Eden Brown Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Eden Brown Reviews

Updated 28 Mar 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
67%
Recommend to a Friend
63%
Approve of CEO
Eden Brown CEO James Stevenson
James Stevenson
13 Ratings
  1. "Top company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Manchester, England

    I worked at Eden Brown full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    great environment to work in with good workforce

    Cons

    some long working hours but that is recruitment

    Advice to Management

    keep it up

    Eden Brown2019-03-28
  2. "Recruiter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Eden Brown full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good work life balance, great training and development and great culture

    Cons

    Not many spring to mind

    Eden Brown2019-03-18
  3. "No one is safe from getting the sack"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Consultant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Eden Brown full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great colleagues - However think they have all left now!!!!

    Cons

    Poor management, I joined Eden Brown with a group of new starters (around 15) after 5 months I was 1 of 3 left! Unrealistic targets, Top billers fired if had a quiet month, Ridiculous high turnover of staff. From what I can see they have lost a good team of consultants.

    Advice to Management

    Make sure you have set new staff up with everything they need before sacking them for under achieving.

    Eden Brown2019-02-21
  4. "Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Eden Brown

    Pros

    no pros at all. none.

    Cons

    standard recruitment culture. bad management

    Eden Brown2018-08-30
  5. "Team Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Eden Brown full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Its very local to Liverpool St Station, probably a 2 minute walk. That is about it......

    Cons

    commission structure - one of the worst in the business Environment - Like a library during core hours, like a youth club at lunch, lack of credible consultants to bounce off, full of non experienced graduates/trainees that only want to play pool.... (another Pro - Pool Table), air con is non existent, lack of toilets, you will probably witness around 5 arguments between staff on company sales do. Management -... was excellent then the old school HAYS team turned up, lots of change, senior managers change from month to month with a new view on what should be done, CEO sees it fit to merge companies and notify you by saying "your either on the bus or your not", forever trying to change working hours or commission structures to make consultants worse off, do not take care of there own, very much a sunday league set up (if you are a "yes man" and befriend a senior manager you will probably get a director name tag). Overview - A company that is only interested in making money at the top end, whether your a trainee, consultant or manager you will not earn good money here however you will watch the Director Team guzzle down champagne whilst you sip water! stear clear however if this is your last option go for it.... actually dont get a job at tescos!!!!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    to many problems to sort, was once great but now a sinking ship

    Eden Brown2018-07-31
  6. "Very Helpful Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Principal Consultant in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Eden Brown full-time

    Pros

    When I worked at Eden Brown , I was felt welcome and everyone was happy to help. Phil (Director of Birmingham office) very passionate about his role and invests time in you, your desk and always on hand to help out where he can. Lovely office staff - Many opportunities to grow a career CEO- James Stevenson was very passionate about his role and made time to sit with me, advise and help where ever he can. Honestly... cares about his team and the business he has built. Great role model to learn from

    Show More

    Cons

    From the time I started and the time I left I could not fault the business

    Eden Brown2018-01-22
  7. "Extremely unprofessional and unethical company. NO INTEREST IN ITS STAFF OR THEIR CAREERS"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Eden Brown full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work life balance is good as no one wants to be in the office so everyone takes a full hour lunch and leaves dead on finish time ( well done Eden brown synergy you created a great environment where your staff can't wait to get out)

    Cons

    Where do I start the list is endless! Only a 1 star as it wouldn't let me put no stars :( -they are very much only interested in you if they like you rather then in what you have to offer from a business stance. - will give random margin and placements to consults that they like which makes certain consultants performances look better then they really are then use them to make people they'd only like look bad by... comparing growth (when there is nothing to compare as a desk with 90% gifts is not something that should be compared to a desk that has been built up from hard work) - no training or development (apart from the odd webinar that is on repeat and extremely basic)...only decent training I have heard of in this company is from the managers who have their own training and development programmes (but they are the only important ones so guess this is fair enough right??) - unrealistic targets set with no thought to your starting point so you will always be chasing your tail! - no support from management (they are content on their thrones) - a director who is likely to never talk or show any interest into you or your career - a CEO (new one normally every year or so.) and like the director has an inability to understand the need to talk or show any level of interest in you your career or what you are doing. (Until it's time to say bye... and then it's just "bye") - they discriminate - hire and fire rather then support and develop - do not follow their own polices and procedure - mislead you into job security by telling you your job is safe and then days late could tell you to go with no reason and without following their own polices and procedure and terms set out in the contracts. - no support - they seem very lost - even the staff that are still working for them are ALL unhappy and ALL complain about all of the above.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Either quit!... or ask yourself why you have such a high turnover of staff. Ask yourself is it really always the consultants that are messing up and not good enough??? Because something tells me you need to look a lot closer to see what the real issue is. Management need to focus more on actually managing rather then sitting in a corner not talking to anyone apart from the people they like every now and again. Speak... to everyone and actually manage. Lead from the front and support your staff. The managers are bad the directors are worse and the CEO who knows what he does. Each level of management the higher up you go the worse it gets. Learn to invest in your staff rather then give up. Think about this now and I mean really think... if getting rid of one person and bringing in another doesn't work and that keeps happening so you really think the answer is to get rid of people??? May try doing what you expect consultants to do and learn from mistakes (just because you are management or a director or a CEO does not mean you have learnt all you can learn and doesn't make you right.) admit to your mistakes learn and move on. You might be surprised at the results. Remember you are a business that not even 2 years ago (EDEN BROWN SYNERGY) wanted to grow by at least 50 head as quickly as possibly.... what happened you've shrunk in the London office by nearly 10 heads.... still think it's the consultants.... look closer and think what the real problem is.... i can see it, can you manager, directors and mr CEO (if you are around)

    Show More
    Eden Brown2017-06-23
  8. "Senior Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Eden Brown full-time

    Pros

    Can be fun place to work with good incentives. Commission structure is also good.

    Cons

    With a new VC involved it is all about the growth and profitability of the business. In essence that is fine but targets are often unrealistic so you can become immediately under pressure. With the Directors being very ruthless with underperformers and limited training available staff turnover is high. Many of the good managers have left in the churn.

    Advice to Management

    Eden Brown / Eden Brown Synergy is seen as the failing part of the Group yet it has many of the best consultants. Invest and back the teams as many are very loyal to the cause.

    Eden Brown2017-05-19
  9. "Good but could be better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Administrative in London, England
    Recommends

    I worked at Eden Brown

    Pros

    great work environment and friendly team

    Cons

    salary could be better for the amount of work expected more staff to manage high work load

    Advice to Management

    talk to your staff more

    Eden Brown2017-05-11
  10. "Great management and great team!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruitment Consultant in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Eden Brown full-time

    Pros

    Amazing manager, positive attitude, great team, new office, relaxed environment. Room to grow

    Cons

    The plant died and get too much light in through the new big windows

    Advice to Management

    Keep being supportive, open to ideas, being positive and encouraging staff. Its a great environment with lots of respect. Phil manages a couple of offices and does a great job. Can be very approachable and as long as you work hard you can play hard. Andy has been amazing always listens and is supportive as well as being part of the team. Management makes all the difference to a work place and Andy is definitely up... there with the best. You get treated like an adult and its a great environment to be in. We are still in a sales role so KPIs are obviously going to be there so reading previous comments doesn't sit right with me as seem to be very biased.

    Show More
    Eden Brown2017-02-22

    Eden Brown Response

    May 5, 2017Brand Manager

    Glad that your experience had been a positive one! Have you tried watering the plant? #Savetheplant

Found 44 reviews