Edward Jones "door knocking" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Edward Jones Employee Reviews about "door knocking"

Updated 30 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
76%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
Edward Jones Managing Partner  Penny Pennington
Penny Pennington
230 Ratings
Pros
  • "We are given an enormous amount of support from our home office(in 159 reviews)

  • "Great Training, Back Office Support was wonderful, the FA I worked with was easy to get along with and good communication(in 155 reviews)

Cons
  • "You will build your book from scratch (see door knocking)(in 173 reviews)

  • "and the door to door portion of the job when you start out(in 158 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews by divisions

Reviews about "door knocking"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "High Pressure Cookie Cutter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Advisor in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Edward Jones full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They invest in you quiet a bit through training

    Cons

    You have to be a robot and do everything to their complete specifications. Absolutely no room for flexibility. All they want to talk about at every meeting is 'door knocking' which is NOT enjoyable.

    Continue reading
    Edward Jones2020-01-30
  2. Edward Jones - Financial Advisors | Division of Edward Jones
    Helpful (2)

    "Great place for women and people of color to work as Financial Advisors"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Advisor in Oakland, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Edward Jones full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Where to start? You create your own business. Select which clients you want to work with, set your own schedule, hire in your own assistant and run your office as you please. Edward Jones places a high degree of trust and competence in it's people and I love the largely independent nature of the work. Edward Jones sponsored me for all training and SEC exams and paid for my CFP. I can call and get great support from a dedicated home office team. It's a company that says it puts people and families first - and I was a client of Edward Jones before becoming an advisor and I can say from both sides of the spectrum this is absolutely true. As long as I am meeting or exceeding set standards, I get two trips almost anywhere in the world from Edward Jones. I'm working towards creating a profitable branch and will earn partnership. I really like the other Financial Advisors in my region and I am not in competition with any of them (Edward Jones is NOT publicly traded). The culture has remained rock solid and true to its roots for a century. I'm sure I'll think of 10 more things after I post, but honestly being a Financial Advisor for Edward Jones was one of the best decisions of my working career and I am eternally grateful. Well earned distinction of best place to work - and consistently ranked one of the best places for women.

    Cons

    The first few years in this industry are hard - not just at Jones, but anywhere. Expect 3-5 years of HARD grind before you can step back and start to admire your work. You will build your book from scratch (see door knocking) . Working in Financial services, welcome to a bureaucratic black hole where everything takes 3x longer than it should because of regulations (again, not really a Jones thing, but more of an industry thing). Penny (the new CEO) sure has shaken things up for the better, but at 'home office' the 50-something White male still are far far FAR overrepresented in the General Partnership ranks. I've met more dudes named 'Ken' as General Partner at home office than people of color. That is changing and I can tell 10-15 years from now this will be different. I will say Jones is taking the diversity and inclusion piece seriously - because they understand that it's a competitive advantage. You'll receive a lot of support, but Edward Jones Financial Advisors are entrepreneurial folks who expect little help and to be honest this set up is best for this personality type. Personally, I love the independence without the liability for this work and the Edward Jones model will set you up for this type of arrangement.

    Continue reading
    Edward Jones2019-12-12
  3. Helpful (6)

    "Be Prepared for Door-to-Door Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Advisor Trainee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Edward Jones full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Training was top notch. The firm pays you while you are studying for licensing exams. Some folks in the region seem to genuinely care about one another.

    Cons

    You must be excited about going door-to-door in residential neighborhoods trying to "sell" your services and the firm's services. If you are not passionate about this process, you will struggle. Be prepared for long days with the hope of getting a handful of phone numbers each day (if you're good and lucky enough to catch folks home). Hopefully, of the phone numbers you get, some will answer when you call. Of those that answer, hopefully a few will agree to meet with you. Of those that meet with you, hopefully a few will open accounts and move assets. Then you continue this process for 3-5 years until your book of business is built. Other FAs will tell you that they built their business without door-knocking. It rare, especially at the beginning.

    Continue reading
    Edward Jones2019-11-26
  4. Edward Jones - Financial Advisors | Division of Edward Jones
    Helpful (1)

    "Financial Advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Financial Advisor 

    I worked at Edward Jones full-time

    Pros

    A great culture where people aren't afraid to help the new guys.

    Cons

    Too much door knocking, Not the most effective way to build your business.

    Edward Jones2019-11-05
  5. Edward Jones - Financial Advisors | Division of Edward Jones
    Helpful (1)

    "Your time is what you make of it."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Advisor in Seattle, WA
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Edward Jones full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A great way to become introduce to life as a financial advisor. A lot freedom of movement in regards to managing your own time and small business. Senior advisors are willing to help if you ask them. Good support/coaching network, but onus is on you to make things happen.

    Cons

    Come prepared with your business plan AND marketing strategies detailed out to include how you will manage your day-to-day activities. Door knocking/Cold walking is NOT as bad as it seems, but if you don't have much luck there you need to have other sources available to generate clients/accounts with. You're time is what you make of it, if you can't manage it effectively enough your business will suffer. Prepare to put MANY hours in on the front end of things.

    Edward Jones2019-10-03
  6. Edward Jones - Financial Advisors | Division of Edward Jones

    "Fantastic Opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Advisor in Brandon, MB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Edward Jones full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Tremendous support from both head office and colleagues.

    Cons

    Door Knocking is a must and is tough.

    Continue reading
    Edward Jones2019-09-29
  7. Edward Jones - Financial Advisors | Division of Edward Jones
    Helpful (3)

    "Great company but be ready for the grind"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Advisor in Saint Louis, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Edward Jones full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Base salary Great training Benefits Unlimited potential Paid training

    Cons

    Door knocking Starting with nothing , no leads just whoever you know

    Continue reading
    Edward Jones2019-09-12
  8. Edward Jones - Financial Advisors | Division of Edward Jones

    "Great Company Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Advisor in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Edward Jones full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Family feel Good compensation if you work hard Opportunity to get experience "running your own business"

    Cons

    Door knocking Typical sales pressure Possibility to deal with a lot of rejection

    Edward Jones2019-08-26
  9. Edward Jones - Financial Advisors | Division of Edward Jones
    Helpful (9)

    "Be careful what you wish for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Advisor in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Edward Jones full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Paid training and base salary (albeit declining) during the first five years, good benefits package, some colleagues offered support and mentoring.

    Cons

    It's a horribly outdated business model: cold door knocking. No one, much less in a professional career, attracts clients this way. You don't get any leads or accounts to work with, but no one tells you this during the recruiting and onboarding process - I only found out at KYC training. IF you are assigned an office (there is no guarantee - you might be working out of your home), it's a one-person shop, so no colleagues to work with. Some senior FAs are very condescending.

    Continue reading
    Edward Jones2019-08-14
  10. Edward Jones - Financial Advisors | Division of Edward Jones

    "Financial Planner"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Advisor in Kansas City, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Edward Jones full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good people that work there

    Cons

    Door knocking on a day to day basis

    Continue reading
    Edward Jones2019-07-30

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 173 reviews