1. "Could be better"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bartender in Newcastle upon Tyne, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Make decent friends, have a good laugh

    Cons

    Pay is awful, there is no work life balance. Expecting to drop everything for them. 90+ hours a week, no progression no matter how long or hard you work,

    Continue reading

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    May 30, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Sorry to hear you did not have a great experience. There are some points you have raised which we would like to look into further. Please get in touch by contacting us @ PersonnelAdvisors@jdwetherspoon.co.uk

  1. Helpful (8)

    "Business Manager"

    3.0
     

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon

    Pros

    Great work and co-workers. Challenging, but satisfying way to grow professionally . This job will stretch you! I enjoy the work but wait for the cons.

    Cons

    Management lack of people skills. Although good business acumen, management treats employees like crap. No coaching skills at all.. many have moved on because of treatment.

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (6)

    "Horrendous"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Team Leader in Wakefield, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon for more than a year

    Pros

    Gained friendships. Money off food on shift. You're always busy..

    Cons

    Zero hours contract so one week I could earn an amazing amount and the next be so broke I can't afford transport to and from work. Taxis as I did a lot of late shifts. Management allow bullying to take place. Management are supposed to back you up if someone is drunk or rude etc.. but in my experience they haven't done this at all. Promised the world promotion wise and they gave someone else the job that was lined up for me. Made me do kitchen training when it wasn't needed or even noted down. Expect to be spoken to like rubbish from customers, staff members and management. Very long shifts if staff decide to not turn up or get drunk the night before (this happens ALOT)

    Continue reading

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    April 18, 2016Recruitment & Training Systems Manager

    Thank you for your comments, we will pass your all of them on for further discussion and investigation. Just to pick up on your feedback around hours, we do not work with zero hour contracts at all as a company, we agree a minimum guaranteed hours when we employ to minimise the fluctuation in hours.

Discover more reviews about J D Wetherspoon.