Edelman "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Edelman Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated 22 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1821 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
60%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Edelman CEO Richard W. Edelman
Richard W. Edelman
1206 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Mid-tier agency, OK work & culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Edelman full-time

    Pros

    Nice working culture Ok work life balance

    Cons

    Politics is rife & stressful to navigate

    Edelman2019-02-14

    Edelman Response

    March 11, 2019Edelman

    Thanks for your review. I'm happy to hear you have work life balance and are pleased with our working culture. I'm sorry to see your note about politics and am available if you'd like to discuss. I'm at maria.okeeffe@edelman.com. Maria O'Keeffe, Executive Director US HR

  2. Helpful (1)

    "No pain, no gain"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Edelman full-time

    Pros

    Global, connected, smart people, leading IP

    Cons

    Culture can be hard, no respect for work/life balance, it's a struggle to transform into an integrated creative agency.

    Advice to Management

    Hire more inspirational leaders. Focus on your staff

    Edelman2017-10-18

    Edelman Response

    November 15, 2017Edelman

    I appreciate your observations and while I am concerned about your comment regarding our pivot to communications marketing, I appreciate your feedback. It's not always easy and, while we have a number of success stories to celebrate, along with award winning creative campaigns to ...

    Show More
  3. "Account Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Director in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Edelman full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Amazing client briefs, international opportunities, growth/development opportunities

    Cons

    Salary, limited work life balance

    Edelman2017-10-18
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great work, bad managers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Edelman full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great company benefits Cool Christmas party Free toast for breakfast Pretty office Get to work with some huge clients

    Cons

    Where to start..... You are always expected to be working, I feel sorry for juniors as they are literally expected to dedicate their lives to the job. Weekend working is too common and there are some individuals who will want to have calls with you at either 7am or 10pm....there is no work life balance whatsoever. Deadlines are poorly planned.

    Advice to Management

    Every review on here says the same thing, please listen to them.

    Edelman2017-09-25

    Edelman Response

    November 15, 2017Edelman

    Who doesn't love free toast! A well-balanced breakfast sure is a great way to kick-start the work day. I only wish your work day wasn't as long as you state. While we have new reporting mechanisms in place to better keep track of and manage overtime, your feedback is valuable as we ...

    Show More
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Good Company but Juniors are overworked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Edelman for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits are good but the gym membership offering isnt great Flexible Working Nice People Iconic Brand

    Cons

    No Work/Life Balance Juniors are overworked with no appreciation Only if your face fits are you promoted Lack of transparency

    Advice to Management

    Pull your heads out and start getting you 4+s to do some work. Make them earn their MIP and stop rewarding people with bad behaviour, everyone talks in the workplace

    Edelman2017-06-04

    Edelman Response

    September 26, 2017

    Thank you for your review and insight. We have a real focus on equality in the work place and creating an environment where bad behaviour is not tolerated, so your comments have concerned me and i would be very keen to discuss further. My email address is Rebecca.Hall@edelman.com ...

    Show More
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Great culture, diverse work, high-profile clients"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Edelman full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The work is varied, stimulating and largely based on high-profile clients and/or campaigns. It's a very young employee-base (most under 35) with lots of exciting company wide events and social perks. Lots of upward mobility and opportunities to carve out one's own niche.

    Cons

    For an account executive, the work can often be menial and unchallenging. Work / life balance linked to compensation is poor. Long hours are not reflected in pay.

    Edelman2017-01-29
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Not what it says on the tin."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Edelman full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great location and communal cafe. Some great clients.

    Cons

    Old fashioned firm that unfortunately does not mandate the change it so desires. Lack of process, structure and accountability. Bully mentality within certain practices. Quality of work lacks some depth and due diligence. Poor work life balance. Do not embrace change.

    Advice to Management

    If you want to be a communications marketing agency then act like one, mandate the changes that need to be implemented however unpopular they may be.

    Edelman2016-12-09

    Edelman Response

    January 11, 2017Edelman

    Thanks for your review. Change can take time, but we're proud of how we've transformed in the last five years to meet the evolving needs of our business and industry. If you'd be open to it, I'd like to learn more about your observations and what you think could be done differently. ...

    Show More
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Big company to have on CV, long hard hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Edelman for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people and a massive company to have on your CV

    Cons

    Long hours despite supposedly promoting good work-life balance. Leaving before 6.30/7 is extremely rare

    Advice to Management

    hire more AAE/AE to spread workload

    Edelman2016-04-05
  9. Helpful (9)

    "Not for everyone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Edelman full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Edelman is a great company to have on your CV and it's a good way o start your career, understand how a big corporate works

    Cons

    Extremely stressful environment, work life balance is shocking, most juniors break after about a year (if they make it that far) so turnover is extreme. Departments tend to focus on vanity hires at higher levels and do not look after their junior teams as well. People are generally very nice, but the company culture is definitely not for everyone. There's a lot of talk about...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop talking and start doing. Address the issues in the UK office - your junior team members are all leaving so take note of this and take action. Cut down massively on pointless internal processes and initiatives that take up people's time and go nowhere

    Edelman2016-02-27
  10. "Edelman Healthcare"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Edelman

    Pros

    You gain great experience super quickly Exposed to some very smart senior people who can teach you loads - very approachable Salaries are not bad (if you fight for them) Great line management Great career progression International opportunities Great, diverse and quirky clients Ability to work on accounts that interest you Flexible working hours

    Cons

    Rather political Long working hours cause people to leave - if more people are recruited, people will have less work and can have a better work/life balance Bonuses are not great (but are not as bad as other agencies) Rather corporate

    Advice to Management

    Take it more easy; learn how to have fun and let people have fun more; the work will be done because we are smart adults so we may as well have fun along the way too.

    Edelman2016-01-21
Found 1821 reviews