Elsevier "flexible work" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Elsevier Employee Reviews about "flexible work"

Updated 12 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
64%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Elsevier CEO Kumsal Bayazit
Kumsal Bayazit
73 Ratings
Pros
  • "There is so much flexibility with work/life balance that it makes it easy to come into work in the morning(in 123 reviews)

  • "Work/life balance and flexible work environments are hard to beat(in 67 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "flexible work"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (3)

    "Nice workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Quality Engineer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Elsevier full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great culture, good benefits( pension up to 11% after 3y of work, around 20wks paid maternity leave, health insurance and many others) Good defined career path, lots of learning resources, budget for training/conferences Flexible working policies

    Cons

    - nothing so far

    Elsevier2019-07-02

    Elsevier Response

    July 16, 2019Elsevier Rep

    Thank you for your review.

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (15)

    "Stable business, great business models, won't go burst and good pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Lead in Oxford, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Elsevier full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Profitable business Forward thinking and innovative Pay is good and colleagues are great Flexible working

    Cons

    Silos are about Too many approval points before decisions are made

    Continue reading
    Elsevier2018-07-31

    Elsevier Response

    August 1, 2018Elsevier Rep

    Thanks for your review.

    Continue reading
  3. "Incompetent Product Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Senior Product Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Elsevier full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Global company; offices everywhere - Opportunities to attend academic conferences - Access to useful tools, such as DataSearch - Flexible working - Excellent IT contractors in India

    Cons

    - I had the most abusive micro manager, who was based in Amsterdam. I dreaded Monday morning 1-2-1s and any calls with him because he would spend 95% criticising everything I did. He once said that the reason he did that was because he believed that negative feedback was the only way to make someone improve. During product / design meetings in Oxford or London, he would be disruptive and instigate disagreement amongst the developers and designers, and it eventually created a toxic atmosphere. This was allowed to go on for years unchecked. - There are many 'open' initiatives at Elsevier, but, ultimately, they publish in order to make an obscene amount of money. They don't call it the 'evil empire' for nothing.

    Continue reading
    Elsevier2020-02-12

    Elsevier Response

    February 21, 2020Elsevier Rep

    We are disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your relationship with your product manager and that you did not find their feedback to be constructive when you were with us. Creating an inclusive and agile working environment for all our employees is a key operating principle of how we work at Elsevier. Delivering effective feedback, not negative feedback, is a critical foundation stone as it is only through effective feedback can we continue to evolve and grow our products to meet the needs of our customers. The Technology and Product Management teams are aligned in their ambition to create an environment where everyone can succeed. We have shared this review with the appropriate managers to ensure that we effectively support and develop our people to continue to hone their practice and skills.

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (1)

    "A few bad apples"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Elsevier full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good work life balance. Flexible working arrangements. Good with childcare planning.

    Cons

    Technology leadership is extremely control oriented. The continued turnover of staff who report directly to the cio is a testament to poor leadership. Having a ceo with high integrity does not help if thousands of people report to someone who doesn’t share these qualities. Nearly 12 months in, faith in the ceo is falling as the behaviours of her direct reports remain unchanged.

    Continue reading
    Elsevier2020-01-08

    Elsevier Response

    February 6, 2020Elsevier Rep

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are disappointed to hear that this is your perception. The Technology leadership teams are aligned in striving to create empowered and engaged teams in a great work environment. Overall, our tech employees, as well as these leadership teams globally, are unified in their efforts to continue to build an environment that is supportive and nurturing. Our squad model is one of the ways we bring this to life. We encourage you to partake in this by identifying other ways to further contribute to these efforts by speaking to your manager, HR Partner or if you prefer, contact us directly at elseviergdrev@elsevier.com to ensure that your views and thoughts for how we can improve the issues you raised are thoroughly addressed as we work on our team and organisational development plans for 2020.

    Continue reading
  5. "An interesting place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Publisher 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Elsevier full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work is challenging, varied and highly autonomous. Opportunities available for those who seek them. Collaborative and supportive atmosphere. Great colleagues. Sensible work/life balance, flexible working arrangements. Salary is competitive for the role. Sense that managers are genuinely interested in improving workplace, and that steps are taken to respond to employee concerns. Nice office environment.

    Cons

    Admin burden often excessive, and support systems too rigid.

    Elsevier2019-11-21

    Elsevier Response

    December 4, 2019Elsevier Rep

    Thank you for leaving your review.

    Continue reading
  6. "Great flexibility with working hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Journal Manager in Exeter, England

    I worked at Elsevier full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible working hours and kind/helpful people.

    Cons

    Old fashioned in their processes, slow moving and not great opportunity for progression.

    Elsevier2019-10-30

    Elsevier Response

    November 14, 2019Elsevier Rep

    Thank you for your review.

    Continue reading
  7. "A progressive, energised and supportive company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Publisher in Oxford, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Elsevier full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Fantastic research facilities to support publishers Good working environment and flexible working policies

    Cons

    HR are very slow to respond and salaries are extremely variable

    Elsevier2019-07-26

    Elsevier Response

    August 9, 2019Elsevier Rep

    Thanks for your review. We have passed your comment to our HR team. They are always working and improving their processes to meet the demands of their business partners. Elsevier is known for offering a competitive salary and great benefits package.

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (5)

    "Associate IT Graduate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Graduate Associate in Oxford, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Elsevier full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great pay progression on the graduate scheme (£26k --> £40k after two years) Flexible working encouraged (working from home/hot desking).

    Cons

    Not much guidance from management (might have just been my experience, but I was left to my own devices more than expected for a new graduate in a PM role).

    Continue reading
    Elsevier2019-03-20

    Elsevier Response

    March 26, 2019Elsevier Rep

    Thank you for your review. Regarding our tech graduate program, we are constantly working to improve it for our graduate employees and will definitely look into the area you mentioned in your review. There are many teams and managers in our tech organization, so we encourage all our employees to speak up if they think anything affects their work or experience here. If you prefer, contact us anonymously via elseviergdrev@elsevier.com Again, thank you for your review.

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Low pay, poor reward system, big workloads"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Editor, the Lancet in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Elsevier part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible working, central London location

    Cons

    For anyone wishing to be part of the Lancet group, be advised that salaries are incredibly low in comparison to competitor journals, and does not look likely that they will change any time soon. Annual pay review scores are below rates of inflation so you will be effectively taking a pay cut. Huge workloads and tight timelines only compounded by Elsevier's increasing pressures for the Lancet group to exapnd.

    Continue reading
    Elsevier2019-02-18

    Elsevier Response

    March 12, 2019Elsevier Rep

    Thank you for your review. Sorry to hear about your experience. Most of our employees enjoy working at Elsevier and they actively partake in initiatives that will continue to make Elsevier a great place to work. Globally, our employees, their leadership teams supported by HR are increasingly unified in further ramping up efforts to build a working environment that is supportive, nurturing and inclusive. Your review will be shared with them. All our employees are empowered to speak up if they are unhappy with any aspect of their work. If you prefer, contact us anonymously via elseviergdrev@elsevier.com Again, thank you for your review.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (16)

    "Dynamic transformative company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Various in Oxford, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Elsevier full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Elsevier is a company with a long pedigree from traditional publisher to forward-thinking innovative data analytics and solutions provider - there's always something new and exciting taking place; The company makes a really positive difference to the markets we serve: new products, services and published content which drives innovation and change in so many sectors worldwide; As an employee there are many positive benefits available: good training and career progression opportunities; on-site gym and dining; genuine support for diversity and inclusion; endless charitable events and support for those less well off; a Green Team to reduce our carbon footprint; flexible working arrangements are supported; we even harvest our own honey!

    Cons

    Being very large, diverse, international and progressive, the amount of internal change, information and organisation can be a little overwhelming at times - finding the right people and information to do your job can be challenging but teaches you to think laterally and reach out to colleagues who are largely supportive and helpful.

    Continue reading
    Elsevier2018-09-18

    Elsevier Response

    October 2, 2018Elsevier Rep

    Thank you for taking the time to leave your review and thank you for your contributions to Elsevier.

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 67 reviews