Etsy Reviews

Updated 14 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
58%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Etsy CEO Josh Silverman
Josh Silverman
74 Ratings
  1. "Best working environment"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Etsy full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very friendly and stressless environment, very generous compensations & benefits, above market salary, great values.

    Cons

    No remote opportunities for Europe, Poor onboarding

    Etsy2019-05-17
  2. Helpful (19)

    "Avoid Product Management"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Manager in Brooklyn, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Etsy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    1. Positive mission and purpose, the customers are inspiring and loyal. And there is still a lot of potential in the marketplace to help them thrive. 2. The engineering team is full of collaborative and talented people. 3. The compensation, benefits, work/life balance and facilities are all really solid and a good model for others to follow.

    Cons

    1. Communication and data between teams doesn't flow freely but rather siloed and selectively. A handful of negative players appear to thrive here creating unhealthy friction. 2. The PM role lacks a strategic outlook and there is limited growth opportunities. Most are essentially pushed to manage projects, not deliver outcomes. 3. The PM org is being run by someone that never worked as a product manager w/ a management team that hasn't led product at scale for consumer tech businesses. 4. It's not a learning culture. At the end of every quarter, for example, there is a freakout, reshuffling of teams, tactics, etc. because some unrealistic goal(s) won't be hit.

    Continue reading
    Etsy2019-04-11
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Amazing company for new parents"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Etsy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Etsy is a top leader in benefits, a warm and caring culture. Very focused on D&I, a vibrant and inclusive community. The mission is great and employees are passionate about the cause. Very intelligent colleagues with an incredible amount of best practice to learn from.

    Cons

    Decision-making is pretty centralized at the exec team level, with more of a "command and control" approach to strategy and decision-making.

    Continue reading
    Etsy2019-05-10
  4. Helpful (8)

    "Hire fast and Fire fast"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Brooklyn, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Etsy full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great compensation with generous RSUs. unlimited sick day and allow to work remote.

    Cons

    Hire fast and fire fast culture. Low work life balance. Good works are not recognized by managers. Managers treat employees disrespectful.

    Etsy2019-04-27
  5. "Great place to work."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Etsy full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - Good pay & benefits. A lot of opportunities to learn. Great office perks.

    Cons

    - Very demanding. Depending on the role, it's hard to put in just 40 hours a week and get your job done.

    Continue reading
    Etsy2019-04-16
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work where they put employees first"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Brooklyn, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Etsy full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Awesome office environment & every body I worked with was incredibly smart & capable in their roles.

    Cons

    The cult of Etsy could become a little overwhelming in terms of the social office atmosphere.

    Etsy2019-04-05
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Excellent Place to Work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Etsy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Awesome people, great benefits, fun atmosphere.

    Cons

    Stagnant work and vision. Will be interesting to see what the future holds.

    Etsy2019-04-01
  8. Helpful (13)

    "Hired too many inexperienced software engineers"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Etsy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work life balance is great and does not feel stressed compared to other companies

    Cons

    Hiring bar at Etsy used to be great but recently they've been hiring way too many inexperienced software engineers (mostly entry levels or bootcamp graduates). Often times, they do not have the foundations of Computer Science and do not seem to understand the development that we do here. They are willing to learn which is great but please hire more experienced software engineers so that people will actually be productive. I don't see any career advancement here due to the fact that there isn't a lot of mentorship going on for mid level engineers and management seems to be very disorganized.

    Continue reading
    Etsy2019-04-24
  9. "Awesome Company & Corporate Spirit"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Etsy full-time

    Pros

    Cares about employees Believes in the handmade movement Lovely offices Free lunches, snacks,

    Cons

    Changed quite a bit under new management (post IPO) Closed international offices / centralized most work to Brooklyn

    Etsy2019-03-25
  10. Helpful (28)

    "A company that seems warm to the touch, yet is cold and out of touch"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Remote, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Etsy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great compensation, generous RSU packages. Remote work. Amazing corporate culture and fun people to work with.

    Cons

    Hire & Fire company. I worked for Etsy for 1 year, 1 week and 1 day. My management changed and the new manager never liked me. I had a mostly ok review and then one day I found out I didn't work there any more.

    Continue reading
    Etsy2018-11-25
Found 158 reviews
</>Embed