European Investment Bank Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

European Investment Bank Reviews

Updated 23 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
68%
Recommend to a Friend
67%
Approve of CEO
European Investment Bank CEO Dr. Werner Hoyer (no image)
Dr. Werner Hoyer
26 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "The pay is not quite sufficient to live in Luxembourg(in 11 reviews)

  • "No respect from some EIB members to Trainees(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "One of the best employer in Europe"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at European Investment Bank full-time

    Pros

    International environment - many social advantages

    Cons

    small country but very active

    European Investment Bank2018-01-24

    European Investment Bank Response

    February 19, 2018Senior Employer Branding, Diversity & Outreach Officer

    Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We are delighted to see that you had a positive experience whilst at the EIB.

  2. "Good experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at European Investment Bank full-time

    Pros

    good working hours, great colleagues

    Cons

    not many downsides i can think of

    European Investment Bank2019-06-12
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Low stress / superb benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at European Investment Bank full-time

    Pros

    Low stress job, collaborative colleagues, low variation of pay by grade whichever part of the bank you work Excellent benefits (incl. canteen), defined benefit pension (from year 5), exceptional health insurance, access to European school for education etc.

    Cons

    Slow decision-making, bureaucratic, lack of accountability of bank / low competition, slow career progression. Also, living in Luxembourg might not be appealing.

    European Investment Bank2019-05-06
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Good place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at European Investment Bank full-time

    Pros

    Good environment, people, location, and weather

    Cons

    slave level wages and no ability to access any of benefits such as gym or training.

    Advice to Management

    Cleaning people made more than interns. Shame on you.

    European Investment Bank2019-03-11
  5. "EIB - great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in London, England
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at European Investment Bank

    Pros

    excellent benefits, people very nice and helpful, great opportunities for jobs inside the bank

    Cons

    starting salary slightly lower than for similar jobs

    Advice to Management

    n/a

    European Investment Bank2010-05-04
  6. "a very positive experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at European Investment Bank full-time

    Pros

    allowance sufficient to enjoy your time in Luxembourg, great environment, many opportunities to learn more

    Cons

    sometimes it's not the most dynamic place in the world

    European Investment Bank2019-09-23
  7. "TRAINEESHIP"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Trainee in Luxembourg
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at European Investment Bank full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice place to be and to start a career

    Cons

    trainees do not get much training the approach is learning by doing . The allowance is low for Luxembourg life costs

    European Investment Bank2019-07-19
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Room for Improvement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant 

    I worked at European Investment Bank full-time

    Pros

    Multicultural environment, good facilities, good benefits.

    Cons

    Slow, bureaucratic, very little career development possibilities for support staff.

    European Investment Bank2019-06-23
  9. "Great place to work slow progression"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Loan Officer in Luxembourg
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at European Investment Bank full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good salary and benefits. Interesting job. Great peers.

    Cons

    Slow career progression. Luxembourg city is a bit boring.

    Advice to Management

    Increase lending outside Europe. Limit burocracy. Let the young take on responsibility.

    European Investment Bank2019-05-26
  10. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Luxembourg
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at European Investment Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good environmment to work , work-life balance

    Cons

    Red tape, absence of motivation

    European Investment Bank2019-05-29
Found 83 reviews