English Ninjas Reviews

Updated Jun 18, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 58 of over 73 reviews

2.8
50%
Recommend to a Friend
Pros
  • "Students are great, very nice and polite, I never had a problem(in 9 reviews)

  • "Good company, they care for the tutors, you can work your own hours(in 9 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "English Ninjas tell you that there are "lots of students" who will see you when you're online and they will connect to you(in 9 reviews)

  • "Tutors don’t get paid the same amount(in 9 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    The latest conversations about Teachers

    Join the conversation on

    Teachers

    1y

    a 

    West Virginia Elementary School Teacher

    Who is taking the COVID-19 Shot? Do you think all teachers should?

    2,892

    960 Comments

    Teachers

    168.1K Members 

    Ask candid career questions

    -1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/teachers/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.co.uk&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Industry-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=English Ninjas~1866177
    Join the conversation on
    1. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Very low pay and respect for tutors. DO not work here.

      Jun 9, 2020 - Tutor 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You can set your own hours

      Cons

      They implemented a massive pay-cut (from 10 dollars to 7 dollars) with no warning whatsoever to every tutor. Lessons could be cancelled or students could not show up and you would receive no compensation. They removed the messaging service a week or 2 before the pay cut. I believe they did this so tutors could not tell students why they were leaving. No benefits or recognition for good performance. No explanation for pay cut. I believe this was just a way to increase profits with zero regard for tutors or students. It is far below the living wage in Europe and the USA so I'm sure many experienced and professional tutors were forced to leave. I also believe many of the reviews left on this site have been left by staff members to boost the ratings.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    2. 2.0
      Current Employee

      Mixed

      Jun 4, 2022 - Online ESL Tutor 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great students, and flexibility of scheduling

      Cons

      Since the total meltdown bookings are down 80%. May's salary was 82$

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      worst esl company to work for

      Jun 18, 2022 - English Tutor 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There are no benefits in working for this company.

      Cons

      There are no students on th platform. You get students once in a blue moon and sometimes get flashed by nasty students. It is horrific.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Mediocre

      Oct 22, 2021 - English Tutor 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Meet great students and you always get bookings.

      Cons

      Not much support as the tutor. They care more about students than the tutors. Unfair attendance policy.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Salary

      Sep 4, 2021 - ESL Teacher in Turkey, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Nice respectful students,flexible schedule. Great teaching hours

      Cons

      They pay you very late

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      It Doesn't Feel Like Work

      Jun 29, 2021 - English Teacher 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The most kind, warm, polite students, many of whom are very well-educated. Such kind support staff. Room for plenty creativity as I like doing my own worksheets. I love my work so much, I never get tired.

      Cons

      Pay is the only downside.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Good company to work for

      Jun 21, 2021 - Tutor in Istanbul
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Go online whenever you want.

      Cons

      Lower pay but suitable if you're looking for something part-time.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Flexible company

      May 27, 2021 - English Teacher in Iloilo
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible hours. Can work at any time you choose.

      Cons

      Fixed salary. You won't get an increase over time.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Wonderful Students

      May 15, 2021 - Online ESL Teacher 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Students are lovely and very respectful.

      Cons

      Salary is very low and the teaching platform is not very interactive

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Don't waste your time

      May 28, 2021 - Online English Teacher in Durban
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Students are generally great and willing to engage and make the most of the time that you have with them. There's no structure to the lessons so it's up to you to decide what to do with students - which is great. Initial lessons are simple a "get to know you" conversation, and later lessons, students are looking for more - like grammar, vocabulary, interview skills, etc - and this put extra load on you as a teacher. You are NOT paid for any preparation time outside of the actual lessons. Generally, teaching is a good experience.

      Cons

      The teaching platform is simple pathetic! Really badly designed, and poorly designed. The support staff are useless and incapable of actually dealing with any issues. I questioned why I had received a penalty - and my contract was terminated. (and yes, I'm pissed off with English Ninja) When you're online and waiting for students you don't know if you're visible to the students or not. There's no facility to find out more about a student before you teach them for the first time - like what they do, how old they are, where they live...etc - you have to email English Ninja Tutor Operations Team (ENTOT) to get information about students.... really - this is daft! It's the first time I've not had access to info about students before I teach them. And finally, the pay is pathetically low - $6 an hour - BUT - you're seldom paid for a full hour as you complete your schedule of time when you'll be available, then students book a lesson with you. Most students book 10, 20 or 30 minute sessions - so it's not unusual to schedule 5 hour of available time but to then only get paid for 3. English Ninjas tell you that there are "lots of students" who will see you when you're online and they will connect to you. This is BS - it happens about 10% of the time that I was online - and I was a highly rated teacher (4.96 out of a possible 5)!

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful