Expedia Media Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Expedia Media Reviews

Updated 7 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
63%
Recommend to a Friend
32%
Approve of CEO
Expedia Media CEO Mark Okerstrom
Mark Okerstrom
3 Ratings
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Expedia Media full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Expedia Media Solutions is a passionate, smart group of people that are passionate about travel-tech and media. It's a great place to work for with a great team, great responsibility and oustanding benefits.

    Cons

    Some processes are a little slow, management delays decission making process, innovations are difficult to get through

    Expedia Media2016-05-20
  2. "Good benefits and environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Translator in London, England
    Recommends

    I worked at Expedia Media full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits and work environment

    Cons

    Repetitive work and time tracking

    Expedia Media2018-11-08
  3. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Expedia Media full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great Team Atmosphere and an amazing company to work for. Expedia really supports you as an employee and ensures you are given everything you need in your role.

    Cons

    You can easily hit a ceiling in your job. Changing Levels can we very tricky. Can focus more on how you can progress in your career

    Continue reading
    Expedia Media2018-07-19
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Big brand name and good career not the best place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Expedia Media full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    the location, flex hours, people, good company in general.

    Cons

    because it is a big company you feel often like a small cog unable to make a difference. clearly depending on the location you work, you are not as valued as colleagues from other offices.

    Continue reading
    Expedia Media2017-12-13
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Good overall"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Expedia Media full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great colleagues on the whole - everyone who was on the same level as me was really supportive and helpful. Great perks, trips etc.

    Cons

    Opportunities only there for those who tow the line, and don't ask any questions of management. Little room for free thinking/suggestions Lots of box ticking (peril of a big company I suppose) Not enough support for new management

    Continue reading
    Expedia Media2015-10-19
  6. "Great work / life balance, but slow progress"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Expedia Media full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You can't beat the work life balance. Very reasonable hour, everyone is friendly, overall fantastic environment. I can't imagine a chiller place to work.

    Cons

    If you're looking to move mountains, this is not the place to do it. Every moves at a glacial pace and projects are very hard to accomplish because of low peer motivation and red tape. Compared to other tech companies in Seattle their compensation is quite low.

    Expedia Media2020-02-07
  7. "Really great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lodging Content Editor in Montreal, QC

    I worked at Expedia Media full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits, fair salary, very open environment

    Cons

    Big company with little opportunity for growth, jobs descriptions are changed frequently to the point where the job you were hired for becomes something completely different.

    Continue reading
    Expedia Media2019-07-29
  8. "It was the best of times, it was the blurst of times."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Media Producer in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Expedia Media full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    You get real tight with your teammates, like Marines that have been through a secret war together. There were also cool but unreliable fringe benefits, which is what makes them fringe benefits vs reliable everyday benefits; like Seahawks marching band would party at our offices when it was Superbowl and USA Today covered it. One year, my division of the company had a fancy Christmas lunch at a hotel. But it was just that one year out of more than five I worked there. It was like startup hustle energy everyday so when I left Expedia to work at a real start up, I was well prepared.

    Cons

    HR was non-existent for staff or only there to serve corrupt management. A lot of secrecy about little projects and worry about corporate espionage that would probably never really happen. People brought dogs and kids into the office often, even though we did not welcome kids outside of holiday events, and dogs were banned in our building. The company distributed an annual bonus that was not pegged to your performance but to how well the company did as a whole in the last year. One year our CEO got a bonus that literally broke world records for how much a CEO could make in a year, but the rest of us at Expedia got really small annual bonuses and we were told it was because "the company underperformed." It was implied that we caused the underperformance. I found bags of what appeared to be cocaine at least 2 times in conference rooms my team had scheduled. My manager accused me of having affairs with a teammate but did not give same accusations to the teammate I was supposedly having affair with. They did this repeatedly for years and HR was aware but didn't care.

    Continue reading
    Expedia Media2019-07-22
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Expedia inc."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Tier III Customer Service Representative 

    I worked at Expedia Media full-time

    Pros

    Job provided coupons and good discounts.

    Cons

    Management sucks, the schedule sucks, training sucks

    Expedia Media2019-04-29
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Going downhill"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Saleforce Administrator in Bellevue, WA
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Expedia Media full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good work/life balance, good people

    Cons

    New leadership lurches from one bad decision to another and struggles when anyone brings up the declining culture and happiness

    Continue reading
    Expedia Media2019-03-07

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 28 reviews