Esri Employee Reviews about "great benefits"

Updated 4 Dec 2019

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
73%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Esri President Jack Dangermond
Jack Dangermond
471 Ratings
Pros
  • "Personal and work life balance is great(in 64 reviews)

  • "The company has a great benefits package and very open culture that pushes people to explore what they're interested in(in 48 reviews)

Cons
  • "Redlands is scorching in the summer and boring year-round(in 50 reviews)

  • "Very poor pay, benefits are so-so, no career path(in 32 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "great benefits"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "great place"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Enterprise Analyst 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Esri full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits and work environment

    Cons

    none that I could think of

    Esri2019-12-05
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great day-to-day experiences, issues up the line"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Product Engineer in Redlands, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Esri full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Paid hourly, so extra hours are paid out/banked for vacation. Great benefits and profit sharing. I love working on a product that is vital for the health and future of the planet, and there is great communication and flexibility in my immediate team. I feel like my work matters.

    Cons

    Many teams are unable to appropriately prioritize - frustrating to watch the product suffer because teams are overpromising features instead of fixing bugs and equivalency issues. There are definitely some "old-guard" politics - employees who have been around for so long and are used to putting their feet up. New hires are being paid less than they should be to fund these people's low-effort paychecks.

    Continue reading
    Esri2019-10-23
  3. "Esri is a Great Place to Work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Solutions Engineer in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Esri full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The company has a great benefits package and very open culture that pushes people to explore what they're interested in

    Cons

    Flat company and salary vs. similar examples with other companies in area

    Continue reading
    Esri2019-05-08
  4. "esri"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Support Analyst in Charlotte, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Esri full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits, flexible schedule, holidays, good company culture

    Cons

    Slow moving corporate processes, lots of change

    Esri2018-08-26
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Awesome people, awesome work experience!!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Web Applications Developer in Redlands, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Esri full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great boss, great teammates, chalenging projects, great benefits

    Cons

    none that I can think of

    Esri2018-04-02

    Esri Response

    April 13, 2018Esri

    We're happy to hear you're having such a great #esriexperience!

  6. Helpful (1)

    "Mostly good"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Esri full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits, relaxed work environment, easy to work with coworkers

    Cons

    little to no opportunity to advance. The company loves to talk about how flat it is, but that leaves virtually no where to go.

    Continue reading
    Esri2018-03-15

    Esri Response

    March 28, 2018Esri

    We support our employees in their desire to learn new skills as a way of helping them grow their careers. There are many courses offered through Employee Development and Training, so that would be a great place to start. We also encourage you to talk with your manager about your career goals. We appreciate your feedback!

  7. Helpful (3)

    "steady and wonderful company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Esri full-time

    Pros

    - steady, they have been around and look to continue to be around for a long time - the Support Services department has supportive and flexible management - management listens to and reconciles with needs and concerns - great benefits - great work life balance - offers courses like 7-Habits and 5-Choices to increase productivity and strike that work life balance - Overall, they take an interest in the person - Big on excellent internal and external customer support - You feel like you're contributing and making a difference - You need something, ask and you shall receive (within reason) - They value continued education, and will reimburse. - CEO cares for the environment, and generally has good values. - GIS is an awesome field of study, and Esri is a good place to continue that study. - The UC is really fun. - AGOL is constantly improving - You'll learn a lot. - You'll be surrounded by fantastic people. - Creators of a great GUI based GIS platform, that everyone in GIS has heard of. - Great name to have on your resume.

    Cons

    - Technology is lagging in some areas, and the platform is not the most powerful GIS solution. For example, Pro is improving and handles rendering well, but geoprocessing is not yet truly 64-bit. - Proprietary (and expensive) software, confusing licensing and extensions. - Poor communication between development and support departments, but over the four years I was at Esri I saw improvement in this area. - Sometimes not a lot of respect from other departments towards support services. - As in any company, there are a few egos. - Your open source GIS buddies will remind you that you drank the Kool-Aid. - There's a ladder from support services to outside of support, it looks to take about 3 years, and that can be a frustrating experience for some. - Promotions are sometimes based off of merit, and sometimes based off of who you know and not your qualifications. - Greater micro managing in some departments. - Minimal career opportunities for regional offices.

    Continue reading
    Esri2018-03-01

    Esri Response

    March 14, 2018Esri

    We couldn't agree with you more that Esri support analysts are brilliant! You also covered many of the great #workperks that Esri offers. Your feedback is valuable and presents many opportunities. We appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts, and best of luck in your new endeavor.

  8. Helpful (1)

    "Esri"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Esri full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits, pay and profit sharing

    Cons

    Hard to change positions

    Esri2017-08-15
  9. Helpful (12)

    "It once was a good, innovative company"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Redlands, CA
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Esri full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Medical Benefits, Dental Benefits, Vision Benefits are covered by the company. 401K plan is good. Initially from the outside looking-in, it seems like a great company to work for: great benefits, and the software is used by thousands around the world for many good causes.

    Cons

    Work Life Balance is may be non-existent depending the on the team or department. The company praises it's "flat organization structure" as a positive, but it actually has causes internal in-fighting and inefficient redundancy. Employees who have been at the company for a longer duration of time, appear to have realized the way to advance their career in a flat organization is to for a new team within the flat, horizontal structure. A top, senior director once said to me: "We have a lot of duds that work here."

    Continue reading
    Esri2017-09-11
  10. "Great place to work"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Esri full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits, flexible schedule, great team culture, mission-driven organization

    Cons

    Pay is a little lower than I would like and it would be nice to have more company events where the employees get together.

    Continue reading
    Esri2017-07-06

    Esri Response

    August 3, 2017Esri

    We are always interested in hearing ideas for events or engagement activities! Please reach out to HR or the Esri Experience Team! Thanks.

Found 48 reviews
</>Embed