Elsevier Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Elsevier Reviews

Updated 22 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
64%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Elsevier CEO Kumsal Bayazit
Kumsal Bayazit
72 Ratings
Pros
  • "There is so much flexibility with work/life balance that it makes it easy to come into work in the morning(in 124 reviews)

  • "Work/life balance and flexible work environments are hard to beat(in 67 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (3)

    "Nice workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Quality Engineer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Elsevier full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great culture, good benefits( pension up to 11% after 3y of work, around 20wks paid maternity leave, health insurance and many others) Good defined career path, lots of learning resources, budget for training/conferences Flexible working policies

    Cons

    - nothing so far

    Elsevier2019-07-02

    Elsevier Response

    July 16, 2019Elsevier Rep

    Thank you for your review.

    Continue reading
  2. "Good all round vibes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Manager in Oxford, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Elsevier full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work life balance True belief in the value company adds to science, research, healthcare and technology Employees are polite Great environment - ample space for parking, restaurant on site, free coffee, tea and fruits, wellness room and a gym. Diverse Well-known organization Career development in a global environment

    Cons

    Need to know how to communicate the value they add to customers. A lot needs doing when it comes to communication. Leadership communication needs improvement.

    Continue reading
    Elsevier2020-02-20

    Elsevier Response

    February 21, 2020Elsevier Rep

    Many thanks for leaving your review.

    Continue reading
  3. "The best company I have ever worked for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Oxford, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Elsevier full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Elsevier continually strive toward inclusivity for their employees. People are treated as equals and as adults. There is an obvious path to improving skills, improving networking amongst colleagues. There is a clear valuation on individuals and what they can bring to the company. Management are very hands-off, recognising that people work best within a relaxed and relatively stress-free environment. Yes, there is company politics, as with all companies of this size, but I don't find it toxic. Generally, whatever politics there are, are more focussed around competing ways of achieving end results. Career progression and performance measurement is as hands-off as management. It is up to the individual to be trusted to put in the effort to further themselves and to engage - nobody is going to hand-hold on this, or force you on the journey. That is up to you. Obviously there's limits - if you are not performing, you will be notified, but I can't recall having ever noticed this. Everyone I work with is focussed on doing the best work they can.

    Cons

    This is a tricky one - I haven't been at the company long enough to have formed a solid opinion. Elsevier is incredibly complex. The general consensus is that it takes at least a year to really onboard. There is a lot of passion, an immense amount of ideas and a huge amount of change. Perhaps the main problem is this difficulty to onboard - to understand the goals and challenges. I think the documentation, the plethora of microsites, wikis, outdated work guidelines and conflicting information is probably the biggest problem for all employees. I have found it necessary to 'blinker' myself to many aspects of the sheer volume of information thrown at me, simply to be able to perform in my role. I have to filter so much stuff out - the cognitive overload would be impossible to work with otherwise. Fortunately, this is recognised amongst colleagues, but it would be great if this could be magically simplified - I have no idea how though! :) This is a very old company which is modernising rapidly, but still suffers from some very outdated systems and data - and also one which is working toward changing a business model on quite a profound scale. The new CEO has been amazing in trying to direct this very difficult change. I guess one of the biggest cons with Elsevier, is the existing/old business model - it has been highly controversial in the past and still is to this day, but the company is taking that on board and trying to turn things around. This is going to take some time!

    Continue reading
    Elsevier2020-02-15

    Elsevier Response

    February 21, 2020Elsevier Rep

    Thanks very much for taking the time to leave your review. We are pleased to know that you see Elsevier as the best company that you have ever worked for and we hope you continue to thrive within our organization. We strive to be an organization where it’s safe to give and receive feedback because it allows for positive business results and engaged, productive, happy employees. You have raised great points about our onboarding process. We have shared your review with the onboarding team and they're currently looking at how they can simplify and streamline our onboarding process.

    Continue reading
  4. "Large company, very flexible for a great work-life balance!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Publisher in Oxford, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Elsevier full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Work-life balance is second-to-none, flexible with home-working on the whole HR and company at a high-level take mental health and mindfulness seriously A multitude of career choices, internal vacancies Tech help Opportunity to travel Private healthcare (at a very small cost) New CEO who is more "on our level" and willing to fight the good fight - very active on diversity (gender etc) Share save with RELX UK shares

    Cons

    Don't expect to earn a fortune

    Continue reading
    Elsevier2020-01-24

    Elsevier Response

    January 27, 2020Elsevier Rep

    Thanks for leaving your review. The true strength of our organization lies with our people and top talent deserves to be remunerated well. It's known that we offer a competitive salary and great benefits package . We also constantly evaluate and adjust our compensation policies following market rates.

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Cultural & Leadership Changes Required"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineering Leader in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Elsevier full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    * Very smart and interesting people to work with * Strong talent pipeline from universities * Progressive policies, strong female representation * New CEO has a ton of potential * Well known brand

    Cons

    * Engineering leadership underwhelms and underperforms, engineering teams struggle * Product organization and leadership is astonishingly ineffective and toxic * Ivory towers add friction and minimal practical value * Benefits are subpar

    Continue reading
    Elsevier2020-01-31

    Elsevier Response

    February 6, 2020Elsevier Rep

    Thank you for your review. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience of when you worked at Elsevier. Regarding the cons listed in your review, frankly, this is not the kind of employee experience that we want any of our former employees to have. We take your feedback seriously and our tech leadership teams are investigating and discussing how to improve things further should we find that the points raised here resonate with our current employees in the same role. We are glad that all our leadership teams in tech are committed and unified in striving to create a superior workplace culture where employees feel empowered and well-rewarded to do challenging and fulfilling work. Recognising the value of a happy and healthy workforce, we offer competitive benefits.

    Continue reading
  6. "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Elsevier full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Excellent working hours and flexible

    Cons

    Office in Oxford is outdated

    Elsevier2020-01-15

    Elsevier Response

    January 27, 2020Elsevier Rep

    Thank you for your review.

    Continue reading
  7. "Incompetent Product Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Senior Product Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Elsevier full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Global company; offices everywhere - Opportunities to attend academic conferences - Access to useful tools, such as DataSearch - Flexible working - Excellent IT contractors in India

    Cons

    - I had the most abusive micro manager, who was based in Amsterdam. I dreaded Monday morning 1-2-1s and any calls with him because he would spend 95% criticising everything I did. He once said that the reason he did that was because he believed that negative feedback was the only way to make someone improve. During product / design meetings in Oxford or London, he would be disruptive and instigate disagreement amongst the developers and designers, and it eventually created a toxic atmosphere. This was allowed to go on for years unchecked. - There are many 'open' initiatives at Elsevier, but, ultimately, they publish in order to make an obscene amount of money. They don't call it the 'evil empire' for nothing.

    Continue reading
    Elsevier2020-02-12

    Elsevier Response

    February 21, 2020Elsevier Rep

    We are disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your relationship with your product manager and that you did not find their feedback to be constructive when you were with us. Creating an inclusive and agile working environment for all our employees is a key operating principle of how we work at Elsevier. Delivering effective feedback, not negative feedback, is a critical foundation stone as it is only through effective feedback can we continue to evolve and grow our products to meet the needs of our customers. The Technology and Product Management teams are aligned in their ambition to create an environment where everyone can succeed. We have shared this review with the appropriate managers to ensure that we effectively support and develop our people to continue to hone their practice and skills.

    Continue reading
  8. "Large Publishing Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Distribution Specialist in Oxford, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Elsevier full-time

    Pros

    Local, worklife balance, compensation, environment, people

    Cons

    Job Security, declining staff members, prospects,

    Continue reading
    Elsevier2020-01-16

    Elsevier Response

    January 27, 2020Elsevier Rep

    Thank you for your review. Throughout our organization, our workforce of over has an average length of service of 9.2 years. At Elsevier, our people are our strength. Together, we continue to build a better working environment through our collective actions and by engaging with individual employees.

    Continue reading
  9. "Fast moving"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in London, England

    I have been working at Elsevier full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    International and fast Good sales meetings

    Cons

    Pressure on sales Above 50 hours a week

    Continue reading
    Elsevier2019-12-31

    Elsevier Response

    January 8, 2020Elsevier Rep

    Thank you for your review. All our employees are encouraged to take advantage of the benefit of our flexible and wellbeing initiatives at work. It's not standard practice at Elsevier to work above 50 hours. We don't confuse working above your contractually obligated number of hours per week with commitment or dedication. We encourage you to speak to your manager if you are working beyond the weekly standard working hours based on your time-sensitive activities or projects.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (1)

    "A few bad apples"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Elsevier full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good work life balance. Flexible working arrangements. Good with childcare planning.

    Cons

    Technology leadership is extremely control oriented. The continued turnover of staff who report directly to the cio is a testament to poor leadership. Having a ceo with high integrity does not help if thousands of people report to someone who doesn’t share these qualities. Nearly 12 months in, faith in the ceo is falling as the behaviours of her direct reports remain unchanged.

    Continue reading
    Elsevier2020-01-08

    Elsevier Response

    February 6, 2020Elsevier Rep

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are disappointed to hear that this is your perception. The Technology leadership teams are aligned in striving to create empowered and engaged teams in a great work environment. Overall, our tech employees, as well as these leadership teams globally, are unified in their efforts to continue to build an environment that is supportive and nurturing. Our squad model is one of the ways we bring this to life. We encourage you to partake in this by identifying other ways to further contribute to these efforts by speaking to your manager, HR Partner or if you prefer, contact us directly at elseviergdrev@elsevier.com to ensure that your views and thoughts for how we can improve the issues you raised are thoroughly addressed as we work on our team and organisational development plans for 2020.

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 897 reviews