Experis Contractor Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Experis Contractor Reviews

Updated Aug 23, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
57%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Experis  Experis UK  and Ireland Martin Ewings
Martin Ewings
1 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Full time temporary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Contractor Care in Altrincham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Experis full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great staff, incentives, sociable office

    Cons

    low pay, some monotonous work, poor computer systems

    Advice to Management

    n/a

    Experis2018-01-16
  2. "Working for Experis"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Contractor Care in Altrincham, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Experis full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Experis has a great working environment with friendly, positive colleagues. You are made to feel welcome from the get go and are supported where you need it. There are regular newsletters to highlight those who have done well with a token gift as a thank you which is nice to see.

    Cons

    The pay isn't necessarily very good and you cant earn commission until you have worked with the company for 6 months and providing you have passed probation.

    Experis2019-08-21
  3. "Nice place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Contractor Care in Altrincham, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Experis full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very easy going place to work and staff are all friendly. I generally enjoy working here.

    Cons

    I have only been at Experis 3 month and haven't yet had a bad experience.

    Advice to Management

    I appreciate the day to day of a manager can be very busy however all I would say is when people are brand new to the business, maybe try and put time aside to help them where is needed as when you are completely new to a role and finding your feet, management are the people we turn to for help.

    Experis2019-08-21
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Good people hampered by useless bullies as management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Contractor Care in Altrincham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Experis full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Most of the people are fantastic and the job is relatively interesting enough to keep you busy for a while. The overall rating is two stars purely for the peers you get to work with, otherwise it would be one.

    Cons

    MANAGEMENT. The department dropped from about seven managers to three, only one of whom is competent. Of the other two one is lazy and uncommunicative and it is blatantly obvious that the only reason she keeps her job is her friendship with her direct manager. The other is more interested in climbing the ladder than looking after her team and clients. Both of these managers have had numerous complaints of bullying... made about them by various different people (all of whom have now left the business, some stating explicitly that they were leaving because of their manager). As far as those watching could see, the results of these serious complaints were absolutely zero. No official investigations, no statements taken, no punishments. Which accurately describes how this company sees people. Unless your face fits, you keep your mouth shut and nod along like a well-trained puppy when they're lying to your face and tripling your workload with no pay raise, they couldn't care less how good you are at your job. One team of about fifteen lost a total of fourteen people in around eight months, and no one thought to question why this had happened, or even listen to people raising their concerns. They secretly hire people on a higher wage under the disguise of a higher job title but don't tell anyone, so you're effectively sitting there training someone being paid a couple of grand more than you who is supposed to be your senior team member and someone to support you. They also lie in interviews about how much money you start out on, conveniently forgetting to mention that the annual sum they flog it to you as, you only actually get after a six month probation and if you meet your targets. Also you will be earning significantly less than anyone in Recruitment. You will be completely disregarded despite the fact that the company couldn’t function without the back office departments. Promotions are only offered after you threaten to leave, and even then very grudgingly and with the minimum offered to keep you there. You will receive little to no training from people already doing three other people’s jobs who are therefore unable to support you.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You need to go back to smaller teams with more managers so the excuse of "my team is too big to manage" can't be used any more. Implement a thorough training program for new starters. Stop hiring people in secret as seniors it creates distrust and friction amongst the teams. Take a SERIOUS look into the bullying problem going on and stop dismissing the complaints and concerns that are raised. Your pay structure is... absolutely appalling, it needs to be significantly increased for the complicated job you are selling as "admin".

    Show More
    Experis2019-05-31
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Change is really needed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Contractor Care in Altrincham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Experis full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Some great people working there

    Cons

    Employees, especially support staff, are overworked and underpaid, even with a recent pay rise this does nothing to compensate for the workload and stress put on support staff. Despite a pay rise the salary is still considerably lower than other recruitment companies and administration roles - you can go down the road for a job that has better hours, pays more and is far less stress. As more and more people leave... they are not replaced and their workload is added to the remaining support staff who are already struggling to cope. Management is completely out of touch - your team manager is either entirely absent, spending little to no time supporting their team, or bullying other staff members (to the point several people have been driven to leave because of this behavior). A new system was brought in which was not ready to go live making an already bad situation far worse despite multiple warnings from the team testing it that is was not ready to be used. The consequence of this was that oftentimes staff have to resort to going out of process just to get the basics of the job done efficiently. Where people used to stay with the company for years staff are now leaving at an alarming rate including many long-term staff with valuable knowledge and newer members of staff staying just a few weeks before they've had enough. New staff are lied to in interviews being promised good career progression when really there is none and a salary higher than what they will receive for the first 6 months

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Total change is needed in the atmosphere, culture, training structure, teams and management. Smaller teams are needed and those teams need to be properly supported with a manager who is present and willing to help not bully or is reluctant to even train new team members. Senior management need to take a long look at how many people have left within the last 18 months and see why this is. It is not normal for... almost all of an entire team to leave in quick succession or for so many people to be signed off and not return.

    Show More
    Experis2019-06-14
  6. "Staff at Experis"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Contractor Care Representative in Altrincham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Experis full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Each member of staff is supportive and approachable. Evidence of their support includes their proactive ways of meeting and greeting you: by email, online meeting with board members, in person and sat beside you. As a result, you soon feel as though you are a well-respected family member. The effect of the above is you soon feel very comfortable to approach colleagues with any concerns or issues you believe that... you may have. The colleagues show you the process to use just in case they are not there next time you have any issues or concerns and because they do not want anyone to feel unsupported. This is positive for the organisation because it results in you aiming to perform to the best of your ability, everyday.

    Show More

    Cons

    Much of the work I do is on computer, which is necessary because my role supports contractors who work throughout the UK. Because those people depend upon me responding to their simple questions and queries, I believe one must be computer literate enough to reply to emails yet be confident enough to ask questions regarding which database to retrieve the simple information.

    Advice to Management

    Please continue to place staff into the types of teams that you do because it creates an effective skill-base for retrieval of information and support.

    Experis2017-08-01
  7. "Working for Experis Staffing Agency"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Contractor in Highlands Ranch, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Experis full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Only Staffing agency I have worked for that is so interactive with their employees once on assignment.

    Cons

    No paid time off or holiday pay.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you do. It works!

    Experis2019-08-23
  8. "I was a contractor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Contractor in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Experis full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Attentive to workers; supportive and helpful

    Cons

    Limited term positions because they are contracted and not permanent

    Experis2019-07-17
  9. "Shady and dishonorable experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Freelancer - Contractor in Sacramento, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Experis for less than a year

    Pros

    Only thing I can think of is that they pay you every week.

    Cons

    The company will not pay you for holidays when your employer is closed; only until you have worked for them nine months or 1000 total business hours. No paid time off or bereavement leave is offered, only time off you gain is sick time averaging at 2 hours a week maxing at 3 days off. The benefits are non existent for the first three months, then when it kicks in for dental, vision, and medical you're looking at... $125 a week totaling $500 a month in medical insurance premium cost. The recruiters are friendly when they are courting you, however they were not reliable on multiple occasions, and very calloused when presented with job concerns or questions. When I would call I would be directed person to person with no proper answers or follow up from them. The Experis office will periodically send contractors an email asking for their feedback but beware bad reviews have consequences. One of the Experis recruiters didn't know I worked for them and contacted me about a role I currently had within their agency, when I questioned if I should be concerned about my employment I was informed no that I was doing a great job. The following week I was let go and denied unemployment by their company.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Treat the contractors better as they are they are the face and voice out there representing the company. Experis won't be able to trick the publics perception with consistently worded single lined high rating phony reviews on GlassDoor for long.

    Experis2019-03-15
  10. "Great contract"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Contractor in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Experis for more than a year

    Pros

    Communication is always Paramount from management

    Cons

    Never really sure about contract status, though not Experis' fault.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing a great job.

    Experis2018-12-18
Found 16 reviews