Edge Hill University Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Edge Hill University Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 28 reviews

4.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
83%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
John Cater
17 Ratings
  1. "Brilliant place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Edge Hill University full-time for more than 19 years

    Pros

    Beautiful campus Excellent leadership Sense of community Care for staff and students

    Cons

    Car parking can be difficult at peak times

    Edge Hill University2019-03-04
  2. "Very satisfied"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends

      I have been working at Edge Hill University part-time

      Pros

      There are an abundance of work opportunities to be found for students

      Cons

      Payments from different departments are lumped together as one sum every month. This can be slightly confusing

      Edge Hill University2019-01-07
    • "Great to work for"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Edge Hill University part-time

        Pros

        Very high rate of pay

        Cons

        Low working hours every week

        Edge Hill University2018-11-29
      • "Student job working with Media loans"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Media Assistant in Ormskirk, England
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        No Opinion of CEO

        I worked at Edge Hill University part-time (Less than a year)

        Pros

        good pay, good easy work with challenges, helpful and supportive manager

        Cons

        limited time to focus on my actually university work

        Edge Hill University2018-10-09
      • "Nice campus but hard to progress"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Departmental Administrator in Ormskirk, England
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Edge Hill University full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Staff benefits, nice campus, most of the people are friendly

        Cons

        hard to progress, salaries are lower here than in the same positions in other North West Universities

        Advice to Management

        n/a

        Edge Hill University2018-07-27
      • "Great Place to work"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Edge Hill University full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Beautiful Campus, friendly staff and great work life balance

        Cons

        I don't have any cons

        Edge Hill University2018-04-08
      • "professor"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Professor in Ormskirk, England
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Edge Hill University full-time for more than 5 years

        Pros

        Friendly, supportive, ambitious, progressive and fast moving

        Cons

        Not a russel university, a bit further away from relevant activity, new in terms of research activity and in need for further internalization

        Edge Hill University2018-03-13
      • "A great start at a great University!"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Human Resources Director in Clitheroe, England
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Edge Hill University full-time (Less than a year)

        Pros

        I have had a great welcome and found staff and senior management very supportive and friendly.

        Cons

        So many wellbeing activities and employee benefits to choose - which ones do I opt for?!

        Edge Hill University2018-02-23
      • "Grest"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Edge Hill University full-time

        Pros

        Worked here for 20 years

        Cons

        Can't really progress unless you have a degree

        Advice to Management

        Treat support staff same as academics

        Edge Hill University2018-01-23
      • "No direction at all"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        No Opinion of CEO

        I worked at Edge Hill University full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        There are the usual benefits for an organisation of this size - pension, life insurance, travel to work schemes etc. and good facilities on campus for food and drink plus markets and events for students that staff can use too. There are lots of opportunities for internal training organised by HR but it can be hard to work out what the courses are about and a lot you can't take part in until you've been there over a year...

        Show More

        Cons

        Unfortunately the organisation has no real strategic direction. We receive regular emails from management encouraging everyone to increase student numbers but heads of department won't set anyone targets (for teams or individuals) or give any strategy or work objectives. Some of the people are nice but no-one is given any purpose so problems are not dealt with and nothing ever progresses. I was given no induction when...

        Show More

        Advice to Management

        Induct staff properly and have proper structures for inductions. Give staff objectives to work to and managers should meet with them to check progress so people feel supported and like they are making progress in their roles.

        Edge Hill University2018-02-06
      Found 28 reviews