Edinburgh Napier University Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Edinburgh Napier University Reviews

Updated 4 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 51 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
53%
Recommend to a Friend
50%
Approve of CEO
Andrea Nolan
18 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Digital Media Designer Internship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Digital Media Designer in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Edinburgh Napier University part-time

    Pros

    Flexible working hours, a lot of opportunities to interact and collaborate with colleagues from other countries and departments and be involved in various projects.

    Cons

    I don't have any cons about the Edinburgh Napier University

    Edinburgh Napier University2017-07-15
  2. "Small but very active"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Edinburgh Napier University full-time

    Pros

    Great collaboration between research groups due to the reduced size of the research staff. Comfortable and friendly work environment.

    Cons

    Due to reduced size it is harder to get funding from bigger schemes. Also somewhat limited in terms of laboratory equipment. But not so limited it gets in the way of your work.

    Advice to Management

    Investing in meeting the institutional requirements for certain funding schemes would most likely pay off.

    Edinburgh Napier University2017-06-16
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Not that good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Edinburgh Napier University

    Pros

    For me location - that's only good think

    Cons

    Top heavy with highly paid patronising management - little job satisfaction as reflected in staff surveys

    Advice to Management

    Resign

    Edinburgh Napier University2017-06-15
  4. "Student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Student in Edinburgh, Scotland
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Edinburgh Napier University

    Pros

    Safe environment were everyone tries help each other.

    Cons

    Bad organisation between lectures, classes overlapping themselves and taking off classes you would like to do.

    Edinburgh Napier University2017-04-19
  5. "Napier University review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Services in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Edinburgh Napier University

    Pros

    The Head of the Financial Services Malcolm Pettigrew is very professional, kind and understanding. He takes the well being of his employees seriously and does everything to ensure that everyone feels appreciated. The team is very supportive. A lot of opportunities for professional development.

    Cons

    No disadvantages. Perhaps the weather;)

    Edinburgh Napier University2017-04-02
  6. "Excellent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Associate in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Edinburgh Napier University

    Pros

    Nice work environment, significant opportunity to progress academic career

    Cons

    Bad Coffee, bad canteen food

    Advice to Management

    Generally good in comparison to other Edinburgh based universities

    Edinburgh Napier University2017-03-23
  7. Helpful (1)

    "very nice colleagues"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Edinburgh Napier University

    Pros

    Everyone who works here is really lovely - this includes my immediate team and wider network of colleagues.

    Cons

    Car-parking is awful and some of the people who work in HR seem pretty ruthless.

    Edinburgh Napier University2017-03-15
  8. "Inspriring"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Student Administrative Assistant in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Edinburgh Napier University

    Pros

    Great income; great environment when working directly with students; diverse opportunity; status of name; having been a student, learning the background was inspirational.

    Cons

    Every seconded position I applied for (that was not brought to my direct attention by my line manager) I was unsuccessful in achieving. I believe a system of promotion would have been more indicative of a promoters in people, than having internal positions advertised yet still being ring-fenced for certain individuals - I was prey to this as well..

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your subordinates and encourage diverse thinking!!! Especially in non-academic roles, ESPECIALLY because you only hire degree applicants!!! MOST OF WHICH STUDIED AT NAPIER!

    Edinburgh Napier University2017-02-23
  9. "Watch out for ENU - a university on its way to the top"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - KTP Associate in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Edinburgh Napier University

    Pros

    Good staff welfare. The HR department is very supporting. I have not come across a member of the university who is not optimistic about he university.

    Cons

    Getting CoS from the Home Office, for new recruits (like when I was employed) takes ages. It would be good if the university can improve on this.

    Advice to Management

    Keep striving to achieve the visions.

    Edinburgh Napier University2017-02-23
  10. "Student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Student Ambassador in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Edinburgh Napier University part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Organization, Infrastructure, Library, Equipment, Personal development, Help

    Cons

    Lectures, Slides, Material, could be more up to date, more carefull

    Advice to Management

    Renew, pay attention.

    Edinburgh Napier University2017-03-03
Found 51 reviews