Etsy "sellers" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Etsy Employee Reviews about "sellers"

Updated 11 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 147 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
65%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
Etsy CEO Josh Silverman
Josh Silverman
66 Ratings
Pros
  • "Teams, culture, flexibility, technology work/life balance(in 13 reviews)

  • "Great benefits offered vacation and medical for and for 401k(in 10 reviews)

Cons
  • "Work life balance was a mixed bag(in 7 reviews)

  • "Sentiment amongst Etsy sellers can be demoralizing, but the company is listening to them and things are getting better(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "sellers"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (30)

    "Disappointed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Brooklyn, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Etsy

    Pros

    -Interesting products and challenges -Cozy office space -Unlimited sick day

    Cons

    - Work/life balance is poor. I am stuck in so many useless meetings that the only time I do actual work is on my "lunch break” (when 12-1 or 1-2 isn’t booked or double booked with even more meetings on my calendar) or evenings/weekends. -However, I’m an afterthought for meetings that actually would be helpful for me, but I’m not invited to them. Then I’m berated for not knowing something that was discussed in those...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    If people you just hired are already planning on leaving, that is a terrible sign. It's time to roll up your sleeves and do the difficult work of figuring out why your company is such a train wreck. Remove incompetent people, improve collaboration and communication, and stop working everyone to the bone.

    Etsy2018-03-15
  2. Helpful (7)

    "Despite a shaky last year, still the best place I've ever worked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Designer in Brooklyn, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Etsy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Great place to work as a marginalized person - Since the 2017 layoffs and refocus, people work at a faster pace and focus more on iteration - Good benefits and perks including weekly free lunch and daily snacks - Best office I've ever worked in - The HQ isn't in Manhattan - Remote friendly, working from home is encouraged - Great and interesting challenges - Working on a marketplace that encourages people to...

    Show More

    Cons

    - Change is hard and some people are definitely a bit salty - Your experience can depend on the team, but things are getting more standardized which is nice - The attrition was tough post-layoffs, but has vastly improved - Sentiment amongst Etsy sellers can be demoralizing, but the company is listening to them and things are getting better

    Advice to Management

    Keep the culture and values human-centric by listening to your employees and Etsy sellers. Lose this and you lose everything.

    Etsy2018-01-24
  3. Helpful (5)

    "Great company with an improved trajectory"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Etsy full-time

    Pros

    Overall, I'm really jazzed about this company. I was able to see it continuously improve over my time at the company with an increasing level of focus. The new perpsectives of the leadership that was brought in will push the company to get to the next level

    Cons

    Historically had been too much of a consensus-driven culture. Many people are values-focused without an understanding of what the values were or whether they were internally consistent Former employees were relatively entitled and cared more about the perks than making a difference for the sellers or for the company. Many have left and the capabilities of the ones that...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Broaden the appeal of the marketplace to more ethnicities, socioeconomic brackets and men

    Etsy2017-11-27
  4. Helpful (7)

    "Depends a lot on the team you're on"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Brooklyn, NY
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Etsy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Etsy measures progress using good business metrics. Focus on GMS over revenue. Our sellers win when we win Working on an ambulance project was the most rewarding thing I've done at Etsy to date regardless of the circumstances Many solid career opportunities in the wake of all the departures

    Cons

    Retention is a major problem because retention is a major problem. People don't even respond to some of the goodbye emails anymore Dysfunctional "nobody's saying yes or no" decision-making is slowly coming back

    Advice to Management

    "We had 2 profitable quarters!" is clearly exciting to the executive team but not rank and file after the past 6 months. Our mission is still pretty cool even after the nonsense was cut away

    Etsy2017-12-11
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Brooklyn, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Etsy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Super creative and supportive team doing great things for great sellers. There's something magical about working at a mission-driven company. The new leadership is taking us to new heights.

    Cons

    Long time employees who got comfortable with doing the minimum are unhappy with the new direction and it's annoying to try to motivate them.

    Advice to Management

    Invest in brand

    Etsy2017-11-06
  6. Helpful (1)

    "so much change, so much potential"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Etsy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Values-driven company with dedicated, engaged employees. Business model that benefits entrepreneurs wherein we do well when our sellers do well - win/win! People I work with are generally kind, open and trusting. My ideas are taken seriously by my manager and my team and there is room to grow in my role. The recent layoffs and management changes were challenging, but overall I am very impressed with leadership and...

    Show More

    Cons

    Some long-time employees are complacent and entitled. Offices outside of HQ feel neglected.

    Advice to Management

    Focus on core platform, refresh brand. Hold onto values.

    Etsy2017-11-14
  7. Helpful (2)

    "still lots of potential, still finding its way there"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Etsy full-time

    Pros

    lots of people at Etsy are among the kindest i've ever met. the work leads to some interesting problems to solve, the office spaces are really nice, management tends to listen to buyers and sellers when they can. internal promotions are pretty common.

    Cons

    some perks have been recently cut back to cut costs. understandable, but still unfortunate. travel budget is tough for remote employees.

    Advice to Management

    take advantage of longer term employees to make sure that you don't make some of the same mistakes as management did in prior years.

    Etsy2017-07-24
  8. Helpful (18)

    "Slow career progression & bad managers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Brooklyn, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Etsy full-time

    Pros

    Benefits, work life balance, mission, and positive impact on the world

    Cons

    A lot of bad managers who have no clue how to manage people. People get promoted to or hired for manager positions without regards to their people skills, leading to bad chemistry on many teams. Career progression can be very slow and coupled with below par compensation for many positions, it's hard to build a long term career here. Tooling is falling behind and internal systems are not reliable. Pervasive fear of change...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Consider both hard skills and people skills for evaluating managers. Get more efficient and bolder. Reward hard work and make Etsy an attractive place to work for strong performers.

    Etsy2017-06-22
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Amazing product team, supportive culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Etsy full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    People here really care. They're smart, they are curious, they want to make things better for customers, sellers, the people at the company, and, as cheesy as it is to say, the world. You have a lot of freedom to work on projects your group finds important.

    Cons

    We have a great work life balance here which a small number of people take advantage of. Sometimes I wish we had a bit more high level direction from the executive team.

    Advice to Management

    Give us a little push - we can take it

    Etsy2015-12-16
  10. Helpful (11)

    "Director Support"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director Support in Brooklyn, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Etsy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent Sellers. Great repeat buyers. Marketplace humming along.

    Cons

    Senior Management is missing the big picture and don't know what to do

    Advice to Management

    Hire leaders

    Etsy2014-03-29

    Etsy Response

    May 12, 2015.

    "The poster of this review is entitled to their opinion, but as the actual Director of Support at Etsy (now and at the time the review was written), I feel it's my responsibility to say that this is not my post."

Found 147 reviews