Etihad Airways Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Etihad Airways Reviews

Updated 24 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
55%
Recommend to a Friend
57%
Approve of CEO
Etihad Airways Interim Group CEO Ray Gammell
Ray Gammell
92 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good salary ,380 rated cabin crew(in 35 reviews)

  • "Good travel benefits and a chance to maximise your potential(in 33 reviews)

Cons
  • "exhausting, long work hours, constant fatique, pressure from management, base in Abu Dhabi is pretty boring(in 16 reviews)

  • "Long Hours, away from family if you're an expact(in 15 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Global Company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Etihad Airways full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Staff travel perks, great management , overseas travel

    Cons

    Nothing loved the place no cons

    Etihad Airways2019-09-18
  2. "Good experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cabin Crew 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Etihad Airways full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The overall pack was amazing. The money is good and it's all for yourself because you don't pay taxes. Accomodation is provided or housing allowance is paid in addition to the salary. We stayed in overall nice hotels and most layovers were nice although most of them were 24 hours. We had a lot of discounts at stores and restaurants... Abu Dhabi is a nice city to live in

    Cons

    Long working hours with sometimes minimum rest hours between flights. This was exhausting and you reach a point where you can't get out of bed. The company's vision has been unclear for the last three years and constant change in management and restructuring affected the business and the passengers' experience. Which meant it was up to the crew to defend the company's reputation onboard the aircraft when passengers got onboard and complained about the constant changes. There was a culture of bullying which unfortunately was not addressed much. Hierarchy is everything on board and if the captain tells you off for no reason, nothing you can do about it because his word weighs more than yours. There was no pay raise for four years. Most Cabin managers hold their posts because they have been with the company for so many years. Passengers can tell you off, be rude to you, shout at you and call you names and you still can't defend yourself because if you speak back, you'll probably end up with a warning (passengers are always right in this company)

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Start recognising the hard working cabin crew. Stop promoting crew just because they have been in the company for 10 years. Stop threatening and punishing the crew because they call sick 'too many times' because in any company 10 days sick leave in one whole year is not a huge deal, especially as crew we were prone to illness from travelling, contact with bodily fluids on the aircraft, passengers coughing on our faces in a tiny aircraft... Also, another not so great about the job is, if you have leave in a certain month, your salary drops drastically, because you get paid a basic salary (considerably low) plus your flying hours

    Show More
    Etihad Airways2019-11-11
  3. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Aircraft Mechanic in Heathrow, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Etihad Airways full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Small team, freedom to manage work among ourselves. Good manager.

    Cons

    Initial training commenced nine months after joining.

    Advice to Management

    I had a great year, if you had an international pilot programme running, I would have stayed longer.

    Etihad Airways2019-06-01
  4. "Undergoing significant change"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Etihad Airways full-time

    Pros

    there are great benefits and opportunities

    Cons

    the change is bringing significant redundancies and a strong element of fear in workplace

    Etihad Airways2019-06-05
  5. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Etihad Airways full-time

    Pros

    Good money, travel opportunities, tax free

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    Etihad Airways2018-09-20
  6. "Cabin Crew"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Etihad Airways full-time

    Pros

    Free flat, cheap flights, different locations, travel

    Cons

    poor management, when you leave it is the worse experience ever

    Etihad Airways2018-08-20
  7. "Customer service agent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Etihad Airways full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Multi cultural environment, very nice colleagues

    Cons

    Management, favouritism, only concenrened about making money. Long hours and shift work.

    Etihad Airways2018-08-15
  8. "OK company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Etihad Airways full-time

    Pros

    Travel benefits company location and housing package

    Cons

    poor career growth and management

    Advice to Management

    communication and talent developlement

    Etihad Airways2018-08-11
  9. "Bad company investments impact lower employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Manchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Etihad Airways full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Access to discounted flights for self and family Fellow colleagues

    Cons

    Cost Cutting Cut backs to employee benefits No Bonus or pay rises

    Advice to Management

    Realise that happy employees are efficient employees That improving service and results would be a better way than trying to cut costs and guest experience by lowering efficiency

    Etihad Airways2018-06-11
  10. "Very good compny to work with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Etihad Airways part-time

    Pros

    good benefit with flight and hotel discount

    Cons

    all good to me

    Advice to Management

    love them

    Etihad Airways2018-02-25
Found 404 reviews