ExxonMobil Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

ExxonMobil Engineer Reviews

Updated 16 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 334 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
79%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
ExxonMobil CEO Darren Woods
Darren Woods
41 Ratings
  1. "Process design engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Process Engineer in Southampton, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at ExxonMobil full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Professional, ethical, industry leading, values technical careers.

    Cons

    Beauracratic, conservative, slow to change.

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    ExxonMobil2016-11-06
  2. Helpful (1)

    "mechanical engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mechanical Engineer 
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at ExxonMobil full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great American company, can do attitude

    Cons

    Bureaucratic, favorites move ahead at the expense of others

    Advice to Management

    Connect with the bottom levels of the company

    ExxonMobil2018-04-30
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Not for me"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineering Intern in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at ExxonMobil

    Pros

    High intern salary, good benefits.

    Cons

    There were lots of cons:. 1) Almost all of my colleagues looked unhappy all the time which made me wonder whether it was the company making them miserable, as that was the only thing they all had in common. 2) You do become an Exxon robot. You are supposed to think (and even walk!) in a particular manner defined by Exxon. Independent thinking/ novel approach is NOT appreciated. 3) Technical incompetence: although the...

    Show More
    ExxonMobil2016-06-28
  4. "Benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mechanical Engineer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ExxonMobil

    Pros

    I absolutely love the environment of working at ExxonMobil. Not only because the flexible hours of work I get during my career but the salary is also on point

    Cons

    There is nothing I dislike from ExxonMobil

    Advice to Management

    I hope you will always give the best services

    ExxonMobil2016-05-10
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Very political and not forward thinking"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at ExxonMobil full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good work life balance, great place if you just want to do your job then go home

    Cons

    Appraisal system is awful, its not about the job you do its just a big popularity contest. Big organisation that is stuck in its ways, change happens at a glacial pace. Too political.

    Advice to Management

    Lots of good people and ideas wasted at the bottom

    ExxonMobil2016-03-27
  6. "Good company- but need to know the system and like it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Equipment Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at ExxonMobil full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - good salary+ several benefits (health insurance, commuting allowance, pension) - good training program - World wide opportunities

    Cons

    - ranking system which determines everything: wage, job opportunities - company decides which job you need to do next - colleagues are sometimes more competitors

    Advice to Management

    Abolsih the ranking system!

    ExxonMobil2014-12-04
  7. "Its a remarkable company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Project Engineer in Aberdeen, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at ExxonMobil for more than 5 years

    Pros

    It brings out the true potential in you

    Cons

    Salary review are done every few years , this matter should be looked into

    Advice to Management

    More talented professional should be employed as the company growth is unstoppable

    ExxonMobil2014-01-10
  8. "very sad place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mechanical Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ExxonMobil full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    good to have the name on your CV for future jobs.

    Cons

    poor pay, not a good culture to work in and still in the 1970's.

    Advice to Management

    good engineers are all leaving to join better companies, sadly your left with lots of average.

    ExxonMobil2013-02-26
  9. "No clarity and prejudice is prevalent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mechanical Engineering Co-Op 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at ExxonMobil for less than a year

    Pros

    Pay is excellent and safety is priority

    Cons

    Management will tell you one thing, and then at the 11th hour will go backwards on what they said. Also had several instances of prejudice, so keep that in mind when working in the South for the company.

    Advice to Management

    hire better people for managers instead of just highly technical people

    ExxonMobil2019-07-16
  10. "Good company but NOT for Software Engineers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Bangalore
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at ExxonMobil full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good work life balance. Good compensation. Healthy process oriented work environment. Global exposure and accessible top management.

    Cons

    strictly Control oriented organization who do not want to change and who strongly impose rules based age old philosophy. Forget your current job profile. They will put you anywhere, anyplace, you don't get to choose or complain. Strictly Not a place for software guys. They hire experienced software developers and make them work on IT tickets. Its all support work here. So don't get lured on company rank and salary...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    you need to bring real software specialist to leadership role who can drive software technology growth in the company. And please understand software development and IT support roles are different.

    ExxonMobil2019-07-14
Found 334 reviews