Ellucian Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Ellucian Reviews

Updated 11 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 580 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
65%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Ellucian CEO Laura Ipsen
Laura Ipsen
81 Ratings
  1. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Business Analyst 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ellucian full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Use of latest Technologies, Flexibility, Exposure to Client facing engagements

    Cons

    Lack of emphasis on Quality at times

    Ellucian2019-05-15
  2. "Right Direction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Software Developer in Reston, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ellucian full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The company is heading in the right direction. The CEO is the best the company has had in the last 13 years. There is significant investment in improving the software and services. The talent pool is good with a many years of experience in higher education as the company's sole focus. There is also a strong community of end users. The schedule is very flexible, at least for developers. You can work from home...

    Show More

    Cons

    Carrying around legacy software of a 30+ year old company. Supporting many different deployment configurations for on-premises clients. Higher Ed, in general, is slow to adopt new technology.

    Advice to Management

    Keep investing in product improvements. The SaaS offerings are the future of the company.

    Ellucian2019-05-12
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Overall is was terrible."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Applications Administrator in Lake Mary, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ellucian full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Decent pay Good benefits Good HR team

    Cons

    Was harassed mid meeting and he went basically unpunished. Was actually promoted recently after it. No HR rep in their Lake Mary office. Went through 3 managers while there. Interviewed for a completely different job than I ended up doing. Felt like management did not care about the employees at all.

    Advice to Management

    Treat your employees like people and not numbers.

    Ellucian2019-06-10
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Ellucian"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ellucian full-time

    Pros

    Flexibility to work from home. Good working conditions/facilities. Open to using new technologies. Products are selling very well and strong company outlook.

    Cons

    Dublin office very isolated from rest of company. Product roadmaps change frequently. Some departments are understaffed (seems to be changing slowly). Pay increases are modest and can be less than cost of living increases year on year.

    Ellucian2019-04-23
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Ok benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ellucian full-time

    Pros

    Can select benefits of choice

    Cons

    Benefits are expensive to use

    Advice to Management

    Get better deals on benefits please

    Ellucian2019-04-30
  6. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Ellucian

      Pros

      Technology is cutting edge. Office is brand new

      Cons

      Nothing I can think of. Pay maybe

      Ellucian2019-04-28
    • Helpful (1)

      "Great place to work for work/life balance!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Project Manager in Malvern, PA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Ellucian full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      Ellucian is a great place to work because the culture is one of empowering employees to do their best and go beyond their expectations. The ability to manage the schedule of a busy family with a rewarding career is priceless. The executive team and people leaders at Ellucian understand that employees are committed to their work as well as their family. There are opportunities for everyone to grow and learn.

      Cons

      Ellucian is a good size company (just over 3000 employees). It can be easy to get lost in the shuffle.

      Ellucian2019-04-23
    • Helpful (2)

      "Best employer I have worked for."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Senior Consultant in Orlando, FL
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Ellucian full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      I have been employed by Ellucian for 20 years in three different organizations, so I have a broad perspective. Over the years I have experienced many of the pros and cons other reviewers have mentioned. To be fair, I have worked at several other companies, large and small, and Ellucian is still the best employer I have worked for. The benefits and pay are at least comparable to, if not better than, other companies....

      Show More

      Cons

      Sometimes the workload is heavy, but it is not constant. There is not a consistent experience across organizations. I have found that the Technology Management/Managed Services organization seems to be somewhat disconnected from the rest of the company because those employees are located at a customer site, and it is difficult to feel connected to the company when university management is front and center.

      Advice to Management

      Invest in improving the quality and features of your existing products. This will help keep customers happy with their decision to invest in us. And invest in your people – turnover costs you more than you think.

      Ellucian2019-04-17
    • Helpful (1)

      "A Lot of Opportunity!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Solutions Consultant 
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Ellucian full-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      The Product Management team knows Higher Education and continues to produce solutions that are flexible, but solve real world problems. Almost everyone at the company is focused on helping institutions, and in turn students, succeed. There is a positive vibe across the entire organization because of the momentum the company sustains. Product knowledge inside a global organization allows you to take your career in different...

      Show More

      Cons

      The volume of work can make keeping a healthy work-life balance in place. Too much time on the road also makes staying in good health tough.

      Advice to Management

      Keep doing what you're doing, but maybe with a few more people.

      Ellucian2019-04-15
    • "Great Company to Work For"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Senior Solutions Consultant in Reston, VA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Ellucian full-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      Pace of Innovation; Solely Focused on Higher Education; Supports a health work/life balance for employees; Supports employees gaining new skillsets and exploring new positions within the company.

      Cons

      Cannot think of any cons at the moment.

      Advice to Management

      Kaizen is a Japanese business philosophy of continuous improvement of working practices, personal efficiency, etc. We can continue to lead the marketplace by keeping this concept at the forefront. Overall, I love working for Ellucian!!

      Ellucian2019-04-15
    Found 580 reviews