Eversheds Sutherland Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Eversheds Sutherland Reviews

Updated 11 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
66%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Eversheds Sutherland   (no image)
6 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "It feels like the firm went from a law firm that cared about staff to a firm that now does not(in 8 reviews)

  • "low value volume work its not challenging and its not interesting, long hours very much the norm(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "New Starter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Legal Secretary in Leeds, England
    Recommends

    I have been working at Eversheds Sutherland full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    A very friendly and welcoming place to work. From my first interview I knew this was a place I wanted to work, my experience from arranging my first interview until I was offered my role was a very positive one. Anyone you ask for help is always willing to assist, a full training schedule was in place for me when I started and I am still not under any pressure to be able to do new things - there is one to one support available along with extensive guides within the IT training pages. I feel very happy here and proud to say when asked that I work for Eversheds Sutherland.

    Show More

    Cons

    So far I have none!

    Eversheds Sutherland2019-07-26
  2. "Good firm for Graduates, not so great for others"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Legal Secretary in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Eversheds Sutherland full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Modern firm, bar on site, great City location

    Cons

    Holds a very 'University Graduate' only atmosphere. Management very friendly but have little backbone with regards to Fee Earners at the top of the hierarchical ladder. Various Senior staff treat Secretarial staff in condescending manner, and equivocal in their communication approach.

    Eversheds Sutherland2020-01-12
  3. "Do not value their support staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Legal PA in Birmingham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Eversheds Sutherland full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    35 hour working week.

    Cons

    No opportunity to flourish. Self imposed hierarchy. Poor work ethic caused by poor management of support staff.

    Advice to Management

    You need to ensure that all your employees buy in to your core company values. There are no consequences for those that have a poor work ethic meaning that those who do come to work to work hard and take an interest in what they are doing often feel under valued, not appreciated and treated unfairly.

    Eversheds Sutherland2019-12-14
  4. "Good employer but role restrictive for personal development"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Conflicts Analyst in Leeds, England

    I worked at Eversheds Sutherland full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good employee benefits Good salary Friendly team

    Cons

    Very targets driven, felt more like a number than a person Some people treated with favouritism (one rule for some and another for others) Not much responsibility, therefore not much chance to progress (either within the team or in other departments)

    Eversheds Sutherland2019-12-03
  5. "Great culture, collaborative and friendly"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources Specialist in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Eversheds Sutherland full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly, and collegiate culture with good colleagues.

    Cons

    Salary, and pension could be better.

    Eversheds Sutherland2019-11-14
  6. "Good to work for Day to Day but Few Options to Progress Long-Term"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Analyst in Leeds, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Eversheds Sutherland full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good work/life balance, modern offices, good social events, friendly colleagues

    Cons

    Lack of progression, culture of secrecy amongst management

    Advice to Management

    Be less secretive about decisions and involve more levels of employee in projects and decision-making

    Eversheds Sutherland2019-10-30
  7. "A good job (but not a career)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Admin Assistant 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Eversheds Sutherland full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good salary, nice colleagues, can get involved in charity/social side of things

    Cons

    Moving up difficult, tasks repetitive, not open to suggestions about office layout (lack of lunch space)

    Eversheds Sutherland2019-09-30
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Associate in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Eversheds Sutherland full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good people, work-life balance, innovative

    Cons

    Hard to fault, although bonuses are poor and reward chargeable hours far more than entrepreneurship and other non-chargeable activity. This despite very stellar firm performance and huge PEP gains. Also, lacking diverse leadership. The firm works very hard at gender diversity, but lacking in the rest.

    Advice to Management

    If you do not address the bonus scheme so that it rewards non-chargeable activity appropriately then you will lose diversity in your work force.

    Eversheds Sutherland2019-08-11
  9. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant in Birmingham, England
    Recommends

    I have been working at Eversheds Sutherland full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly Staff Good Salary Excellent location to city centre

    Cons

    No career progression. Not enough social aspects.

    Eversheds Sutherland2019-07-31
  10. "Eversheds Sutherland CSS Deaprtment Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Global Entity Coordinator 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Eversheds Sutherland full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good job to have on your CV if you're fresh out of uni also have a great LGBT+ community

    Cons

    Not enough career progression and it's hard for feedback to reach Management

    Eversheds Sutherland2019-07-22
Found 182 reviews