FDM Group Applications Support Analyst Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Find jobs for Applications Support Analyst

FDM Group Applications Support Analyst Reviews

Updated 27 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .
2.4
84%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
FDM Group CEO, Founder, and Director Rod Flavell
Rod Flavell
16 Ratings
  1. Helpful (4)

    "IT Career Kickstarter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Applications Support Analyst in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FDM Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working for FDM has been a great experience for me. The commercially-relevant training instantly gave me credibility as a qualified IT professional. I have worked with some fantastic clients and had invaluable exposure at an early stage in my career, which allowed me to progress faster than expected. Most importantly I have met some great like-minded people on my FDM journey.

    Cons

    The initial training is very intense and unpaid, which can be a struggle, but if you can get through it, its all uphill there onwards. Also the fixed salary for the first two years is not great, especially when you are expected to be geographically flexible, but you learn so much in these two years and can command almost double in your 3rd year.

    Continue reading
    FDM Group2014-04-25
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work where people want to listen to you"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Applications Support Analyst in Leeds, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FDM Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great training environment with loads of support and a nice atmosphere Opportunities available to work for some great clients

    Cons

    Communications between academy and sales could be better

    Continue reading
    FDM Group2019-01-22
  3. "Good for Graduates but get out after 2 Years!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Applications Support Analyst in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FDM Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Training - Access to Big Companies - Opportunities at different Countries

    Cons

    - Low Pay during the first 2 Years - No Pay during Training - Hard to get support and communicate with Staff

    FDM Group2018-08-06
  4. "Exploiters"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Applications Support Analyst in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at FDM Group for less than a year

    Pros

    If you can afford your expenditures from 6 months to a full year without getting paid, it can be for you

    Cons

    The business idea is to scoop possible candidates from market and charge present them from FDM side and keep the lion's share of what they make

    Continue reading
    FDM Group2018-02-14

    FDM Group Response

    February 27, 2018Commercial Director

    I’m sorry to hear that you had a negative experience with FDM. We appreciate that the programme may not suit everyone, which is why we try to be as transparent as possible and go through the model as well as all the terms and conditions during the assessment process. We present the whole programme including the commitment by FDM and the commitment expected from you. There is a 2 week ‘cooling off’ period after starting for you to really work out if FDM is the right career move for you. As you will be aware, FDM funds the training and it is only once an individual is placed on site that FDM can begin to recoup our upfront investment in you. Therefore, it is not in our interest to have anyone sitting around without a placement or not getting paid. Our commitment to our consultants in the UK is placing them within 90 days, and if we cannot keep this commitment then they are free to leave FDM without any obligation to pay back the costs. In these situations, we would be at a loss and therefore it is certainly not something that happens often. The vast majority of FDM consultants progress to enjoy successful and rewarding careers. I’m really sorry that it didn’t work out for you though. If you have any more feedback, please feel free to email me directly at andy.brown@fdmgroup.com. Andy Brown – Chief Commercial Officer

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (5)

    "Not Competitive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Applications Support Analyst in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at FDM Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Easy entry into IT from other industries. The oppurtunity to work at one of their clients that are impossible to get into otherwise.

    Cons

    Not flexible with doing extra training. Poor/No colleague perks. Poor pay packed. Minimum holidays. No sick pay. Poor treatment of staff. Aggressive account managers. You can be placed anywhere around the country. No choice of who you want to be placed with (unless you get there first).

    Continue reading
    FDM Group2017-07-24

    FDM Group Response

    July 31, 2017CIO

    Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are always looking for ways to improve and if you are willing to meet with me to discuss your ideas further, I would welcome the opportunity. I am particularly keen to speak about the additional training you would like to take. I am confused about your comment around flexibility as we continuously encourage further training. We also offer Pluralsight to continue learning and developing your skills. Please come and see me or email me at Jonathan.Young@fdmgroup.com Jonathan Young – CIO

    Continue reading
  6. "Fun, challenging and fast paced with great career prospects. Fast growing company."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Applications Support Analyst in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FDM Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fast growing company Extensive client list Fantastic opportunities for graduates

    Cons

    No major cons as yet.

    FDM Group2013-06-14
  7. "Great to get a foot in the door of an investment bank, poorly paid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Applications Support Analyst in London, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at FDM Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Can almost guarantee you a job in an investment wih the prospects of a great career Nearly all investment banks are their clients

    Cons

    Money terrible; 22k yr 1 27k yr2 After the two yrs if you want to go contracting with your employer u have to either buy out for 3months gross or leave for 6 months and come back

    Continue reading
    FDM Group2013-05-04
  8. "Application Support Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Applications Support Analyst in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at FDM Group for less than a year

    Pros

    Good experience, lots of learning opportunities using different softwares and skill sets. Good opportunity to get into the finance and IT sectors

    Cons

    Some trainings are good, but not enough practise. Some trainings are useless and spent too much time on them. No wages, need to support yourself for the duration of the training and 90 days. (Min:10 weeks Max: 6 months)

    FDM Group2013-03-21
  9. "Current Mountie"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Applications Support Analyst in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FDM Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I seeked employment for five months after I finished university, and failed to gain ONE interview in this time. I trained in Application Support and have just been placed at Barclays after 4 months at FDM. It has been hard on my money, but as a route into the world of finance, it is helped. FDM could improve some areas, the VBA course is one example. But it is a lie to say they mis-inform you! I would like to point out that my experience differs greatly from some of the reviews I have seen. I knew entirely about the salary, when I would be paid, the 2 year commitment. It was discussed in my first interview and on the assessment day! In all honesty, My experience of FDM has been mostly positive, especially now I have been placed. I am personal friends with 3 members of staff and to even suggest that they have "no moral ethics" is very strange. I am sure other mounties will suggest I jump on the bandwagon and write an overly negative opinion of my time at FDM, but the truth is my experience has been what I expected, and I got what I wanted out of it, which was a job and the chance at work in the finance sector. THATS THE MAIN THING!

    Cons

    The salary could be bigger in London. We are left to independantly learn Training is difficult at points

    Continue reading
    FDM Group2012-11-30
  10. Helpful (15)

    "OK in terms of getting experience of the financial IT area, but not much else."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Applications Support Analyst in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at FDM Group

    Pros

    The only reason I see as beneficial from working with FDM has been the chance to gain experience in financial (investment bank in my case) IT industry.

    Cons

    - Renumeration is less than the equivalent level (entry/graduate) roles for permanent employees at financial insitutions. - No real benefits other than a salary (no pension, bike2work, dental etc etc) - The training is not a very high standard (class environment is akin to being back at sixth form college unfortunately) - No objectives setting when on a placement, no apparaisal/review system. Left to your own devices unless you have any issues.

    Continue reading
    FDM Group2012-05-03
Found 23 reviews