Edrington Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Edrington Reviews

Updated 7 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
65%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Edrington Chief Executive Ian Curle
Ian Curle
28 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great brands, competitive benefits, PTO, charitable initiatives and beautiful new offices(in 7 reviews)

  • "Strong, positive company culture(in 5 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Amazing company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Engineer in Glasgow, Scotland

    I have been working at Edrington full-time

    Pros

    Great staff Great pay Free drink Job diversity

    Cons

    Not experienced any so far

    Edrington2020-02-26
  2. "First thoughts"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Event Coordinator 

    I worked at Edrington part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Really good family atmosphere

    Cons

    Communication could be better within the company

    Edrington2020-02-03
  3. Helpful (2)

    "A first class company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Glasgow, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Edrington full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Exciting truly international & growing organisation - plenty of opportunities for career development Relatively flat structure, encourages innovation and a great environment for self-starters Inclusive and supportive culture First class pay and benefits package Takes the organisation's role in society very seriously - contributes directly and indirectly to hundreds of good causes worldwide and encourages employees to play an active role in their communities

    Cons

    Hard to be critical of any specific part of the organisation. I look back very fondly on my time with Edrington and wish them and my ex-colleagues all the very best success in the future.

    Continue reading
    Edrington2018-05-30
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Good Company but could do better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Edrington full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Lots of good benefits such as health insurance and good holiday allowance and link with Robertson Trust allows staff to get money for charities.

    Cons

    Unfortunately as a drinks company they have a legal obligation to promote responsible drinking and have an apparently compulsory 'code of conduct' which says all staff have to do so but happily turn a blind eye when staff publicly do the opposite at company social events.

    Continue reading
    Edrington2018-05-22
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great on the surface"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Edrington full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great brands and good products

    Cons

    Unfortunately having great products like to does has meant it has had not need to be 'good' at business development or modern marketing. Business development function is laughable and unfortunately HR only there to do the bidding of management..right or wrong..

    Continue reading
    Edrington2018-05-15
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Good company lost its way"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Edrington full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good package benefits standard with industry

    Cons

    Higher up in company have no clue what is going on at lowest levels

    Continue reading
    Edrington2017-10-11
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Marketing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Glasgow, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Edrington full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The brands have lots of heritage and people are on the whole extremely friendly and welcoming. There are some good benefits such as a product allowance

    Cons

    The CEO runs the business in a very directive fashion, the leadership is parochial and out of touch. Senior leaders are fearful to challenge the CEO Business strategy overrules brand strategy Training and development is poor There is a lack of transparency of job roles and salary bands/grading creating unease within and between teams Middle managers are not empowered The business is highly political There are gaps of functional expertise There is zero diversity within the leadership function and little sense of inclusion. People do not feel listened to The company sweeps unprofessional behaviour amongst senior managers under the carpet

    Continue reading
    Edrington2016-11-11
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Great place to work with great people!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Edrington full-time

    Pros

    I really enjoy working at Edrington. I have had so many new experiences and face challenges everyday which keeps my job exciting. There's always friendly people around who want to help you and see you progress in the company. The company offers some great benefits such as shop vouchers and also organises social nights which are great fun,

    Cons

    No cons of working there for me.

    Continue reading
    Edrington2016-05-12
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Excellent employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Glasgow, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Edrington full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great people and values. Excellent brand portfolio with an expanding international reach. Overall employment package benchmarks very well with excellent terms and conditions. Employees are recognised for their efforts with positive reinforcement. Strong charitable and corporate social responsibility ethos. Communication to employees is honest and first class. Overall staff turn over is very low which really speaks volumes as an employer of choice.

    Cons

    Decision making at a corporate level at times can be a little slow and don't always stick by a new brand long enough to potentially realise its possible success.

    Continue reading
    Edrington2016-05-06
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Positive employment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Edrington full-time

    Pros

    Strong company culture Very good range of benefits Positive team-working atmosphere Great ethos of charitable giving

    Cons

    No significant cons, Edrington is a very good employer

    Continue reading
    Edrington2016-05-06
Found 47 reviews