Etsy Reviews

Updated 14 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
58%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Etsy CEO Josh Silverman
Josh Silverman
74 Ratings
  1. "How is it like working with Etsy India ?"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Etsy full-time

    Pros

    - Lavish Life - Great Activities - Amazing Interiors

    Cons

    - Week Management - Ignorance to Employ Grievances - Not fixed Job roles

    Continue reading
    Etsy2020-01-24
  2. Helpful (3)

    "As long as you can roll with changes, this is the place for you"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Director 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Etsy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Etsy is a wonderful place if you can handle a fast paced, ever changing environment. I've been here for almost 4 years and the company has been nothing but supportive of me and my career and especially in times when things personally were not great. The company deeply cares about us as humans and for that I am thankful.

    Cons

    The only con is that we move too quickly at times, because of that we do often have to change directions which can cause a lot of fatigue among teams

    Continue reading
    Etsy2019-12-02
  3. "Overall positive"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Etsy full-time

    Pros

    Amazing offices Great guiding principles

    Cons

    Limited opportunities outside of US

    Etsy2019-09-12
  4. "Toxic political environment"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Accounting Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Etsy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Compensation & benefits, perks, events

    Cons

    Disorganized, lack of accountability, poor leadership, toxic work environment

    Etsy2019-10-14
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Can't imagine where else I'd want to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director of Engineering in Brooklyn, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Etsy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Plenty of career growth opportunities here and ability to have a huge impact. You don't usually get this with as large of a company (or as much technical scale) as we have: it's a pretty special place from that regard. The culture is also great. We have progressive benefits (half a year of parental leave!), yummy snacks, and engaged leadership that really knows what's going on in individual teams and is excited to speak to individuals on those teams.

    Cons

    Things move quick here. The people who are most successful tend to be comfortable working through ambiguity.

    Etsy2019-08-23
  6. Helpful (10)

    "Great company to work for, culture of collaboration, forward thinking mentality"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Brooklyn, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Etsy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The leadership org is cognizant of of pain points and actively seeks to improve There is a cohesive culture where it feels most everyone believes in the mission to humanize eCommerce I have noticed that if you are honest about your career trajectory, management will give you a roadmap Great work life balance

    Cons

    Some roles could use a more defined scope. If you are interviewing for a role here, make sure that you ask about your first 30/60/90 days and what success looks like for that time period.

    Etsy2019-07-30
  7. Helpful (8)

    "Promising company, disappointing structure"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Etsy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great product, fantastic teammates, engaging problem space

    Cons

    Engineering lacks strategic vision, company is disorganized, it feels like we reorg every three months. Tech debt keeps piling up and products don't ship due to lack of engineering accountability and management infighting

    Etsy2019-07-25
  8. "Great time"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Senior Product Manager in New York, NY

    I worked at Etsy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good culture, good growth opportunities

    Cons

    nothing worth mentioning. I was pretty happy

    Etsy2019-07-20
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Fast paced, but extremely supportive and innovative"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Brooklyn, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Etsy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Working at Etsy has been a great experience for the last 3 years. It's been up and down, but in a good way. We definitely move fast, and are constantly changing and pivoting but in this industry it is paramount that we are continuously iterating on our roadmap to stay competitive. We celebrate wins, we are inclusive, we care about the environment and about our social and economic impact. Etsy really cares about you. You are not just 1 out of 100000. And, at any level you can have a significant impact on the business. Our executive team is highly accessible, including our CEO. I've stayed at Etsy as long as I have because it feels like home to me and I'm excited to see where we can go next.

    Cons

    The only thing I'd say that is a con is that moving quickly and changing directions can get a little exhausting for some. So in order to be successful at Etsy, you have to be resilient and not take it personally if we decide to change directions every now and then. Some folks feel like they have great work life balance, others might not. But it really depends on the environment you came from. We definitely work really hard, but we also play hard as well.

    Continue reading
    Etsy2019-07-12
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company to work for"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Etsy full-time

    Pros

    Engaged employees, good management culture, clear mission

    Cons

    Generally very positive experience overall

    Etsy2019-06-12
Found 158 reviews
</>Embed