Eton College Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Eton College Reviews

Updated 1 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
74%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Eton College Head Master Tony Little (no image)
Tony Little
4 Ratings
  1. "Really inclusive place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Eton College full-time

    Pros

    Everyone is very friendly, and very open to new ideas or better ways of doing things

    Cons

    Quite confusing and archaic in terms of management structure - could be more forward thinking here!

    Eton College2019-06-22
  2. "Good overall experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Set Designer in Windsor, South East England, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Eton College full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    creative freedom, long holidays, great colleagues, great facilities

    Cons

    bad pay, very long hours, no accomodation provided

    Eton College2019-11-01
  3. "Great fun and rewarding"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Summer School Assistant 
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Eton College for less than a year

    Pros

    Great colleagues, good work experience, good pay

    Cons

    not much to say here

    Eton College2019-08-15
  4. "chef"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Windsor, South East England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Eton College full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good holidays and accomodation. Kids are generally nice

    Cons

    Staff and management let the place down

    Eton College2018-08-17
  5. "Worst experience of my professional life."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative in Northwood, London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Eton College full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fabulous location, amazing buildings with wonderful history. Some genuinely lovely people who are totally committed to the students and their experience.

    Cons

    Favourites treated well, some jobs very poorly paid, like you are prepared to work for a pittance just to put Eton as an employer. Don't step out of line and whatever you do, don't challenge management.

    Continue reading
    Eton College2017-11-19
  6. "Only worked there for a short period - but pleasant experience."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I worked at Eton College part-time

    Pros

    Beautiful buildings, gardens etc. Very friendly staff!

    Cons

    Not any in my experience.

    Eton College2017-08-06
  7. "Summer School Assistant on the Japanese Summer School"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Anonymous Contractor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Eton College

    Pros

    - friendly and supportive senior staff - flexible hours to an extent - rewarding experience - food and board included in the contract - inclusive atmosphere

    Cons

    - very intense - long hours - requires lots of on-the-job flexibility and adaptability - food provided by the school isn't great - activities are not always well organised - long coach journeys

    Continue reading
    Eton College2016-12-03
  8. "Eton college university summer school"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Eton College

    Pros

    fantastic organisation! It helps so many children and was incredibly proud to work for them

    Cons

    I cannot think of any cons!

    Eton College2016-08-16
  9. "Summer School Teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Eton College part-time

    Pros

    Great work, well organised department, motivated staff (testament to the enthusiasm that the job inspires that the vast majority of staff return year after year). Well paid (on top of food and board).

    Cons

    Negative press associated with the school. Summer school staff turnover, in spite of the high rate of returning staff, is still quite high, with lots of students doing only a year or two. That said, this is the nature of summer school teaching.

    Continue reading
    Eton College2015-12-12
  10. "Teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at Eton College

    Pros

    Amazing location, great staff, generous compensation, wonderful students.

    Cons

    no cons I loved it!

    Eton College2014-04-25

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 12 reviews