Explore Schools Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Explore Schools Reviews

Updated 6 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.9
51%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Explore Schools CEO Carrie Mauer and Christina Froeb  (no image)
Carrie Mauer and Christina Froeb
5 Ratings
Pros
  • "Students and families are wonderful(in 4 reviews)

  • "Staff members (instructional and otherwise) care deeply for the students and their families and work hard to get results(in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours with little support or guidance from leaders(in 10 reviews)

  • "Teachers have far from enough prep time to do everything that is required(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "A good organization with a clear mission."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruiting Assistant 

    I worked at Explore Schools part-time

    Pros

    Friendly co-workers make it easier going to work every day.

    Cons

    Can't think of any.

    Explore Schools2019-11-06
  2. "Teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Explore Schools

    Pros

    Students and families make the hard work worthwhile

    Cons

    High retention impedes progress Ill-equipped leaders Long hours

    Explore Schools2019-10-16
  3. "Fast paced work environment, opportunities for growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Associate in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Explore Schools full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I met some really passionate people who were dedicated to the mission, the work is demanding and challenging. You can see the difference you are making in the day-to-day operations. Good benefits and great office space to work in.

    Cons

    There is a lot of shuffling of people around all the time. People leave and get reassigned to new roles all the time. I was hired for a specific position but my job was morphing into more management and less data analysis, which I did not prefer.

    Explore Schools2019-08-01
  4. "Growth Mindset"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teacher in Brooklyn, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Explore Schools full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Explore is a nice place to work, the leaders are constantly working on their own growth and that trickles down to the employees.

    Cons

    Everyone doesn't have the same mission

    Advice to Management

    Team building activities for staff

    Explore Schools2019-07-31
  5. "Growing Community School"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Explore Schools full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Competitive salary - Reflective and humble network leadership - Awesome community

    Cons

    - Inefficient systems - Still working on being a stable organization

    Explore Schools2019-05-12
  6. "Incredible place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Brooklyn, NY
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Explore Schools full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    As an employee of Explore Schools for over 5 years, I can honestly say I've never worked in a more supportive, dedicated work environment. I've loved expereincing how hard work & expectations translate into significant growth in student achievement, and on a personal level, as a working mom, it's been wonderful to work for colleagues that value work/life balance.

    Cons

    You're held to high expectations, which can be a pro or a con... :)

    Explore Schools2019-05-08
  7. Helpful (2)

    "A great time to join!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Network Leader 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Explore Schools full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Results for students! Explore Schools has shown significant improvement in student achievement over the past 2 years. Amazing colleagues. One of the most frequent reasons staff members give for loving working at Explore is the people they get to work with. We have a wonderful team of staff who share a deep commitment to our mission. Investment in development. Explore believes in providing development... opportunities and coaching to help those who work here meet their fullest potential. Rigorous curriculum. We have strong core curricular resources that challenge and engage students, and that ensure that teachers and leaders can focus their time on supporting student learning through intentional preparation and responsiveness to data.

    Show More

    Cons

    The pace of work can be overwhelming at times. This is the result of an incredibly hard working team of adults who want to do everything they can to support their students. As an organization that has seen a lot of change over recent years, there is still a steep learning curve - relatively new curriculum and processes take time to fully internalize and implement. However, with increased retention and consistency in... our approach, I expect this to improve in the coming years!

    Show More
    Explore Schools2019-04-17
  8. "Great people culture, growing school"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teacher in Brooklyn, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Explore Schools full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people culture and the students are fun, smart, and cheerful.

    Cons

    Few teacher support. Students can get lost in the lack of teacher training, and therefore, act out. The school is growing and its an ideal place if you want to take part in the growth. Not so great if you're looking to master your craft.

    Explore Schools2019-03-21
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Up and Coming!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Network Leader 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Explore Schools full-time

    Pros

    Explore Schools has shown dramatic improvement in the past 2 years on all quantifiable metrics, including student achievement and staff and leadership retention. This network has the foundation and people to provide an excellent educational option, where students are known, and they are challenged. Teachers and leaders are valued, supported and developed, and the staff culture is collaborative and kind. The network... is committed to improving practices around diversity, equity and inclusion. Although there is lots of room to grow, this charter network is a great place to work.

    Show More

    Cons

    Explore Schools staff have experienced many changes over the past few years and change is good, but can also be hard. Especially for newer staff, the hours are long.

    Explore Schools2019-03-09
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Unorganized Network. Very Disappointing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teacher 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Explore Schools full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The salary is decent here. If you are a young person 22-30 there are a lot of opportunities to build lasting friendships with other staff members, good for people who are new to this city.

    Cons

    This place is so disorganized from the network leaders all the way down to the individual building leaders. There is nothing that is well thought out or rolled out to teachers and it creates a chaotic environment where teachers and students cannot thrive. the leaders here are very inexperienced and unprofessional. From the way that they dress to the way that they speak to employees it creates a place that no one... would want to work at. every teacher is held to different expectations and it seems as though more people can get away with things that others cannot. They love to ask for your feedback but they do not really care or respect it. the leaders here make judgments based on 1 or 2 observations and that seems to follow you throughout your career here no matter how much you improve as a teacher. If you want to work at a charter school there are so many more well developed networks that will support new teachers in their journey of education and this is definitely not the place where good solid teacher development happens.

    Show More
    Explore Schools2019-02-05
Found 58 reviews