Elsevier Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Elsevier Reviews

Updated Nov 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
62%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Elsevier CEO Kumsal Bayazit
Kumsal Bayazit
53 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (3)

    "Nice workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Quality Engineer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Elsevier full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great culture, good benefits( pension up to 11% after 3y of work, around 20wks paid maternity leave, health insurance and many others) Good defined career path, lots of learning resources, budget for training/conferences Flexible working policies

    Cons

    - nothing so far

    Elsevier2019-07-02
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great work culture!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Editorial Assistant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Elsevier full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Been at Elsevier, London wall for nearly year now. Everyone is very friendly, relaxed work environment and you get to work from home. Really happy when where I am! No intention of leaving anytime soon! Great coffee as well in the office

    Cons

    We don’t get free snacks like some other offices

    Advice to Management

    N/A - very supportive

    Elsevier2019-08-01
  3. "Friendly family feel"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Editorial Assistant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Elsevier full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Family feel, opportunity for progression, flexi-time

    Cons

    Not very challenging, quite cliquey

    Elsevier2019-11-11
  4. "Develop experience to work somewhere else"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Business Development 

    I have been working at Elsevier full-time

    Pros

    Diverse company, good for developing experience

    Cons

    Salary not competitive, poor business development

    Elsevier2019-11-15
  5. "Great flexibility with working hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Journal Manager in Exeter, England

    I worked at Elsevier full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible working hours and kind/helpful people.

    Cons

    Old fashioned in their processes, slow moving and not great opportunity for progression.

    Elsevier2019-10-30
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Corrupt company avoid at all costs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Digital Marketing Analyst in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Elsevier full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good for development in tech enviroment. Theoretically about science.

    Cons

    Don't care if their employees die. Continued to report I was being paid to HMRC after I left costing 000's £ in extra tax Do not honour their contractual commitments. Avoid like the plague.

    Advice to Management

    Resign, your a bunch of crooks!

    Elsevier2019-11-03
  7. "Great opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Head of Content Strategy in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Elsevier full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good opportunities for promotion and relocation. Highly flexible. Good people.

    Cons

    Can be too highlight matrixed. Can be slow to get things done.

    Advice to Management

    Great company, but we could do so much more if we became more efficient.

    Elsevier2019-09-26
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great purpose, great people - signs of culture modernisation with new leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Prefer Not to Say in Oxford, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Elsevier full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Higher purpose: Not selling cans of coke or software - but supporting the advancement of science and health. In general a positive, open culture with 'no stupid questions'. Oxford is the centre of gravity for some activities, but with many other notable locations in London, Amsterdam, Philly.. but Elsevier is highly interconnected across geographies, so Oxford is connected globally. Many have managers in different... locations. Career development, training, diversity all becoming much more embedded and prominent. Smart people and in general a remarkably BS free environment. With a new CEO at the helm in 2019, the message of innovation and change seems to be trickling down and making an impact throughout the organisation

    Show More

    Cons

    Can be TOO concensus driven. What else? um...the Oxford canteen service sucks

    Advice to Management

    What you've been doing the last 12 months....Keep doing that.

    Elsevier2019-09-11
  9. Helpful (1)

    "good workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Editor in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Elsevier full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    flexible hours, good work atmosphere, casual dresscode

    Cons

    pay, big company, old technology

    Advice to Management

    raise salaries to retain talent

    Elsevier2019-09-09
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great people, great opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Trainer in Oxford, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Elsevier full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Excellent work environment, great benefits, great work life balance, great autonomy, lots of opportunities and openings

    Cons

    Manager approach to work life balance can vary greatly, awards and recognition can just go to same people, face-to-face interaction very minimal

    Advice to Management

    Interact more with all types of employees

    Elsevier2019-09-01
Found 856 reviews