Elastic Employee Reviews about "open source"

Updated Dec 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 29 of over 308 reviews

4.2
83%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Elastic Founder and CEO Shay Banon
Shay Banon
144 Ratings
Pros
  • "I wasn't a huge participant in the open-source world before joining Elastic, but I've really enjoyed getting more involved(in 24 reviews)

  • "The work-life balance at Elastic is what you make of it(in 17 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Their hope is the open source model and its low entry price is going to drive enough potential demand for up-selling later to generate revenue(in 8 reviews)

  • "Distributed company means email/slacks come in at all hours(in 8 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "open source"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Best company I have ever worked for...

      Jan 7, 2017 - Solutions Architect 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Working with talented people makes a nice change - Great flexibility between, work and play - Very executive team who strive to make the company the best it can be

      Cons

      - The balance between open source and making money is a tough line to walk along, but Elastic do it pretty well! - Some growth pains, but that is expected with such a company, if you need a highly structured environment to work in, this might not be your place.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Engineering

      Aug 27, 2015 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Well-known and adopted open source technology stack and a diverse team of engineering, sales, and marketing behind it. Sometimes the product sells itself, as they say. I enjoy flexibility with regards to travel, working from home, training, etc. I get to engage in different things each day and seeing all the different things going on at the company too with regards to marketing and sales which I had not had deeper knowledge of before. The people are smart, friendly, and always online! We're growing fast and it's hard to keep everybody's name in your head but I'm getting there.

      Cons

      A tiny bit of uncertainty about the future of making money from open source but we've got a great team behind this who have quite a bit of experience in this area. Working remotely is a boon but of course you don't see everything that goes on behind the scenes too so it's got both aspects to it if you're not used to working remotely.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Fantastic company

      Dec 13, 2019 - Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fantastic people, great leadership, open environment and a product that nearly every company already uses or should be using.

      Cons

      It's a high growth company and that is challenging to continue to grow at that rate while maintaining a great corporate culture. It only gets harder as the company gets bigger. As an open source company, it's a great part of the culture, but also includes the challenges of competing with "free software", particularly when cloud service providers host it without contributing back.

      10 people found this review helpful

      Elastic Response

      VP, Global HR

      Thank you for reviewing your experience here. We do agree with the challenges that bring to a fast growing company and the importance of maintaining our culture for our people.

    4. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Don't join if you're an independent thinker

      Jun 17, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Pays 100% health insurance, 401k match

      Cons

      There's so much talk about culture, yet it's such a toxic culture. Senior management has a bad habit of shaming people who question them or their leadership and shuts them down in public in front of everyone (in large in-person company meetings and emails to the whole company). This has a chilling effect and creates a culture where everyone is a "yes man (or woman)" and people are afraid to say what they really believe. Management lives in a bubble where even though they get survey feedback saying people are afraid to speak up due to fear of negative consequences, they don't understand why people aren't giving them honest feedback. Once you get tagged as someone who doesn't tow the company line, you're going to be rejected for promotions and raises, regardless of your contributions to the company. Don't believe for a second that this is a place where you can be yourself. Your success is directly correlated to the extent you kiss up to your managers and executives. Anything else you do is irrelevant. Executives are really naive about the competition. Elastic is falling behind competitors, even in their most popular use cases: search, logging, and security. Their hope is the open source model and its low entry price is going to drive enough potential demand for up-selling later to generate revenue. Elastic has always said they wanted to be the next Oracle: start with a solid foundational platform, then offer apps on top. The hope is Elastic could be a better version of Oracle but it's starting to follow the same pattern in terms of company culture and less-competitive product offerings. SaaS providers in search and monitoring have already surpassed Elastic in their ability to solve customer problems. The PMs at Elastic are just now starting to recognize the potential threat.

      45 people found this review helpful

      Elastic Response

      VP, Global HR

      Thank you for your review. We are actively seeking feedback like yours and appreciate you letting us know your concerns. Acting on the feedback (and frequently gathering it in our engagement surveys) helps us drive continuous improvement our Elasticians work experiences. If you would be open to sharing your ideas on how to better address the challenges you see please feel free to get in touch with me (leah@elastic.co)

    5. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Ethically Concerning

      May 8, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - The people. Those who work in individual contributor roles here are nearly all all-stars. They are great to work with... and genuinely good people. I miss them. - The product has a market, it is open source(ish), and is has some innovative characteristics to it. - The salary was generous, as were the stock options. - They have learned pretty well how to foster a remote work culture. -- There are still some aspects that need help.

      Cons

      I ran into 4 primary cons while working here: 1) Ethics - I worked on a team at the company that few would argue is vital to any company’s function. This role can often be ethically demanding (in any company). However, in this particular company I ran into more ethically grey/black situations than I have in any of my previous roles... combined. During my time in this role I was put in at-least three significant ethically compromising situations. Some sought to compromise my ethics... while others were leadership imposing their compromised ethics on staff in my area. All of these situations involved Senior Leadership. These were not small routine grievances. If I was in an investor or customer position, I would be significantly concerned with behavior and performance in my former area at the company. It is a function where if handled wrong it has the potential for huge impact. For what it's worth... the company had no (and to my knowledge still lacks) ethical hotline... Ethics Officer... or full time Privacy Officer that could act with appropriate unbiased arbitration. 2) Performance - This is a company (in my area) that made decisions on performance based on likability. My manager was a poor performer in a crucial area for the company. Despite this... through 6 months of failure, complaints from several independent company departments, an entire function transition to another area of the company under a new Senior Leader, and fictitious goals set and missed... no resolution occurred on performance. To this point... There is no structured and balanced employee review system for the entire company. Expect inconsistency in treatment. 3) Organization - Organizational coordination... it was a mess. Hobby projects were encouraged, and it became tough to understand what anyone was truly working on in some areas. If you care about knowing "what will I be working on in 6 months... What is the plan?" -- I wouldn't join. You have to be very comfortable with uncertainty in planning. There is very little strategic direction. 4) Work/Life Balance - In my area work/life balance was non-existent. Work at 3 am or 3 pm.... why not both. Elastic has a subliminal culture that supports this behavior despite HR's efforts to crow about work/life balance. The reality is that when you are surrounded by high performers... you feel an undercurrent of camaraderie, friendly competition, pretenders syndrome, and a tacit feeling of "pitch in my share" that drives you to act crazy with the hours you work. Stock options and Elastic's specific use of communications tools (yes, I am looking at you Slack) act to compound this notion. Those around you have the same challenges flowing in their veins and act in kind. This creates a culture of overwork that is hard to arrest the inertia on. Many managers at Elastic don't exert effort in trying (mine didn't particularly) as the output of this is individually rewarding for them (having a high performing area). The problem is that burnout is real here. It will become an increasing problem as this company matures. For what it's worth... I had every incentive to see my role at this company work out. I joined a high performing startup-transition after most of the initial risk, was a former customer, and deeply supported the software and open source. While I was there, I grew to love many of the people I worked with. Unlike other companies I have departed... I am remorseful for having to leave. However, I felt the cons above compounded to force me out.

      Continue reading
      95 people found this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Exceptionally caring, talented and diverse environment

      Jul 11, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in Mountain View, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I cannot speak highly enough of Elastic, there's so many great things about the company that it's hard to narrow down. It is really easy to talk to anyone in the company (even though we're spread in 30+ countries), it's easy to talk to even C-level executives and nobody acts more important than anyone else. There is a truly honest and open culture, which fosters a community of knowledge sharing and constant learning while striving to make sure that everything is done with top notch quality. No decision is ever made blindly and we always give the deepest detail on the thought process behind them. Because we can hire remote workers globally, we are able to access top notch talent no matter where they are located. This shows whenever you talk to someone about the products, they're always excited and passionate about them both in quality, extent of use cases, and that fact that we keep our core components open source. I know that everybody thinks their company is the greatest, but I honestly cannot find something that I don't love about Elastic and I hope that we're able to stay tight knit and true to our values as we continue to grow rapidly.

      Cons

      That I didn't find out about Elastic earlier... kidding! There's really not much I can think of to put here. There are certainly pros and cons of having a distributed first company, and while the pros may outweigh the cons you will often wake up to find notes or news from coworkers on the other side of the globe and there is a degree of delay in communication between time zones sometimes (personally, I'm excited to wake up and read what I missed overnight).

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Dynamic, challenging, and truly meaningful work

      Apr 4, 2017 - Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Working at Elastic has been a consistently rewarding experience: * Genuinely fascinating product use cases across every imaginable industry and organization: financial, technological, scientific, non-profit, educational, e-commerce, and many more for practically any organization one can name * Inspiring and positive vision for the future * Thought leadership in regards to hiring, diversity, transparency, and continuous improvement * A diverse, global, social, and truly fun team

      Cons

      Challenges of course do exist, as they do in any fast-growing company in a highly competitive market. The rate of growth and change is rapid and constant, and the company is racing to stay one step ahead. Expectations are high. Good teamwork, communication, and at times, patience and perseverance, are required. The open-source world is both open and chaotic, perhaps why also exciting and limitless.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great place to be solving problems

      Sep 1, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      excellent sales recruiter very supportive throughout my interviewing journey open source is the future passionate people and some of the smartest I’ve ever met meaningful work helping companies solve problems fantastic culture still has a start-up vibe

      Cons

      People are talking about the targets as completely unreachable. I don’t really have much to say for that yet. I’ll update in a few months

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Not a beginner anymore and happy!

      Sep 1, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Happy here and consider it an honor to work with companies of all shapes and sizes. There is lot of open communication and collaboration. Open source culture is great and lots of potential. Great people to work with and excellent work life balance.

      Cons

      Note that you need to be a little thick skinned to work here. Condescending remarks from within company, typical of how sales organizations are treated. But I expect more here and worthwhile to remind that we’re the team working to get money in the door. We’re at the front lines and it can be very stressful. We’re honest, hard-working folks too!

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great culture, cool tech !

      Apr 24, 2016 - Anonymous Employee in Mountain View, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      After a couple of months into this job I can confidently say that this is the best company I've worked for yet. Extremely positive vibe, leaderships is very passionate and a 100% transparent, Great people, fantastic culture. The tech is viral and the company is in hyper-growth phase. The open-core + commercial plugins model seems to be the best combination to make an open source business successful. If you're in the MV office, you get free lunch and the usual perks. 6% for 401k is a great benefit !

      Cons

      The company is in hyper growth mode, so grinding hard is inevitable. If you are not a self-starter, this might not be the best place for you. And of course the typical growth pains for any company in this phase.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 29 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Elastic Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Elastic? Share Your Experiences

    Elastic logo
    or