Elsevier Reviews

Updated 6 Jul 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
60%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Elsevier CEO Kumsal Bayazit
Kumsal Bayazit
88 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    COVID-19
    Helpful (2)

    "Shouting from the rooftop - I love my employer"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Communications Manager in Oxford, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Elsevier full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Covid 19 support for employees, customers and partners is superb. Great understanding and empathy shown. Working from home was made easy. Free Headspace app provided to all employees, wellness - daily 20-min twice a day meditation sessions available to all staff and a free coronavirus information centre for everyone online. Great place to work during this pandemic period. No problems.

    Cons

    None right now, just loving the value the business provides.

    Continue reading

    Elsevier Response

    May 14, 2020Elsevier Rep

    Thank you very much for your review. To support the extraordinary efforts of the health and research communities combatting coronavirus, Elsevier created a range of free resources, including textbooks, evidence-based clinical guidance, and more than 20,000 research articles to read, download and data mine. This directory provides a complete overview of those resources: https://www.elsevier.com/novel-coronavirus-covid-19 See some of what we are doing to support our employees: https://www.elsevier.com/about/careers/supporting-employees-during-the-coronavirus-pandemic For candidates: https://www.elsevier.com/about/careers/supporting-candidates-during-the-coronavirus-pandemic

  2. COVID-19

    "Good Employer. Great Employees"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Manager in Oxford, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Elsevier full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Wellness and employee well-being. Flexi work Given paid day off for staff to relax during the epidemic Good benefits

    Cons

    Leadership external and internal communication could be better and nothing else from me.

    Continue reading

    Elsevier Response

    July 2, 2020Elsevier Rep

    Thank you for leaving your review.

  3. "Good people, some good tech, issues higher up"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Elsevier full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Great people, everyone is friendly and happy to help - you can learn a lot from the right people - Generally not too much pressure, there is trust in the engineering team - Office is nice, pastries every Monday, fruit every day - You do get chances to take ownership of your work - Very much flexible hours, freedom to wfh, compassionate when personal issues arise

    Cons

    - Career progression can be stifled by things outside your control, and management is not always transparent with what they're doing, how they're doing it, or why - It seems like the positive, more freestyle culture is ebbing away

  4. COVID-19

    "Overall good place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Systems Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Elsevier full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Superb work life balance. Excellent handling of the COVID. Great CEO.

    Cons

    Not enough talent in the engineering divisions. Widespread weak middle management. Lots of talking from senior leadership about engineering excellency not translated in hiring process.

    Continue reading

    Elsevier Response

    July 2, 2020Elsevier Rep

    Thank you for your review. Our leadership and employees in tech are continuously striving to create great teams. They are unified in their efforts to build an environment that recognises the important role played by each employee and their contributions.

  5. COVID-19
    Helpful (2)

    "When it comes to looking after employees, look no further"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Communications Manager in Oxford, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Elsevier full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Elsevier, under Kumsal's Bayazit's leadership, has redefined what it means to care for, and take care of employees. The compassion and recognition of our combined and individual efforts during the pandemic has been exemplary. From what I have heard from colleagues at other firms, Elsevier is a much nicer/kinder/more rewarding place to be!

    Cons

    There are occasional inefficient and slow systems. There are also bad managers and seemingly no easy way to reduce their impact on the staff for whom they are responsible. Generally speaking, however, Elsevier is a terrific employer and its care for employees has improved significantly over recent years to the point that it is now an example and a place where the grass really is greener!

    Continue reading

    Elsevier Response

    June 23, 2020Elsevier Rep

    Thank you very much for leaving your feedback.

  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great company to develop a long term career."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Oxford, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Elsevier full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Large company with high human and technical standards.

    Cons

    No cons found so far.

    Elsevier Response

    June 23, 2020Elsevier Rep

    Thank you. We appreciate the time taken to leave us your review.

  7. COVID-19
    Helpful (1)

    "Good people, flexible working, wellbeing and great environment"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Editor in Oxford, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Elsevier full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Elsevier as a well known global publishing company leads the way in publishing as well as supporting science, healthcare and research communities. They are trusted in the field so what we do as employees matter. Generally, the people are great. We can work from anywhere anytime. I like that wellness and wellbeing are taken seriously especially during this covid19 pandemic time. The benefits are good to compared to other publishing businesses in the UK. There’s ample opportunities to move around and develop.

    Cons

    This is a tough one. Sometimes, the leadership team needs to communicate powerfully about the values the business contributes externally.

    Continue reading

    Elsevier Response

    June 17, 2020Elsevier Rep

    Thank you for taking the time to leave your review.

  8. COVID-19
    Helpful (2)

    "Fantastic place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Project Manager in Oxford, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Elsevier full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Forward-thinking company that is making a real difference to the communities we serve. Great collaboration, innovation and training opportunities.

    Cons

    Honestly, I can't think of any negatives at this moment in time.

    Continue reading

    Elsevier Response

    June 17, 2020Elsevier Rep

    Thank you for your review.

  9. "Persistent issues with gender balance, needs stronger benefits"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Editorial 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Elsevier full-time

    Pros

    smart colleagues,, challenging work, global

    Cons

    Persistent issues with gender balance, needs stronger benefits

    Continue reading

    Elsevier Response

    July 2, 2020Elsevier Rep

    Thank you for your review. At Elsevier, we remain committed to promoting and enabling equal opportunity, regardless of gender, at every level in our organisation.

  10. Helpful (2)

    "Jon Review"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Exeter, England

    I have been working at Elsevier full-time

    Pros

    Benefits, flexible, good atmosphere, people focused

    Cons

    Corporate organisation, sometimes the top doesn't know the bottom

    Elsevier Response

    June 17, 2020Elsevier Rep

    Thank you for leaving your review.

Found 891 reviews