPal Honestly that’s about it

    Cons

    Very long hours (7:30am - 9pm) and often working on weekends Blame culture with no support Low pay compared to competitors Over servicing by up to 300% leads to ridiculous expectations both from clients and senior team Pretty bad leadership in Brand

    Continue reading
    Edelman2018-02-08

    Edelman Response

    February 16, 2018

    Thank you for your honest feedback about your time here. I am sorry to hear that your experience wasn’t as you or I would have hoped, but am pleased that you found our clients and work interesting. In terms of our pay, we regularly benchmark our salaries and feel that we are competitive for the industry. We know that working in the communications industry can sometimes involve working longer hours, but as a business, work/life balance is extremely important to us. Consistent hours such as these should have been addressed and I would have hoped that you spoke to your Line Manager and/or HR Business Partner about this. If you would like to discuss further please do not hesitate to reach out to me directly. Thank you, David Fackney, HR Director, Europe

  7. "Summer Internship"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Edelman

    Pros

    - Amazing team culture - Interesting clients - Great introduction to office life - Given interesting opportunities as an intern to see what PR encompassed

    Cons

    - Low pay, especially difficult in London - Long hours at times - Lack of recognition

    Edelman2017-10-20
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Great people, bad environment"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Account Executive in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Edelman for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Really smart, interesting & funny people Top tier clients Good structure Opportunities to travel Great summer/Christmas parties

    Cons

    Long hours Culture of martyrdom Dog eat dog Shallow

    Continue reading
    Edelman2017-09-18
  9. Helpful (10)

    "AE"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Edelman full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Avoid this company! Worst experience of my life, I regret every second of it!

    Cons

    The worst company I ever worked for!! Full of racist, xenophobic and disgusting people. Unless you are British and have connections in the company, you will be stuck in the same role forever, and will assign you the worst clients and will keep you there until midnight! This company is a Joke!! Don't call yourselves Creatives because you're not! You're a just Corporate PR agency full of small minded people. They hire young kids to work long hours and make them slaves by paying almost nothing!! The work life is appalling and you will just become depressed! Small minded and conservative people! I would necer recommend this company to anyone, even my worst enemy!! Awful and disgusting ! Should have sued you for discrimination!!

    Edelman2017-08-11

    Edelman Response

    August 23, 2017Edelman

    I wanted to acknowledge your feedback which both surprised and concerned me. At Edelman, we’re an equal opportunities employer and continually working to create a collaborative environment where employees of all backgrounds are provided with fair opportunities. Diversity and Inclusion is very important to us. Our Diversity and Inclusion council, Edelman Equals council, and our Global Women’s Executive Network (GWEN) are examples of ways we continually look to build and maintain that inclusive environment. We welcome employees from all backgrounds, recently we launched the Beta training scheme which is open to anyone over the age of 16 and interested in entering the industry. We want to ensure that a career at Edelman is accessible to everyone which is why your feedback is concerning. We would like to learn more about your experience. If you were open to this, I’d be keen to discuss your comments. I’d welcome you contacting me directly at Matt.Hurst@edelman.com.

  10. Helpful (3)

    "Great culture, diverse work, high-profile clients"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Edelman full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The work is varied, stimulating and largely based on high-profile clients and/or campaigns. It's a very young employee-base (most under 35) with lots of exciting company wide events and social perks. Lots of upward mobility and opportunities to carve out one's own niche.

    Cons

    For an account executive, the work can often be menial and unchallenging. Work / life balance linked to compensation is poor. Long hours are not reflected in pay.

    Edelman2017-01-29
Found 188 reviews