Explore Schools Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Explore Schools Reviews

Updated 21 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

2.9
51%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Explore Schools Executive Director and Superintendent  Carrie Mauer and Christina Froeb  (no image)
Carrie Mauer and Christina Froeb
5 Ratings
Pros
  • "Students and families are wonderful(in 4 reviews)

  • "Staff members (instructional and otherwise) care deeply for the students and their families and work hard to get results(in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours with little support or guidance from leaders(in 10 reviews)

  • "Teachers have far from enough prep time to do everything that is required(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Amazing support but overworked/micromanaged"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Teacher 

    I worked at Explore Schools full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing support from other teachers

    Cons

    Coaching often turned into micromanagement

    Explore Schools2020-02-21
  2. "A good organization with a clear mission."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruiting Assistant 

    I worked at Explore Schools part-time

    Pros

    Friendly co-workers make it easier going to work every day.

    Cons

    Can't think of any.

    Explore Schools2019-11-06
  3. "Teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Explore Schools

    Pros

    Students and families make the hard work worthwhile

    Cons

    High retention impedes progress Ill-equipped leaders Long hours

    Explore Schools2019-10-16
  4. "Fast paced work environment, opportunities for growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Associate in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Explore Schools full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I met some really passionate people who were dedicated to the mission, the work is demanding and challenging. You can see the difference you are making in the day-to-day operations. Good benefits and great office space to work in.

    Cons

    There is a lot of shuffling of people around all the time. People leave and get reassigned to new roles all the time. I was hired for a specific position but my job was morphing into more management and less data analysis, which I did not prefer.

    Explore Schools2019-08-01
  5. "Growth Mindset"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teacher in Brooklyn, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Explore Schools full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Explore is a nice place to work, the leaders are constantly working on their own growth and that trickles down to the employees.

    Cons

    Everyone doesn't have the same mission

    Continue reading
    Explore Schools2019-07-31
  6. "Growing Community School"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Explore Schools full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Competitive salary - Reflective and humble network leadership - Awesome community

    Cons

    - Inefficient systems - Still working on being a stable organization

    Explore Schools2019-05-12
  7. "Incredible place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Brooklyn, NY
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Explore Schools full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    As an employee of Explore Schools for over 5 years, I can honestly say I've never worked in a more supportive, dedicated work environment. I've loved expereincing how hard work & expectations translate into significant growth in student achievement, and on a personal level, as a working mom, it's been wonderful to work for colleagues that value work/life balance.

    Cons

    You're held to high expectations, which can be a pro or a con... :)

    Explore Schools2019-05-08
  8. Helpful (2)

    "A great time to join!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Network Leader 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Explore Schools full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Results for students! Explore Schools has shown significant improvement in student achievement over the past 2 years. Amazing colleagues. One of the most frequent reasons staff members give for loving working at Explore is the people they get to work with. We have a wonderful team of staff who share a deep commitment to our mission. Investment in development. Explore believes in providing development opportunities and coaching to help those who work here meet their fullest potential. Rigorous curriculum. We have strong core curricular resources that challenge and engage students, and that ensure that teachers and leaders can focus their time on supporting student learning through intentional preparation and responsiveness to data.

    Cons

    The pace of work can be overwhelming at times. This is the result of an incredibly hard working team of adults who want to do everything they can to support their students. As an organization that has seen a lot of change over recent years, there is still a steep learning curve - relatively new curriculum and processes take time to fully internalize and implement. However, with increased retention and consistency in our approach, I expect this to improve in the coming years!

    Explore Schools2019-04-17
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great people culture, growing school"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teacher in Brooklyn, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Explore Schools full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people culture and the students are fun, smart, and cheerful.

    Cons

    Few teacher support. Students can get lost in the lack of teacher training, and therefore, act out. The school is growing and its an ideal place if you want to take part in the growth. Not so great if you're looking to master your craft.

    Explore Schools2019-03-21
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Up and Coming!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Network Leader 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Explore Schools full-time

    Pros

    Explore Schools has shown dramatic improvement in the past 2 years on all quantifiable metrics, including student achievement and staff and leadership retention. This network has the foundation and people to provide an excellent educational option, where students are known, and they are challenged. Teachers and leaders are valued, supported and developed, and the staff culture is collaborative and kind. The network is committed to improving practices around diversity, equity and inclusion. Although there is lots of room to grow, this charter network is a great place to work.

    Cons

    Explore Schools staff have experienced many changes over the past few years and change is good, but can also be hard. Especially for newer staff, the hours are long.

    Explore Schools2019-03-09

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 59 reviews