Equal Experts Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Equal Experts Reviews

Updated 20 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.9
96%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Equal Experts Co-CEO  Thomas Granier
Thomas Granier
36 Ratings
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Quality Analyst in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Equal Experts full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Opportunity to implement latest technologies - Very open and flexible work culture - Amazing place to learn and grow in your career - Lot of importance is given to employee welfare - Flat hierarchy and open communication

    Cons

    Nothing too major to point out

    Equal Experts2019-08-14
  2. "Company where employees are cared for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Equal Experts full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work life balance Flexible Timings WFH No Hierarchy Flat Management Free Breakfast and Snacks

    Cons

    Nothing that I know of

    Equal Experts2019-08-07
  3. "An amazing place to deliver value"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Developer in Cape Town
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Equal Experts full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Everyone is focused on delivering value to customers and we use our values, not some old hierarchy to make decisions. The company deeply cares about being transparent and trusting the people that work there.

    Cons

    It is consulting, customers wouldn't bring us in if they could do it themselves so we get exposed to the bad culture and politics at the customers.

    Equal Experts2019-05-15
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Really Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Delivery Project Lead in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Equal Experts full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Great work opportunities - Open and transparent company with great support from leadership - Interesting and varied work

    Cons

    - Distributed teams can be challenging at times

    Equal Experts2019-04-24
  5. Helpful (16)

    "Better than the other worst service companies in Pune"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Pune
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Equal Experts full-time

    Pros

    * A company which offer opportunities for upskilling. * Strong technical community internally (worldwide) which does not hesitate to extend help and also fail fast. * Strong global leadership. * EE values are strongly followed internationally. * Flexi working hours * Very regular knowledge sharing sessions * Focus is changing to have local clients than depending on UK clients.

    Cons

    * Being open policy is good. However, it started creating negative impression when the decision is "Case-To-Case" basis. It does not give clear idea on how few places works. * Currently no good technically challenging projects. * Management believes everything is awesome. However ground reality is different. * Good old resources (who were pioneer in building EE in Pune) left and few were not even treated fairly. * A pseudo face of the management looking at the company. * New members are trusted more than old members. * Foreigners are preferred over in-house talent. * Cannot make use of experienced resource for the benefit of project and also company. * Cannot manage experienced resource without liability. * Unable to handle the growth (in numbers) * Few of the projects are screwed by the management rather than client (Having more managers and less developers will create more mess anyways) * Not much onsite opportunities. * Creating Sand Palace for high profile clients.

    Continue reading
    Equal Experts2019-03-27
  6. Helpful (13)

    "People management needs to improve"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Pune
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Equal Experts full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The global EE network is amazing. A lot of learning if you get to work with people from that network. Many good focused slack groups for a wide variety of topics ranging from delivery, technology, devops, security etc.

    Cons

    A lot of the good people from Pune office have moved out in a couple of years and the new ones that have joined are nowhere close even if they're experienced. EE Pune is heavily under staffed and the management is still happily signing up for new work and team expansion on existing projects. This leading to a lot of issues like no one to work on new inititatives like upskilling, R&D etc. Also, the earlier good things like bootcamps for new joiners are not happening more. It is also leading to cutting some corners in the recruitment process. Due to some project demands, enough thought is not being put into team composition. Some projects have all the senior and experienced people whereas a lot of projects are composed of mostly new joiners. This causes a lot of trouble in delivery as the new joiners are not familiar to EE ways of doing things. The management is decoupled from what is happening on the projects and can lead to making decisions which are not beneficial for some of the projects.

    Continue reading
    Equal Experts2019-02-02

    Equal Experts Response

    March 20, 2019Director, Equal Experts India

    Firstly, I would like to thank you for taking the effort in providing us with the feedback. I feel sad to hear about your experience and also disappointed that we let down because a few internal initiatives like R&D didn’t work out as per plan. We are going through an exciting growth phase. That however is bringing its own set of challenges. We fully appreciate that we’ll only be able to scale gracefully if we can have critical mass of mature people who will own and enable this growth. As always, we are focused on quality hiring and also training internal people to give them the skills to make this happen. True to our values, we are continuously learning and improving. Your feedback has already proved valuable as it triggered useful open conversations internally and I’d like to thank you once again. If you would like to help us do better next time please approach in person or share your thoughts via feedback at equalexperts dot com. - Ashish Jagtap

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (5)

    "No more a must place to work at"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Pune
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Equal Experts full-time

    Pros

    Some of the best minds at work. On an avg, you will find people who are technically strong and easy to work with. Exceptions will always be there but overall a good bunch of people. Decent projects to work on. Good work life balance. People are expected to be responsible and mature and to honor the freedom and works well with the overall values. EE UK takes efforts to publish policies and review progress of each business unit. Transparency is looked at seriously at the global level. Admin staff is helpful.

    Cons

    We are seeing on loosing out good people over the past couple of years and dont see any action taken over it. People managers seem helpful and they have everything on the "agenda" but nothing EVER gets done, even a year down the line you will get same replies. No travelling opportunities, its just gone on a decline over the past couple of years We should adhere more to the EE global values of Transparency, no bias, no ego policy but that somehow isnt seen at the top management level. For eg. they made changes to the PF policy even without informing the employees from April last year. On top of that, voicing concerns is taken personally.

    Continue reading
    Equal Experts2019-02-03

    Equal Experts Response

    March 20, 2019Director, Equal Experts India

    Firstly, I would like to thank you for taking the effort in providing us with the feedback. What you describe is certainly not consistent with our values. I empathise with you and can imagine how frustrated you might have felt. You’ve described a situation where you’ve felt that people management is helpful but they are not getting things done. That is valuable feedback as it has already helped us in having internal review of all the open items with the team with a view of removing blockers and correcting these kinds of situations. I can understand how some of the actions or inactions in Equal Experts have affected you. I am committed to make EE a place that delivers value not just for our clients but also to our people. I’d like to thank you once again for your feedback and also encourage you to have open discussions with myself or the management team to help improve the situation together - Ashish Jagtap

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (2)

    "A great place to work!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Pune
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Equal Experts full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Good people both in tech and in support team - Exposure to many areas of software development - frontend, backend, devOps (of course, if you are interested to learn) - Overall good technology stack in almost all the projects - Company philosophy and values are really good and few people are true to them - Lot to learn from the people around, not just about tech but a lot of other helpful things in life - Most of the people don't care about their roles and eager to learn, share. So, you can spend a lot of time here, working with code instead of trying to climb the ladder of designations.

    Cons

    - Sudden growth is causing a real damage to the core culture of the company - Sometimes unnecessary importance is given to policies like WFH and that makes the new joiners question whether it's really a company of grown ups. No one misuses it, even if someone does, handle that specific case, don't make policies around it. It's not an incentive. - Compromises on practices like TDD, enough test coverage (its not just a number, its an important number) - Slow decisions by people team - Grey areas in some of the policies. Only when you ask, you will get the answer (sometimes its not helpful to the employee)

    Continue reading
    Equal Experts2019-02-04
  9. Helpful (9)

    "Senior Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Pune
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Equal Experts full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Lot of opportunities to learn new technologies. Provides flexibility to choose technologies. All the people are easily accessible and share a lot with the new members. Mentoring is there but not formal. Flexible work hours and work from home. EE UK network is great and lot of expertise.

    Cons

    Company and projects moving away from the values they preach and publish. People are forced to ignore quality for timelines agreed without discussion with the teams. India operations merely looking to get billable people instead of quality. HR policies are at whim's of few people and change overnight. Appraisals are delayed just a way of retention. Recent focus of local clients is leading to same environment as any other Indian service companies. No real onsite opportunities. Management has created there own ivory tower and is not aware of ground level reality. Just the name is Equal Expert but employees are not treated equally.

    Continue reading
    Equal Experts2019-01-26
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Join to become an expert in XP practices"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Pune
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Equal Experts full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    1. XP and Agile practices are actually followed and not just paid lip service. 2. Flexible hours and WFH allowed 3. Generous profit sharing. 4. Free evening snacks. 5. Flat organisational structure and open culture

    Cons

    1. Onsite opportunities are drying up. 2. Even though it's a software consultancy, actual client consultation is uneven across the projects. 3. The office is very nice inside, but the IT park (cerebrum) is poorly maintained.

    Continue reading
    Equal Experts2018-10-02

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 37 reviews