ExxonMobil Intern Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Find jobs for Intern

ExxonMobil Intern Reviews

Updated 3 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
86%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
ExxonMobil Chairman & CEO Darren Woods
Darren Woods
13 Ratings
  1. "Summer internship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at ExxonMobil part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free Gym Subsidised meals Very friendly

    Cons

    Leatherhead location is quite far from london

    ExxonMobil2019-09-23
  2. "moderate experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Intern 

    I worked at ExxonMobil

    Pros

    Project is very interesting and engaging

    Cons

    The LPSA system is a little overkill

    ExxonMobil2019-10-14
  3. "Summer Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Summer Intern in Fawley, Hampshire, South East England, England
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at ExxonMobil for less than a year

    Pros

    Current full-time employees are happy to help, you do need to take an initiative to find them however.

    Cons

    Some of the managers should not be in that position, not very patient or understanding with new interns. Good work is not rewarded, and if you make a mistake it is not easily forgiven. There is a large number of interns and they are all pitted against eachother, felt a bit like being in the Hunger Games. You do not get a true sense of what it would be like to work at the company as you are merely given a project to complete.

    Show More
    ExxonMobil2018-10-23
  4. "Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Intern in Leatherhead, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at ExxonMobil full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Subsidised Lunches Great work-life balance

    Cons

    Quiet nearly empty offices

    ExxonMobil2017-11-03
  5. "Summer Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Summer Intern in Leatherhead, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at ExxonMobil for less than a year

    Pros

    Good renumeration and quick feedback at the end of internship.

    Cons

    Had a very simple. dull project involving training employees. Wasn't to the same level as the other interns, who have important and integrated projects with their teams. Strong culture within the company, either you fit or you don't.

    Advice to Management

    Be more explicit about contents of internship and ensure all projects are at the same level.

    ExxonMobil2017-02-01
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Not for me"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Engineering Intern in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at ExxonMobil

    Pros

    High intern salary, good benefits.

    Cons

    There were lots of cons:. 1) Almost all of my colleagues looked unhappy all the time which made me wonder whether it was the company making them miserable, as that was the only thing they all had in common. 2) You do become an Exxon robot. You are supposed to think (and even walk!) in a particular manner defined by Exxon. Independent thinking/ novel approach is NOT appreciated. 3) Technical incompetence: although the company prides itself on its 'technical excellence' I observed some major incompetence from rather senior engineers in the short time that I spent working there. 4) I got the impression that the company rewarded those who shouted the loudest, rather than those who got the work done. 5) Interns + graduates work longer hours than contracted.

    Show More
    ExxonMobil2016-06-28
  7. "Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Intern in Leatherhead, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at ExxonMobil for less than a year

    Pros

    - well known company (although not respected outside Oil & Gas)

    Cons

    - culture is too unflexible - managers were disappointing - lack of ambition among peers - risk averse

    ExxonMobil2016-02-01
  8. "Nice atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Summer Intern 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at ExxonMobil

    Pros

    Good structure. Friendly environment. Lots of perks

    Cons

    Not very dynamic. No idea where you will be put next.

    Advice to Management

    n/a

    ExxonMobil2015-08-23
  9. "Good pay but poor work/life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Intern in Southampton, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at ExxonMobil for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay. If you perform extremely well can accelerate through management quickly.

    Cons

    Poor work/life balance. BIt of a blame culture and top down management. Sometimes can get stuck in a position and find it hard to rise up the organisation. Some workers can be a bit unfriendly due to be overworked.

    ExxonMobil2014-10-07
  10. "Know your stuff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Environmental Intern in Houston, TX
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at ExxonMobil for less than a year

    Pros

    Effective company resources and online tools

    Cons

    Lots of competition As well as tough environment

    Advice to Management

    Listen to employees At meetings

    ExxonMobil2020-01-04
Found 124 reviews