Equal Experts "ee" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Equal Experts Employee Reviews about "ee"

Updated 20 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.6
95%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Equal Experts Co-CEO  Thomas Granier
Thomas Granier
103 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "They paid a bit less than some of the other consultancies engaged with the client but this is a minor grumble since the EE day rate is decent(in 29 reviews)

  • "Slight growing pains as the company has become more successful and has opened new offices around the world(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "ee"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (5)

    "Great place to be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Developer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Equal Experts full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    If you're a pragmatic contractor that loves crafting software then this is a fine organisation to be involved with. My experience has been overwhelmingly positive - I was placed at a client with other EE people and felt valued and respected from day one. EE take care to ensure you're delivering value to clients, not just a bum on a seat, and this really shows. The interview process at EE sets the bar higher than most and you can tell in the calibre of people they hire - not just in technical know-how but in general attitude and professionalism. The EE network is a wonderful thing and long may it continue to grow!

    Cons

    They paid a bit less than some of the other consultancies engaged with the client but this is a minor grumble since the EE day rate is decent.

    Continue reading
    Equal Experts2019-05-11
  2. "A consultancy model that is better for clients & people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Freelancer - Delivery Lead in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Equal Experts for more than 3 years

    Pros

    As a freelance delivery lead, working through Equal Experts means that I know I'll be working with a team of brilliant people. The quality of developers, DLs, UXers etc is amazing really, and it makes the job so much easier and enjoyable. Another reason I operate freelance is to minimise all of the bs that goes along with permanent roles and/or big companies. EE treat people like grown ups, minimising pointless admin and hierarchy, everyone just wants to deliver something useful at the end of the day. They are winning lots of work up and growing fast, so loads of opportunities.

    Cons

    You lose a bit of flexibility obviously, working through EE compared to truly freelance / contract. More than made up for by the pro's however. Coming to the end of a piece of work, it can be trickier, as you have to juggle looking for work yourself vs trying to see if you can roll on to something new that EE might have starting up.

    Continue reading
    Equal Experts2019-11-22
  3. "EE isn't the organisation it makes itself out to be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Equal Experts full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    EE offers good flexible working, great salaries and interesting projects.

    Cons

    EE talks about being built on values, but that is all it is - talk. Transparency is not present despite it being marketed as a key value in the organisations success. In reality, there is backstabbing, lies, favoritism and a low moral. HR doesn't look out for employees, instead, it breeds distrust between teams and people. EE looks like a shiny new toy on the outside, but on the inside its falling apart at the seams.

    Continue reading
    Equal Experts2020-02-20
  4. "Good firm to work with full of like minded technology consultants"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Current Freelancer - Consultant Software Engineer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Equal Experts for more than a year

    Pros

    Working with like minded consultants with very strong technology skills Opportunities to socialise within the network through EE events Freedom to source engagements through the network when/as required High value (technology wise) engagements with excellent degree of autonomy. Good dealings with EE people managers when selecting new projects

    Cons

    Ability to select projects for consultants could be made more open as this (in my experience) is appears to be managed tightly by EE people/engagement mangers.

    Continue reading
    Equal Experts2019-08-05
  5. "Some organisations are different."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Devops in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Equal Experts for more than 5 years

    Pros

    * Company of adults * People know their stuff * Opportunities for work * Great people and network * I get to work with people from all over the world A++

    Cons

    * Rate review process often leaves people with a bad taste. I understand why companies are secretive around rates, squeeze people to increase profit etc. It's just that having a closed policy creates unease and competition between people and I can think of several great engineers whom we've lost due to the overall process. I don't mean due to lack of money either, mainly frustration and feeling undervalued. Not everyone is a thick skinned haggler. If your business model is people then treat them right. Publish the rates you are willing to pay. * I understand it can be hard to get people but sometimes people new to EE can be put in the wrong roles which can cause issues. It's better to wait for the right people if it's possible. * If work for a client it coming to an end sometimes you are left in limbo * The new office. It's not got the cool factor of euston road. Very practical though, like a corridor.

    Continue reading
    Equal Experts2019-06-24
  6. "Glad to be associated with Equal Experts"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Software Tester in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Equal Experts for more than a year

    Pros

    I have met some great consultants here who stand out not only at a technical and professional level but also at a personal level. In my view EE’s strength is its people. I like the idea of EE’s networking model. EE has made it easier to meet and collaborate with consultants working on various EE projects. So there is a platform to learn how different teams solve similar problems. And also to get feedback on the problems we try to solve from a wider community. This makes for a great learning experience. EE as an organisation has been fantastic as well. Transition between projects has been always smooth, thanks to the People Manager team. Each engagement has an Engagement Manager to discuss any client specific concerns. The founders are super transparent about what’s going on in the organisations and the executives are very accessible to provide any feedback.

    Cons

    When I interviewed for EE in 2016, the duration of the interview process was longer. But since then I understand EE has been working on improving the interview process and on-boarding experience. So I am assuming this process should have gotten better by now.

    Equal Experts2019-06-07
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great place for "grown-ups""

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Equal Experts full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Interesting and challenging projects, encourages a great work-life balance (depending a bit on the individual client's working practices), some really good people who are highly skilled and in the most part humble and open to ideas. Lots of autonomy to make decisions, try things

    Cons

    As others have commented, going through growing pains as the original lightweight processes and org structures are being scaled. But generally this is being done in a sensitive and mature way, and for the right reasons. Recent changes to strengthen the Exec team are starting to work well. Some projects struggle to apply the EE cultural values, often due in a large part to politics within the client's team. Occasionally leads/EMs struggle to manage this type of client, but ultimately people get paid well to deal with these challenges. Permanent and contract staff are given a lot of autonomy, and in general the recruitment process selects great people ("grown-ups") who can make the most of this responsibility. If you can't, go somewhere else.

    Continue reading
    Equal Experts2019-01-23
  8. "Great work, great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Front End Developer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Equal Experts for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I've spent 5 years working at EE and found the people to be some of the best I've ever worked with. It's the classic sort of business where the attitude and culture comes from the top down: the two owners are fantastic, have created a team of excellent staff around them, and built a network of some of the best technical minds in the industry. There are so many social events and parties to attend, and many opportunities to see all of the team - and you'll want to as they're such a good laugh. As a developer on projects you get the autonomy you want to be able to make technical decisions, so there's always something interesting. The projects I've worked on have all been high-profile. exciting, and rewarding, and you'll be placed as part of an EE team, so have other like-minded people to bounce ideas off.

    Cons

    Honestly, I haven't experienced any negatives. I approached EE while working there and asked for help with a personal development project, and they had no hesitation in helping. This is the sort of people they are.

    Continue reading
    Equal Experts2018-03-29
  9. Helpful (1)

    "More Like an Agency than a Consultancy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Consultant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Equal Experts for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There is no doubting that the developers at EE are amongst the best in the industry, it is very easy to work with them and they deliver the goods. The other roles such as BAs and Delivery Managers are a bit more hit and miss half of them are good the others, well….. not so much. I think the strength of EE’s developers lie in the recruitment process which is reasonably difficult and has high standards of a certain engineering approach. I always felt EE is more of an agency than a consultancy and working directly with the agency as a contractor means you don’t need to worry about attending interviews for the different projects you will work on. The vast majority of people I worked with were genuinely nice, highly intelligent people who would never dream of forcing their opinions down your throat, however….

    Cons

    EE as an organisation wears it’s politics on it’s sleeve, those politics are definitely in the liberal ideology. When I first started it didn’t bother me too much, being London based you expect a certain amount of postmodernism thinking liberal elites. Even though these people are a minority within EE you will inevitably end up working on projects with one or more of them. Given they are aligned with the company’s world view they are very confident in their opinions and they will share them with you on a regular basis whether you want them to or not. Towards the end of my time with the company this ideology was being more assertively influenced. They have company wide Slack channels on diversity that are predominantly contributed to by a select group with dogmatic victimisation thinking. Unfortunately a significant percentage of partners are in this group and have heavy influence within the company. A recurring thread was talk of how the patriarchy was holding the women at EE back by oppressing them. In a society where our head of state is female as is our head of government it’s easy to see how valid this talk of a patriarchy is. The other group contributing to this is the emasculated and cuckolded men, they crow about how bad wimmin have it and how awful other white males are, they themselves of course are superior as their virtue signalling is so loud they have convinced themselves as much. If your personal politics are not in line with these people it is best not to contribute to the discussion, you will be attacked merely for having a different opinion. You can’t have any form of sensible debate with pseudo intellectuals who are convinced they are right as they have read Guardian articles and therefore are well informed, if you don’t agree with them then you are a cis gender waycist. As EE’s model is to hire mostly contractors it beggars belief that some of them contribute to this orgy of zealotry to chime in about just how awful capitalism is. Any actual discussion of diversity is quickly overwhelmed by a barrage of comments inferring the world's problems lie at the feet of white males. I got to the point of being sickened by the arrogance of this extremely privileged highly paid group of individuals attacking white males for their privilege. The idea that the company's recruitment policy should be based on merit alone is preposterous to them. Most of EE’s turnover is within the public sector, as such the rates they charged me out to their clients was available. I discovered I was being paid around 60% of the rate they were billing me at. Ah, but EE is a consultancy and not an agency, therefore that’s normal. Well, if you’re thinking of joining EE I’ll let you decide if you think that’s reasonable an agent should take 40% of your earnings.

    Continue reading
    Equal Experts2018-02-10

    Equal Experts Response

    March 12, 2018

    Thank you for your review - I appreciate the feedback, particularly as you spent many years in the Equal Experts network. It is great to hear that the vast majority of people you worked with are “genuinely nice, highly intelligent” people. However, it does sound like we as an organisation let you down if you felt you could not raise those concerns and be heard during the three years you worked with us. Your comments on politics and ideologies are a great reminder that we cannot be complacent in our aim to continuously improve our culture and make it as welcoming as possible for all. Equal Experts is an international company, and our individual views and cultural norms will inevitably vary wildly – we should respect each others’ right to hold these views. So we will keep working on it. Thomas Granier - CEO

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (1)

    "The best experience of my working life so far"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Associate User Experience Designer in Shipley, Yorkshire and the Humber, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Equal Experts

    Pros

    I had admired the work of Equal Experts from the sidelines for a number of years at several sites where I was working previously as an independent contractor. I was always impressed by the quality of their consultants when compared with almost every other supplier I'd ever encountered. I always admired how their consultants collaborated with other external suppliers on client sites, creating no divide between team members from EE and those from other competitor suppliers. Despite not being part of the network at the time, I was treated so incredibly well by EE consultants. It was evident from my first interaction with EE that their number one goal is to get the project over the line - one team, one goal. Several years later, when I was given the opportunity to join the network, the decision was an absolute no-brainer. I'm 2 months into working with EE as an Associate and I can already tell you it's the best decision of my career to date. I've never felt happier and more fulfilled in my work. To feel this satisfaction and sense of community, yet retain the flexibility of being a contractor is game-changing for me. Positives include: - Flat management structure - Autonomy to make your own decisions - Incredible sense of community across network - Excellent communication of the bigger picture - Interesting and challenging work - High profile accounts - The opportunity to work with some incredibly talented co-workers - Excellent rewards Over the last decade, I've worked with multiple suppliers - consultants, agencies and also independently and I can say hand on heart that this is the best experience of my career to date. One other thing to mention is the "kind" and "caring" side to the network - something I've never seen with other suppliers. I guess it's down to the recruitment process and the type of people who are selected but everyone I have come across to date is warm, friendly and wants to help. Perhaps it's the flat management structure that removes the dog-eat-dog competitive culture prevalent with many other suppliers. Everybody wants to work with you here, not against you. In short, thank you Equal Experts. I've never been happier.

    Cons

    I can't think of any cons. My only regret is not joining EE earlier.

    Continue reading
    Equal Experts2017-10-21
Found 25 reviews