Etsy Senior Software Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Etsy Senior Software Engineer Reviews

Updated 5 Apr 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 10 reviews

4.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
84%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Etsy CEO Josh Silverman
Josh Silverman
5 Ratings
  1. "Excellent Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Etsy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Awesome people, great benefits, fun atmosphere.

    Cons

    Stagnant work and vision. Will be interesting to see what the future holds.

    Etsy2019-04-01
  2. "Great place to work where they put employees first"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Brooklyn, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Etsy full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Awesome office environment & every body I worked with was incredibly smart & capable in their roles.

    Cons

    The cult of Etsy could become a little overwhelming in terms of the social office atmosphere.

    Etsy2019-04-05
  3. Helpful (19)

    "A company that seems warm to the touch, yet is cold and out of touch"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Remote, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Etsy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great compensation, generous RSU packages. Remote work. Amazing corporate culture and fun people to work with.

    Cons

    Hire & Fire company. I worked for Etsy for 1 year, 1 week and 1 day. My management changed and the new manager never liked me. I had a mostly ok review and then one day I found out I didn't work there any more.

    Advice to Management

    Give people opportunities to improve perceived deficiencies in their job performance instead of just ending their position.

    Etsy2018-11-25
  4. Helpful (10)

    "Enjoying Every Single Day"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Brooklyn, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Etsy full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    By far the best part of working here is the people that you see every day. Etsy has some of the kindest, smartest, and most diligent employees that I've had the opportunity to work with. I don't feel like I'm competing with my coworkers, but rather that we're working towards a common goal, and supporting each other along the way. There is a wide surface of technical challenges and products to work on, and everything...

    Show More

    Cons

    Some of the technology is a bit dated, and there's a (responsible and well-intentioned) conservatism about modernizing tools and infrastructure. We are making progress on this. The open-office layout is not good at all for concentration. There are a ton of distractions, ESPECIALLY slack. Some restructuring has caused gaps in coverage of legacy systems. This should be addressed. It's been pretty hard to get extra...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You're doing great. I really appreciate the frequent updates and insight into what's happening across the organization. I love that we are so user-focused in everything we do. I hope that we can preserve some of what made Etsy unique in the early days as we push to grow as an organization and business. I like the charm of the place, and your employees care a great deal about doing great work. You've got a lot going for...

    Show More
    Etsy2018-08-21
  5. Helpful (7)

    "Depends a lot on the team you're on"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Brooklyn, NY
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Etsy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Etsy measures progress using good business metrics. Focus on GMS over revenue. Our sellers win when we win Working on an ambulance project was the most rewarding thing I've done at Etsy to date regardless of the circumstances Many solid career opportunities in the wake of all the departures

    Cons

    Retention is a major problem because retention is a major problem. People don't even respond to some of the goodbye emails anymore Dysfunctional "nobody's saying yes or no" decision-making is slowly coming back

    Advice to Management

    "We had 2 profitable quarters!" is clearly exciting to the executive team but not rank and file after the past 6 months. Our mission is still pretty cool even after the nonsense was cut away

    Etsy2017-12-11
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Why I love Etsy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Etsy (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Very positive remote culture Excellent benefits Stock bonuses for most employees Great onboarding

    Cons

    Very hard to get hired.

    Advice to Management

    Keep Etsy Human

    Etsy2017-11-13
  7. Helpful (14)

    "Nice people, great perks, surprisingly frustrating engineering organization"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Brooklyn, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Etsy full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    The mission of the company/product is great, and it's delightful to see how being a values-driven business does permeate all levels of Etsy culture. From the local snacks in the kitchenettes to the way meetings are carried, Etsy is a company that walks the walk when they talk about being driven by a mission of empowering small local creators. Related to this is a great work/life balance. Etsy's a pretty cushy job.

    Cons

    On the engineering/product side of things, there's a pervasive fear of change at an institutional level means that anything that would improve the codebase or engineering process is a hard to impossible sell. Major "not invented here" syndrome means that engineers spend a lot of their time dealing with problems that are completely abstracted away in other similar engineering organizations because everyone's building on...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    In a company-wide all-hands meeting, CTO John Allspaw recently referred to the engineering organization as "complacent". I agree with that assessment, but simply telling people to their face that they need to do a better job isn't how you actually enact change. If you think your engineering organization needs transformation (and I personally agree), figure out how management can actually support and enable that.

    Etsy2017-03-27
  8. "Senior Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Brooklyn, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Etsy full-time

    Pros

    Great work culture, great work life balance. Dynamic work environment, folks are very helpful and open about their personal life - welcome change from a corporaty culture.

    Cons

    Very new to the company, so far none!

    Etsy2016-10-05
  9. Helpful (7)

    "Help people build small businesses"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Brooklyn, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Etsy full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    You get to do work that is actually beneficial to people. The company culture is pretty good and the work is really interesting.

    Cons

    The career advancement track is shrouded in mystery and there seems to be a disconnect between Snr. Management and the work that's actually happening.

    Etsy2014-04-02
  10. Helpful (1)

    "great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Etsy full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Etsy is a really great place to work. Culture is great, engineers are valued very highly, everyone is really friendly, the work is interesting and the talent is the best in New York tech.

    Cons

    There aren't many things that one could be really upset about with Etsy. My only gripe might be transparency with the companies plans from senior management but even that is minimal.

    Etsy2013-08-29
Found 10 reviews