Ellucian Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated Dec 22, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 26 of over 886 reviews

4.0
81%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Ellucian President and CEO Laura Ipsen
Laura Ipsen
202 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work-Life Balance has kept me here(in 77 reviews)

  • "Great work life balance with work from home options available(in 53 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Perhaps needing to be diligent to achieve work/life balance when working from home(in 28 reviews)

  • "Just HQ upper management doesnt know the importance of remote offices(in 26 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "upper management"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Good Place

      Dec 22, 2020 - Cloud Transformation & Migration Manager in Charlotte, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I had a super manager

      Cons

      Upper management has a serious disconnect.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Gr8 Employer

      Nov 30, 2020 - Principal Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible environment to work with

      Cons

      Just HQ upper management doesnt know the importance of remote offices

      1 person found this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Current State

      Aug 5, 2020 - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      CEO is one of the best I've worked under: she truly cares about the employees, the customers, the industry.

      Cons

      Early '20 completed staffing the upper management tier with outside people. This team needs to ripen. And, in light of Covid, this will be a huge challenge. While the product works, it is very old and clunky. And, have yet to get their stories right with their multiple product lines even though the merger of the two companies happened 7 yrs ago. They are struggling to get into the Cloud; too many internal executive politics significantly slowing progress.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      Good place to work for

      Nov 2, 2019 - Senior Consultant in Malvern, PA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Lots of learning opportunities about working in the Higher Ed industry

      Cons

      Too many managers, upper management not stable, meaning lots of change in short periods

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    5. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Ok place to work.

      Oct 4, 2019 - Consultant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fun looking office Ability to learn an array of stacks Cool to travel

      Cons

      Work life balance doesn’t exist. Lack of diversity in upper management (No African American leaders)

      4 people found this review helpful
    6. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Great Place to Start a Career...

      Apr 8, 2018 - Principal Consultant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Ability to work remotely, competitive base salaries, good and fairly priced benefits, excellent lower level managers. Great place to start a career, gain experience for 3-5 years, then move on.

      Cons

      RIFs are a normal part of the company's financial strategy and creates an atmosphere of constant insecurity across all levels. Company tries to force the desired culture rather than creating an environment where it develops naturally. Constant changes in upper management lead to frequent changes in direction that make it very difficult to have a cohesive long-term strategy (Laura Ipsen is the 3rd CEO since the formation of Ellucian in 2012). Company constantly under-staffs project to overcome pricing objections in the sales cycle, then expect consultants assigned to the project to work long hours to make up for the shortfall in staffing. Decades old ERP technology that does not adapt easily to today's market requirements. Span of control for lower level managers is much too large for them to effectively manage their staff.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    7. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Good design team

      Nov 28, 2018 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Design team was very healthy and collaborative

      Cons

      Upper management (CEO's as well) cycled through a lot.

      1 person found this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      Ellucian never learns

      Feb 26, 2016 - Principal Architect in Fairfax, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Have some good products and great potential Pay was decent, not great Decent benefits

      Cons

      Lots of cons, unfortunately. I spent 10 years working for Ellucian and when I left I never received an exit interview. My manager never called to thank me for my years of service, in fact no one called me on my last day. No one explained the exiting process so I had to dig it out of HR. Management could care less when quality people leave. Very short sighted. It takes years to train technical people and Ellucian just lets them walk out the door. Policies and procedures are more important than people. I left for this reason. I also left for better pay (I received a 15% pay increase by leaving), better work environment, and a better company. Direct line managers are so swamped with other things that they never contact you but during evals they suddenly know everything about you. Upper management speaks the speak but doesn't walk the walk. They say we were doing great but our division was failing and no one would intervene. Sad experience but it paid the bills.

      Continue reading
      12 people found this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      A place to build a career

      Jun 7, 2014 - Network Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The company seems to genuinely try to take care of its employees, at least within Managed Services. Training and professional development seems to be a priority and those who are willing to work at it reap the benefits of that progress. I have been able to move up 3 times in 4 years.

      Cons

      Upper management seems to base success on unreasonable expectations. I approve of the idea of setting your goals high, but measuring success by whether you met those ridiculous goals de-values your employee's efforts and hurts morale. We're making money and seeing progress, so stop telling us we're not doing good enough.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great people and pay

      Jul 3, 2014 - Director in Fairfax, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Tremendous people and institutional customers are gracious with their time. Marketing team is strong, sales team is unreal. Strong, smart. Company pays extremely well and bonuses are generous. Most of executive team is smart, friendly and passionate about higher ed.

      Cons

      Some management very tough. Unnecessarily so. Morale is a bit low on some teams because of certain individuals. Upper management should keep a close eye on morale.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 26 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Ellucian Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Ellucian? Share Your Experiences

    Ellucian logo
    or