Evans Cycles Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Glassdoor uses cookies to improve your site experience. By continuing, you agree to our use of cookies. OK | Learn More

Evans Cycles Reviews

Updated 9 November 2017
49 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

49 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • You can save a lot on kit with the staff discount (in 9 reviews)

  • The trade discount can offer up to (in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • Head Office personnel given roles they really aren't suitable for (in 9 reviews)

  • Increased workforce with reduced budgets paying minimum wage to most resulting in overworked employees (in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Helpful (2)

    "Stable company but with potential to mess up the simple things"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Various in Gatwick, England
    Former Employee - Various in Gatwick, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Evans Cycles full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Great Co-Workers. plenty of flexibility when working in and around the head office. Especially around senior management.

    Cons

    Colleague camaraderie based upon resentment. Over exuberant marketing department place a lot of pressure upon stores with heavy campaign rotation.

    Advice to Management

    Marketing and Retail group need to have greater communication to ensure stores have a smaller workload, or increase in-store wages.

    Evans Cycles Response

    8 May 2015 – Talent Manager

    Thanks for your feedback! Our working environment is very relaxed & flexible (if I do say so myself) & our colleagues thrive in an environment where they are respected & trusted. Most of our Gatwick... More


  2. Helpful (1)

    "Sales Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in London, England
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Evans Cycles full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great Work Environment. Ability to work autonomously. Friendly Management.

    Cons

    None. I had a great time.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work.

    Evans Cycles Response

    8 May 2015 – Talent Manager

    Thank you for posting your feedback! We're glad that you had such a good experience with us. We continue to work hard to ensure that everyone has a fantastic Evans Cycles Adventure. We hope you will... More


  3. Helpful (2)

    "Evans Cycles - Thoughts from the shop-floor..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Assiant
    Current Employee - Retail Assiant
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Evans Cycles full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great atmosphere and work colleagues

    Cons

    -Poor staff facilities
    -Due to overwhelming numbers of on busy days, sometimes employees were unable to take a full hour's break
    -Inadequate training - Evans do enrol new employees on a training weekend programme, however, often the time between employment and this training is too long

    Advice to Management

    Implement a schedule when shop-floor assistants take their lunch and afternoon breaks and rotate it on a daily basis

    Evans Cycles Response

    8 May 2015 – Talent Manager

    Thank you for your review! All feedback is greatly appreciated & we would not be able to improve our employee experience without it. The company does have a great culture & that is wholly down to the... More


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. Helpful (1)

    "okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in London, England
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend

    Pros

    friendly working environment, with good staff discount and ample allowance for holidays. percentage of sales you could keep each week.

    Cons

    hours increased without extra pay. often unfriendly and abrasive management style. often insufficient training provided for new employees dealing with new systems

    Advice to Management

    Try to train new staff to a better level and be a ware of faults with management style, provide more sales incentive.

    Evans Cycles Response

    8 May 2015 – Talent Manager

    Thank you for leaving your feedback! We have transformed our support office since 2011 & now offer a fantastic array of induction, training & ongoing development opportunities. We hope you will... More


  6. Helpful (2)

    "When good; amazing, when bad; pretty awful."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant in London, England
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant in London, England
    Recommends

    Pros

    Working at Evans when it was good was amazing, the sort of people who work there really care about bikes and if the team clicks then there is nowhere better. The staff discounts were amazing often around 40% off , though I'm told the manegment have tighened the rules recently.

    Cons

    My enjoyment of working at Evans really depended on management, store managers really stamp their personaliy on the stores so if you have one that scrappy, inept, or just an idiot then then things can turn bad. Also pay is min wage for most so you look to bonues for more money, and (as with everywhere) customers can be a handful

    Advice to Management

    Look to experienced shop staff for input on strategic direction; they know the customers and the company failings best.

    Evans Cycles Response

    8 May 2015 – Talent Manager

    Thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback! We have recently entered the world of Glassdoor & whilst I appreciate you made your comments quite some time ago, it is helpful for us to reflect... More


  7. "The dark horse came galloping"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager
    Former Employee - Manager
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Evans Cycles full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Being able to purchase bikes and cycle clothing etc was the only main pro, but unfortunately that is pretty standard when working for a cycle company so this is not a unique selling point for Evans in any stretch of the imagination.

    Cons

    When i started it was a very reputable company to work for, and then the dark horse (private equity investors) came galloping along and went to town.

    Increased workforce with reduced budgets paying minimum wage to most resulting in overworked employees. This caused many many people to leave, which in turn gave us a bad reputation making it hard to recruit.....and the circle of doom continued.

    Evans had a very clear of values, but other than them being on posters that were strategically placed in head office and retail store staff rooms they did not live by them if it meant affected spending and budgets, in fear of spooking the horse.

    The plethora of negative reviews just keep on coming month after month, so things don't seem to have changed, with all of them covering the same points time after time. Somewhat scary!!!

    Finance director jumped ship, CEO was fired and some senior managers were forced out. It all went a bit 'Teresa May'.

    They felt very comfortable riding the wave that was the up surge of cycling in the U.K post Olympics, but we're ill prepared for the downshift which came at the same time as being purchased by an investment group.

    I just hope one day students wont be studying about Evans Cycles during a business degree along with Golden Wonder crisps, as examples on the poor delivery of strategy of failed companies.

    I only wished the decision makers had adopted Richard Branson's famous quote 'Take Care Of Your Employees And They’ll Take Care Of Your Business', rather than grooming Black Beauty.

    But it is in business as it is in Politics.....all about the short term vote.

    One things for sure....they are no longer strong and stable. Not horse stable, but the other one :-)


  8. "Terrible support, communication and archaic principles"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Crawley (South Africa)
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Crawley (South Africa)
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    Pros

    I'm afraid there really aren't any now as the company seems to have slid into a pit... only one existing exec and he's actually pretty decent

    Cons

    1. Everything is secret, even suppliers don't know when things are happening, e.g. new stores. A bit embarrassing really
    2. Head Office personnel given roles they really aren't suitable for.
    3. Creation of roles just to promote the preferred few internally
    4. No career progression opportunities for the truly talented employees
    5. Pay, oh dear. Well below industry standards
    6. No benefits, no sick pay, no pension (apart from the workplace scheme which is legally required), no access to company vehicles so everything works out a loss
    7. An incredible amount of employees leave within the year. Having been at the company for several years there's not many I know who are still here with me. Feels like a bit of a sentence
    8. The company do not value its assets - its employees
    9. Senior staff however are quite well paid - joy for them, unfortunate for us
    10. Pesonally, my manager does not really care about my work, forgets everything I say and seems to become fixated on the strangest things!

    Advice to Management

    Train
    Respond to these reviews as people read this sort of stuff now!
    Put in place more appropriate staff benefits. Healthshields costs the company next to nothing.
    How about some recognition for continued service
    Regular performance pay reviews, please. Makes the review process a bit of a mockery when actually there is no drive to exceed on targets!

    I've awarded 1 star on everything but 2 on work lifebalance because hours can be sort of fixed


  9. "..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    Pros

    Good working environment, good life balance

    Cons

    no team works, too little pay

    Evans Cycles Response

    20 May 2015 – Talent Manager

    Thank you for leaving your review! It's good to see you are having, on the whole, a good experience. In terms of pay. I am going to assume that you work in one of our stores. We will be launching in... More


  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great Employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends

    Pros

    Fun working environment, good coworkers

    Cons

    low pay, somewhat distant management

    Evans Cycles Response

    1 Sep 2015 – Talent Manager

    Thank you for your review! We are glad you enjoyed your experience with us & we wish you well in your current career endeavours. We are expanding steadily & with that will come further opportunities... More


Showing 49 of 51 reviews
Reset Filters