Expedia Group Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated 22 Jan 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 53 of over 5K reviews

4.0
84%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Expedia Group Vice Chairman and Chief Executive Officer Peter Kern
Peter Kern
67 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great work environment for everyone(in 258 reviews)

  • "Great benefits and work life balance(in 235 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "You need to manage work life balance(in 128 reviews)

  • "It was hard to deal with upper management sometimes(in 71 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "upper management"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great place to work

      18 Jan 2016 - Content Editor in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Loved working there. The people are amazing.

      Cons

      Communication from upper management can me confusing, as is the case with many large international companies.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Multi-cultural, multi-disciplinary, diverse and exciting - but not much support for encouraging a good work/life balance

      18 Sep 2014 - Anonymous Employee in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Expedia is the most fascinating and diverse place I've worked, my daily work brings me into contact with employees all over the world from whom I have learned (and am still learning every day) so much about the world we live in, about how people buy travel, and learning new skills from many different specialist in many different areas. The culture is friendly and helpful - you feel like you can approach anyone, even senior management, and find out whatever you need to know. Generally, the work ethic and atmosphere serves to encourage and develop you and those around you.

      Cons

      Things change frequently with the org structure - a reflection of the changing and challenging market, but also a 'no let up' approach from management. This, coupled with working with people all around the globe can lead to burn out if you're not careful - taking calls from ridiculously early in the morning to very late at night, just to be able to get that bit of information you're after in order to keep afloat in the job. Upper management may not look out for you on that score - so personal resilience is key in order to look out for yourself yet still manage to drive the results necessary in your role. There's an underlying feeling of 'don't expect to be able to move to part-time hours and expect to keep your career prospects' - could be particularly challenging if you are a new mum.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Amazing people

      3 Jul 2020 - Software Development Engineer in Montreal, QC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Expedia is a company that truly cares for its employees. It fosters a feeling of trust and collaboration between employees. Throughout my time there, I felt that the way my managers treated their directs was one of utmost respect and deep care. If something is going wrong, you will be given feedback and advice very quickly so you can adjust whatever needs to be adjusted. As a result, the people I have worked with oftentimes mirror the way they are treated by their managers and everyone will go out of their way to help you succeed and make your journey a pleasant one. People tend to be well-versed and engineers are definitely not the stereotypical reclusive programmers we've heard countless jokes on.

      Cons

      The biggest downside I can think of is the lack of innovation and how risk averse the company has become. Unless it's coming from the ground up, teams can end up working on some very minor tasks that are neither disruptive nor truly valuable for the business. If you have a team that promotes innovation and a manager that is willing to push it upward, then you will have a great time otherwise you may end up being bored and unmotivated. In my opinion, the company is clearly not innovating enough and is losing its standing but instead of trying to tackle this, upper management has been reshuffling organizations around in countless reorgs it's become dizzying.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great team and co workers

      24 Nov 2020 - Lodging Content Associate in Taipei
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Co-workers in my team are really nice, internally and globally.

      Cons

      Upper management is horrible and not helpful at all

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Nice company

      12 Jan 2021 - Customer Service Representative in London, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Talk to different types of people

      Cons

      It was hard to deal with upper management sometimes

      1 person found this review helpful
    6. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Very weak middle management.

      22 Jan 2021 - Market Associate in München, Bavaria, Bavaria
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Nice office & location. Good benefits

      Cons

      Very weak middle & upper management.

      1 person found this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      good place to work, if you only want to work

      3 Dec 2019 - Database Developer in Bellevue, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      good benefits, they had a good health plan, and offer good benefits for paternity/maternity and paid parking. lots of company sponsored lunches, events. Good communication from executive team, ample of townhalls and email communication. awesome holiday party and halloween celebrations.

      Cons

      upward mobility is difficult, if you do not mix around with the right folks and get along with them. a lot of secrecy in decision making, even in simple things like approach to a project. seems like they want people to just agree and do what is told, without understanding anything :( . middle management is only concerned about keeping up their appearances with upper management, and will sabotage any efforts by the team members to shine. depending on the team, work life balance can be impossible , but not all teams are like that.

      1 person found this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Great company to work for... if you're in the right department.

      16 Sep 2019 - Engagement Specialist in Bellevue, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I was able to work at Expedia for 3 years. I started out as a contractor in one department then was able to make my way into a permanent position in another department. I will list out below about the positives of working here. -Work/Life balance is fantastic for a corporation. I feel like the Expedia as a whole cares about their employees and wants to make sure they can actually have a life outside of work. Over-time, at least in my positions, was never a thing. If you couldn't finish your work, you just come back to it the next day without sweating it. -Benefits are solid. Starting out of the gate, you get 15 days of PTO plus 2 floating holidays. You also have 401k, health insurance options, health and wellness reimbursements up to $600 bucks and a bit of travel reimbursements. They are also willing to match up to 6% of what you invest for 401k. If you happen to work at HQ, they also provide an onsite health clinic and gym for employees. -Flexible schedules - I started my day at 6am every day just to be able to beat out traffic and was out of the office generally at 2-2:30pm. -They work hard on making sure everyone feels welcome and included no matter race or culture. They put an effort into having company events for a wide variety of different holidays. -Managers that you can relate with. I had excellent managers that actually care about how you are doing and want to know what is going on in your personal life to better accommodate you in the office. -They do want to retain people when they can. If you do your job well as a contractor, there is a good chance that they are looking to make you into a permanent employee, unlike companies like Amazon that will work people hard for 3-6 months then toss them out like office trash.

      Cons

      Depending on what department you get into, it can affect how you work and how you might feel about your job. -Some departments love using time trackers such as the Omni tool to keep tabs of what their employees are doing during the day. Upper management will say that they don't micromanage until they force your direct manager to sit down and talk about your numbers to find out how you can be 'more efficient' even if you already have good numbers. -Upper management will sometimes blatantly ignore what is being said among their employees. If big changes are made to the department, they rather stay the course even if it's burning out their workforce, just to say that something is working even though it isn't. -There isn't much room for advancement. Managers/leads tend to stay in the company for a long time, so those who are below them will hit a point where they can't advance and compensation ends up not being enough. -If you don't use all your PTO in the year, it's gone. There is no rollover for PTO but there is for sick time. Managers do make sure to mention this to their employees pretty often throughout the year but there should be some rollover. -The HR department is an absolute wreck. First off, you would think a corporation of this size should have a physical department on-site at HQ. Every one of them is remote, which makes it extremely difficult to get anything done in a timely manner. When you have something pressing to talk to HR about, you can expect it to be anywhere from 2-5 days of waiting. Yep, DAYS!!! It's infuriating when you are trying to be time conscious and they don't seem to give a damn. -If you are applying for a job, don't expect to hear back from them anytime soon. Expect on average about 50+ days to hear back from them, even if it is just to send a rejection.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    9. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      12% layoffs

      2 Mar 2020 - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Work/life balance was good - Smart, helpful colleagues - Nice office and location

      Cons

      - Layoffs, 12% of workforce, due to 1 quarter of below-forecast financial performance - Snide remarks from upper management about work/life balance, calling into question the future of this benefit

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    10. 1.0
      Former Contractor, less than 1 year

      Not a great company to work with, internal environment sucks !!

      30 Dec 2019 - Software Engineer in Gurgaon, Haryana, Haryana
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Provide Good lunch and Cab Facility

      Cons

      Upper management very political and they promote their known people. Managers who are in good terms will leadership , they screw team members like anything . I had pathetic experience working as a contractual employee. I didn't see any work life balance, Moreover been a really good performer i felt like being humiliated and tortured mentally. People are more interested in playing political games, boot licking instead of just focusing on work.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 53 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Expedia Group Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Expedia Group? Share Your Experiences

    Expedia Group logo
    or