Edelman Employee Reviews about "smart people"

Updated 5 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
64%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Edelman President and CEO Richard W. Edelman
Richard W. Edelman
1,381 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "work life balance can swing wildly(in 271 reviews)

  • "Long hours due to client needs, difficulty collaborating across practices/geos(in 185 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "smart people"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Strong vision and good culture"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Edelman full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    - Incredibly smart people who are at the cutting edge of the industry - Clear vision of where the agency is heading to help clients in changing time - Strong thought leadership and intellectual property - Good culture that helps people push their careers forwards and works to solve client problems in an integrated way

    Cons

    - Can be very fast moving given the focus everyone has - There is always a lot going on given the depth of thought leadership, IP and pilots to drive new client offerings

    Continue reading
    Edelman2017-06-29
  2. Helpful (1)

    "No pain, no gain"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Edelman full-time

    Pros

    Global, connected, smart people, leading IP

    Cons

    Culture can be hard, no respect for work/life balance, it's a struggle to transform into an integrated creative agency.

    Continue reading
    Edelman2017-10-18

    Edelman Response

    November 15, 2017Edelman

    I appreciate your observations and while I am concerned about your comment regarding our pivot to communications marketing, I appreciate your feedback. It's not always easy and, while we have a number of success stories to celebrate, along with award winning creative campaigns to show for our efforts, I'd love the opportunity to hear more specifics about your observations. Maria O'Keeffe, Executive Director, US HR

  3. Helpful (3)

    "Competitiveness Beats Culture"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Edelman full-time

    Pros

    -Entrepreneurial and encourage risk -Great global network -Smart people -Opportunity for mobility

    Cons

    -Long work hours due to inefficient staffing -Little culture -Extremely competitive -- every man/woman for his/herself vs. fostering a team mentality

    Continue reading
    Edelman2016-10-09
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great US business, global mobility is a major challenge"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Strategic Planner in London, England

    I worked at Edelman full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Have great things to say about Edelman in the US - worked in NY and had experience working in many US markets - fair treatment, consistently work with smart people, good clients.

    Cons

    Edelman's mobility program is a nightmare and globally so are many of the company's offices. Edelman advertises mobility as one of its core means of career enhancement but unfortunately the experience for me and many friends of mine was a disaster. Anyone looking to transfer to the UK, watch out - there are serious challenges in that office, the HR department is nonexistent, and the salary bands are completely different (33% lower despite 20% higher cost of living from NYC). Edelman global does nothing to intervene to address this and leaves employees to navigate a completely different work environment with no support. So: Edelman is great if you are sticking with the states, but if you have aspirations to get global experience, be really careful.

    Continue reading
    Edelman2016-01-24
  5. "Great career opportunities"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Account Director in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Edelman for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great accounts, which is great if you're starting off in your career Stable agency - strong and steady growth Really smart people Very creative individuals willing to come up with inventive ways to solve client problems

    Cons

    Junior members of staff work incredibly long hours Hiring seems to be concentrated on really senior individuals, or 'vanity hires' - who sometimes do not add much value to the organisation Although the policy has changed, there was a conflict between the accounts the firm represented and its own values

    Continue reading
    Edelman2015-10-09
  6. "Great organisation"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Edelman full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great opportunity to work with some very smart people.

    Cons

    No downtime. Focus on new business. Pay not great especially at more junior levels

    Edelman2020-05-05
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Creatively Bankrupt + Political Nightmare"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Freelancer - Creative Director in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Edelman for less than a year

    Pros

    1) Some incredibly smart people on the strategy side.

    Cons

    1) The creative coming out of the the NYC office is laughable. They have relics running the shop. 2) The creative leads stifle creativity or worse appropriate your ideas, cut you out and clumsily execute them. 3) While there I witnessed senior creatives be extremely rude toward their colleagues and even throw tantrums. 4) HR was nonexistent. No one will help you get up to speed on their timesheet or expense process. People that have worked there for years don’t know how to use the printers! Seriously? 5) No real sense of community or team at this place.

    Continue reading
    Edelman2019-11-18

    Edelman Response

    December 10, 2019Edelman

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts. This is tough feedback. I can't agree with all that you wrote but acknowledge there is room for improvement in the way we engage and integrate freelance talent in such a fast-moving business context. If you have specific feedback about problematic behaviors that you did not share before you left, please reach out to me at Maria.O'Keeffe@edelman.com. Maria O'Keeffe, Executive Director, US HR

  8. "Great place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - SAS in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Edelman full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Smart people - Interesting work - decent work/life balance

    Cons

    Group and teams are siloed. Difficult to connect with other colleagues at times.

    Edelman2019-07-23

    Edelman Response

    September 3, 2019Edelman

    Thank you for your review. I'm glad that you consider Edelman a great place to work. I do too. I also saw your mention that it can be difficult to connect with colleagues at times. I know we are often busy and focused on our own work and lives and it's so easy for that to become the norm. I've traveled to so many Edelman office over my time here and have found that if you initiate (even if that's taking a risk for you) the vast majority of our colleagues are friendly and receptive (as well as interesting!) Consider attending an event in your office or talking to someone new once a day or week, and I hope you'll be surprised! I'm in NY often too, so happy to chat when I'm there. Thanks for leaving a review. Maria O'Keeffe, Executive Director, US HR

  9. "Great clients. Smart people."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Consultant in Abu Dhabi, Abu Dhabi
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Edelman for less than a year

    Pros

    Great clients and smart people.

    Cons

    Some lazy and efficient staff around.

    Continue reading
    Edelman2019-07-26
  10. "Great Company, Uncertain Future"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Edelman full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Creative, fun and smart people. Strong opportunities for growth if you work on the right team/for the right manager. Strong values that employees can feel inspired by.

    Cons

    Inconsistent policies + enforcement of policies Never ending new "initiatives" that roll out each year - with zero integration into last year's policies. Confusing leadership structure at the very top that leads to chaotic decisions/lack of clear roadmap Poor communication Company doesn't always live up to their own stated values.

    Continue reading
    Edelman2019-03-27

    Edelman Response

    April 4, 2019Edelman

    Thank you for this feedback. I'm glad to see the things that you called out as strengths and think your constructive comments are thoughtful. I agree there are many new initiatives as our industry evolves faster and faster and the call out to focus, think ahead and communicate better are noted. Appreciate your feedback. Maria O'Keeffe, Executive Director US HR

Found 114 reviews