FDM Group Applications Support Analyst Reviews

Updated 26 Mar 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
44%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
FDM Group CEO, Founder, and Director Rod Flavell
Rod Flavell
21 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Long term worth it

    18 Sep 2020 - Applications Analyst in London, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Training for complete tech beginners - Gain experience while having job security

    Cons

    - Stuck in a 2 year contract - Poor salary for 2 years

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Current Employee

    a

    26 Mar 2021 - Applications Support Analyst in London, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Helpful to find all placements

    Cons

    not allowed to reject any placement

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 4.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great place to work where people want to listen to you

    22 Jan 2019 - Applications Support Analyst in Leeds, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great training environment with loads of support and a nice atmosphere Opportunities available to work for some great clients

    Cons

    Communications between academy and sales could be better

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  4. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Current Mountie

    30 Nov 2012 - Applications Support Analyst in London, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I seeked employment for five months after I finished university, and failed to gain ONE interview in this time. I trained in Application Support and have just been placed at Barclays after 4 months at FDM. It has been hard on my money, but as a route into the world of finance, it is helped. FDM could improve some areas, the VBA course is one example. But it is a lie to say they mis-inform you! I would like to point out that my experience differs greatly from some of the reviews I have seen. I knew entirely about the salary, when I would be paid, the 2 year commitment. It was discussed in my first interview and on the assessment day! In all honesty, My experience of FDM has been mostly positive, especially now I have been placed. I am personal friends with 3 members of staff and to even suggest that they have "no moral ethics" is very strange. I am sure other mounties will suggest I jump on the bandwagon and write an overly negative opinion of my time at FDM, but the truth is my experience has been what I expected, and I got what I wanted out of it, which was a job and the chance at work in the finance sector. THATS THE MAIN THING!

    Cons

    The salary could be bigger in London. We are left to independantly learn Training is difficult at points

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    IT Career Kickstarter

    25 Apr 2014 - Applications Support Analyst in London, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Working for FDM has been a great experience for me. The commercially-relevant training instantly gave me credibility as a qualified IT professional. I have worked with some fantastic clients and had invaluable exposure at an early stage in my career, which allowed me to progress faster than expected. Most importantly I have met some great like-minded people on my FDM journey.

    Cons

    The initial training is very intense and unpaid, which can be a struggle, but if you can get through it, its all uphill there onwards. Also the fixed salary for the first two years is not great, especially when you are expected to be geographically flexible, but you learn so much in these two years and can command almost double in your 3rd year.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Great career kick-starter after graduation

    25 Feb 2016 - Java Developer/Applications Supports in Falkirk, Scotland, Scotland
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -Many blue-chip clients available -Thorough training -Reliable employment -Pleasant training environment -No experience required -Company is growing extremely quickly -Travel to training academy is paid for you

    Cons

    -Geographical flexibility within UK required for your first 2 years -Training is unpaid -After training is complete, it may take a while for you to be placed (this period is also unpaid) -You are required to try to get every placement presented to you, you cannot pick and choose which ones you want -You may be placed doing something different from what you trained in (I trained as a Java Dev, and am about to start a placement in Application Support.)

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful

    FDM Group Response

    CIO

    Thanks for posting your feedback. It says you're a current employee so if you had time to discuss your "transparency" and "valued" advice I'd appreciate the chance to discuss. Jonathan Young CIO

  7. 2.0
    Current Employee

    OK in terms of getting experience of the financial IT area, but not much else.

    3 May 2012 - Applications Support Analyst in London, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The only reason I see as beneficial from working with FDM has been the chance to gain experience in financial (investment bank in my case) IT industry.

    Cons

    - Renumeration is less than the equivalent level (entry/graduate) roles for permanent employees at financial insitutions. - No real benefits other than a salary (no pension, bike2work, dental etc etc) - The training is not a very high standard (class environment is akin to being back at sixth form college unfortunately) - No objectives setting when on a placement, no apparaisal/review system. Left to your own devices unless you have any issues.

    Continue reading
    15 people found this review helpful
  8. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Not Competitive

    24 Jul 2017 - Applications Support Analyst in London, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Easy entry into IT from other industries. The oppurtunity to work at one of their clients that are impossible to get into otherwise.

    Cons

    Not flexible with doing extra training. Poor/No colleague perks. Poor pay packed. Minimum holidays. No sick pay. Poor treatment of staff. Aggressive account managers. You can be placed anywhere around the country. No choice of who you want to be placed with (unless you get there first).

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful

    FDM Group Response

    CIO

    Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are always looking for ways to improve and if you are willing to meet with me to discuss your ideas further, I would welcome the opportunity. I am particularly keen to speak about the additional training you would like to take. I am confused about your comment around flexibility as we continuously encourage further training. We also offer Pluralsight to continue learning and developing your skills. Please come and see me or email me at Jonathan.Young@fdmgroup.com Jonathan Young – CIO

  9. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great for getting a foot in the door of some amazing companies

    18 Jul 2016 - Applications Consultant in London, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The client list, FDM has some great clients and after 2 years you could find yourself working at a company you could never have got into on your own.

    Cons

    Pay is low, 2 year contract could be seen as a pro or a con. Training is unpaid so self funding through could be an issue for some

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful

    FDM Group Response

    CIO

    Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We value all the feedback we receive and are always looking for ways to improve. Jonathan Young - CIO

  10. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Great to get a foot in the door of an investment bank, poorly paid

    4 May 2013 - Applications Support Analyst in London, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Can almost guarantee you a job in an investment wih the prospects of a great career Nearly all investment banks are their clients

    Cons

    Money terrible; 22k yr 1 27k yr2 After the two yrs if you want to go contracting with your employer u have to either buy out for 3months gross or leave for 6 months and come back

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 38 Reviews

Popular Careers with FDM Group Job Seekers

Graduate Consultant
Learn About the Job
JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at FDM Group? Share Your Experiences

FDM Group logo
or