FDM Group Applications Support Analyst Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

FDM Group Applications Support Analyst Reviews

Updated Nov 27, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.4
84%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
FDM Group CEO Rod Flavell
Rod Flavell
16 Ratings
  1. Helpful (4)

    "IT Career Kickstarter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Applications Support Analyst in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FDM Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working for FDM has been a great experience for me. The commercially-relevant training instantly gave me credibility as a qualified IT professional. I have worked with some fantastic clients and had invaluable exposure at an early stage in my career, which allowed me to progress faster than expected. Most importantly I have met some great like-minded people on my FDM journey.

    Cons

    The initial training is very intense and unpaid, which can be a struggle, but if you can get through it, its all uphill there onwards. Also the fixed salary for the first two years is not great, especially when you are expected to be geographically flexible, but you learn so much in these two years and can command almost double in your 3rd year.

    Advice to Management

    Think up of some performance related bonus.

    FDM Group2014-04-25
  2. "Great place to work where people want to listen to you"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Applications Support Analyst in Leeds, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FDM Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great training environment with loads of support and a nice atmosphere Opportunities available to work for some great clients

    Cons

    Communications between academy and sales could be better

    Advice to Management

    Please sort out the communication between account managers and consultants

    FDM Group2019-01-22
  3. "Good for Graduates but get out after 2 Years!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Applications Support Analyst in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FDM Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Training - Access to Big Companies - Opportunities at different Countries

    Cons

    - Low Pay during the first 2 Years - No Pay during Training - Hard to get support and communicate with Staff

    FDM Group2018-08-06
  4. "Exploiters"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Applications Support Analyst in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at FDM Group for less than a year

    Pros

    If you can afford your expenditures from 6 months to a full year without getting paid, it can be for you

    Cons

    The business idea is to scoop possible candidates from market and charge present them from FDM side and keep the lion's share of what they make

    Advice to Management

    Some basic salary should be introduced

    FDM Group2018-02-14
  5. Helpful (5)

    "Not Competitive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Applications Support Analyst in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at FDM Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Easy entry into IT from other industries. The oppurtunity to work at one of their clients that are impossible to get into otherwise.

    Cons

    Not flexible with doing extra training. Poor/No colleague perks. Poor pay packed. Minimum holidays. No sick pay. Poor treatment of staff. Aggressive account managers. You can be placed anywhere around the country. No choice of who you want to be placed with (unless you get there first).

    Advice to Management

    More holidays and full holiday pay for those days would make this a perfect package. Offer additional training...even when been placed, it might encourage people to stay on into their third year. I would love to recommend the program but I still wouldn't, fixing the holiday pay scheme would change things.

    FDM Group2017-07-24
  6. "Fun, challenging and fast paced with great career prospects. Fast growing company."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Applications Support Analyst in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FDM Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fast growing company Extensive client list Fantastic opportunities for graduates

    Cons

    No major cons as yet.

    FDM Group2013-06-14
  7. "Great to get a foot in the door of an investment bank, poorly paid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Applications Support Analyst in London, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at FDM Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Can almost guarantee you a job in an investment wih the prospects of a great career Nearly all investment banks are their clients

    Cons

    Money terrible; 22k yr 1 27k yr2 After the two yrs if you want to go contracting with your employer u have to either buy out for 3months gross or leave for 6 months and come back

    Advice to Management

    Don't be so tight with the money, look after your staff

    FDM Group2013-05-04
  8. "Application Support Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Applications Support Analyst in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at FDM Group for less than a year

    Pros

    Good experience, lots of learning opportunities using different softwares and skill sets. Good opportunity to get into the finance and IT sectors

    Cons

    Some trainings are good, but not enough practise. Some trainings are useless and spent too much time on them. No wages, need to support yourself for the duration of the training and 90 days. (Min:10 weeks Max: 6 months)

    FDM Group2013-03-21
  9. "Current Mountie"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Applications Support Analyst in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FDM Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I seeked employment for five months after I finished university, and failed to gain ONE interview in this time. I trained in Application Support and have just been placed at Barclays after 4 months at FDM. It has been hard on my money, but as a route into the world of finance, it is helped. FDM could improve some areas, the VBA course is one example. But it is a lie to say they mis-inform you! I would like to... point out that my experience differs greatly from some of the reviews I have seen. I knew entirely about the salary, when I would be paid, the 2 year commitment. It was discussed in my first interview and on the assessment day! In all honesty, My experience of FDM has been mostly positive, especially now I have been placed. I am personal friends with 3 members of staff and to even suggest that they have "no moral ethics" is very strange. I am sure other mounties will suggest I jump on the bandwagon and write an overly negative opinion of my time at FDM, but the truth is my experience has been what I expected, and I got what I wanted out of it, which was a job and the chance at work in the finance sector. THATS THE MAIN THING!

    Show More

    Cons

    The salary could be bigger in London. We are left to independantly learn Training is difficult at points

    Advice to Management

    relate more to mounties, perhaps arrnage more events where current trainers interact with account managers.

    FDM Group2012-11-30
  10. Helpful (15)

    "OK in terms of getting experience of the financial IT area, but not much else."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Applications Support Analyst in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at FDM Group

    Pros

    The only reason I see as beneficial from working with FDM has been the chance to gain experience in financial (investment bank in my case) IT industry.

    Cons

    - Renumeration is less than the equivalent level (entry/graduate) roles for permanent employees at financial insitutions. - No real benefits other than a salary (no pension, bike2work, dental etc etc) - The training is not a very high standard (class environment is akin to being back at sixth form college unfortunately) - No objectives setting when on a placement, no apparaisal/review system. Left to your own... devices unless you have any issues.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    See those items listed in the pros and cons above. This is intended as constructive, for anyone looking up the compant on glassdoor.

    FDM Group2012-05-03
Found 23 reviews