ExxonMobil Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

ExxonMobil Reviews

Updated 22 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 2585 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
74%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
ExxonMobil CEO Darren Woods
Darren Woods
341 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Not for me"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineering Intern in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at ExxonMobil

    Pros

    High intern salary, good benefits.

    Cons

    There were lots of cons:. 1) Almost all of my colleagues looked unhappy all the time which made me wonder whether it was the company making them miserable, as that was the only thing they all had in common. 2) You do become an Exxon robot. You are supposed to think (and even walk!) in a particular manner defined by Exxon. Independent thinking/ novel approach is NOT appreciated. 3) Technical incompetence: although the...

    Show More
    ExxonMobil2016-06-28
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Business services"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Leatherhead, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at ExxonMobil for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Subsidised lunches and nice corporate office.

    Cons

    If you're white, male and American you will do well in Exxon provided you're popular and an efficient brown noser. Ok salary, very flat organisation, process orientated environment. Not a dynamic environment at all. No bonuses, flawed ranking system. Company doesn't encourage innovation or thinking out side the box. You are an Exxon robot. Do not join as a graduate. Promises made but never kept. Lack of company growth...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Open your eyes. Listen to your people.

    ExxonMobil2016-06-14
  3. "Benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mechanical Engineer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ExxonMobil

    Pros

    I absolutely love the environment of working at ExxonMobil. Not only because the flexible hours of work I get during my career but the salary is also on point

    Cons

    There is nothing I dislike from ExxonMobil

    Advice to Management

    I hope you will always give the best services

    ExxonMobil2016-05-10
  4. "Contract Administrator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Manager in Reading, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at ExxonMobil full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    None that I can think of, apart from a 2% fuel allowance discount when using the company esso card other than that nothing.

    Cons

    Peer review process. The location is very limiting out behind a housing estate in Leatherhead. The company/office a target for environmental protesters.

    Advice to Management

    I did not enjoy working for exxon mobil at all. I found the appraisal review was not taken into account for the peer review system which seemed like a mechanism founded by GEC.

    ExxonMobil2016-05-06
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Very political and not forward thinking"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at ExxonMobil full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good work life balance, great place if you just want to do your job then go home

    Cons

    Appraisal system is awful, its not about the job you do its just a big popularity contest. Big organisation that is stuck in its ways, change happens at a glacial pace. Too political.

    Advice to Management

    Lots of good people and ideas wasted at the bottom

    ExxonMobil2016-03-27
  6. "EM"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at ExxonMobil full-time

    Pros

    Good Work Life Balance Great Projects

    Cons

    Ranking System Speed of upwards progression

    ExxonMobil2016-02-25
  7. "IT company has a Hypocrite Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England

    I worked at ExxonMobil full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great company to learn integrated IT systems, enterprise applications and deploying global complex projects. Also, invests heavily in providing training to employees

    Cons

    Extremely hierarchical and political. The organization published values are not aligned with reality. stuck in a silo environment with forced ranking. Most managers and employees are more focused on getting ahead than generating value to the company. An ideal place for those that just want a job but not those that are looking to be innovative and agent of change

    ExxonMobil2016-02-01
  8. "Good as a temporary job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at ExxonMobil full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You cam get it easily, and can transfer among sites depending on the availability of vacancies.. Its shift system and you can choose to work the time that best suits you, there are normally three shifts every day 8 hour each

    Cons

    Wage is not that good... And you need to stand for whole shift, and lot of work to do, including shelving, coffee machine cleaning and cleaning of store as well

    Advice to Management

    As compare to the current wage rate the work which an employees has to do should be made easy so more people could consider this job

    ExxonMobil2016-01-09
  9. "good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ExxonMobil

    Pros

    very helpful colleuges, challenging What is the purpose of the Data Link?

    Cons

    no negatives, nice place to work

    Advice to Management

    nothing much, keep up the good work

    ExxonMobil2016-01-06
  10. "Very good relations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at ExxonMobil full-time

    Pros

    -Many of the project leaders and business management guys know what they are talking about -Freedom to do what you think is right

    Cons

    -Can be long hours -On call 5 days a week 24 hours a day -Breaks are not very long

    Advice to Management

    Keep a rota for the on call engineer as it can be quite annoying when you just try to get into bed and you get a call to come back to work on any weekday night

    ExxonMobil2015-12-05
Found 2585 reviews