FDM Group Consultant Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

FDM Group Consultant Reviews

Updated 11 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 251 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
65%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
FDM Group CEO Rod Flavell
Rod Flavell
143 Ratings
  1. "Not bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Business Consultant in London, England

      I have been working at FDM Group full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      nice clients and you gain great exposure an experience to kick start your career

      Cons

      Relocations across the UK can be difficult

      Advice to Management

      Care for your consultants like the way you do for your internal staff

      FDM Group2019-05-17
    • "Can offer great opportunities but expect to be thrown in the deep end"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - IT Consultant in London, England
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at FDM Group full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Offers some great opportunities for a graduate struggling to get there foot in the door.

      Cons

      Little to no support or interaction with their consultants once they go on site, over priced training fees that are held over your head to keep you in the company for the initial 2 years.

      Advice to Management

      Focus on consultant development and make them feel like they are actually a part of the company and insentavise employees to stay after 2 years rather than forcing to and you might be able to retain more staff.

      FDM Group2019-06-11
    • "Good for gradyates not professionals"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Consultant in Leeds, England
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at FDM Group full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Access to big companies

      Cons

      Below market salary Unfair employment contracts

      FDM Group2019-06-05
    • "Software Tester"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - FDM Consultant in London, England
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at FDM Group full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Good career opportunities Good salary package after 2 years Some Account Managers are very helpful Large base of clients and locations to go to

      Cons

      Lack of communication You are on your own on client site Very often finding out about contract at last minute

      Advice to Management

      Focus bit more on people who are on site, there is very often lack of communication with consultants

      FDM Group2019-05-02
    • "Honest review of FDM Graduate Scheme"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Consultant in Birmingham, England
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I have been working at FDM Group for more than a year

      Pros

      Employment for two years. They solve the problem of getting a job in the IT industry with no or little experience. I have been lucky to get a good placement in a good location. That’s the only reason this review gets 3 stars.

      Cons

      Academy: My academy experience was a mixed bag. It’s fast paced so if you apply yourself and put the work in you will do well and get a lot out of it. If you expect the trainers or other people to do things for you are probably not cut out for it. The academy I trained at was disorganised; trainers came in late often and then left before lunch on a Friday when we had loads of content to learn. We had so many problems...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Make the benefits package more representative to the fee you charge for consultants and the type of work they do. Consider altering the training travel bursary to include the option of one upfront payment to allow trainees to rent a room near the academy if it’s too far to travel everyday. Hold your staff accountable to the same standards you expect of the trainees in both the larger and smaller academies. Modernise...

      Show More
      FDM Group2019-05-06
    • "Be very cautious!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Consultant in London, England
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at FDM Group full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Opens doors to jobs and clients that would otherwise normally be out of reach.

      Cons

      You're told where to work and have no say in the matter, wherever the location may be or what your personal circumstances are. The wage you're paid if you're placed in London is ridiculous. Good luck living comfortably! You're treated as a resource and not as a person. As soon as you're on placement they're not bothered about you, as long as you're making the company and the account managers money. Account managers...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      You've had a long time to listen to people's advice and never taken it so what I say here is not going to change FDM for the better. I'd just like prospective employees to know what to expect. I certainly wouldn't recommend the company to anyone.

      FDM Group2019-05-23
    • Helpful (2)

      "Mixed Feelings"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - IT Consultant in London, England
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at FDM Group full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      - Well connected firm with good reputation. - Chance to gain valuable skills and experiences, depending on the project(s) you secure. - Can be a good stepping stone if skills and experiences are properly utilised.

      Cons

      - Due to the high supply of consultants at the firm; consultants tend to be treated as a number, because they can easily be replaced. - Account managers do not know the skills and experiences of consultants to recommend them for suitable jobs; account managers use the ”shot gun” approach, that is they tend to offer the client 10+ candidates for a position. The client likely selects consultant out of the bunch. - Limited...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      While FDM worked out for me, I am aware of plenty of consultants who have had horrible experiences with the company. The most noticeable problem for me, is the business model used by the firm; it capitalises on the large supply of graduates each year who are hungry to work for a financial institution. As such, consultants are treated as short term assets that the company makes large profits on for the first 2 years. ...

      Show More
      FDM Group2019-04-13
    • Helpful (1)

      "You get exactly what you sign up for"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - BI Consultant in Leeds, England
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I have been working at FDM Group full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      They are honest about what the contract entails They do work with some very large firms, It is a great opportunity to get a big name on the CV The stream specific training was good The 2 years is a good time to get your skills polished for the next stage of your career

      Cons

      2 years is too long of a commitment, 18 months would be a better starting point. Low salary compared to similar institutions As a firm they aren't terribly interested in your development, it's really on you to work out what you want to get out of your placement (an approach I actually rather appreciated but I know is a drawback for many)

      FDM Group2019-03-29
    • "Been with FDM for over a year"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - IT Consultant in Leeds, England
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook

      I have been working at FDM Group full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      -Excellent client base (think long term in regards the experience you will pick up) -Geographically spread (opportunities abroad) -Can apply with a 2.2 and not as competitive as other grad schemes

      Cons

      -Poor salary & benefits -Basic training (Must pay for further training and qualifications) -Poor communication and disconnect when it comes to account managers and consultants.

      Advice to Management

      Improve communication especially when contract is nearing its end. Forward planning for that consultant about potential jobs coming up. -Openness and transparency about roles (i.e. A PMO being asked to a ITSM/technical role)

      FDM Group2019-03-19
    • Helpful (6)

      "Not good people"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - IT Consultant in Leeds, England
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at FDM Group full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Have links with some large, high profile companies. Pay is decent if you are just out of university.

      Cons

      HR, Account Managers and Sales people treat trainees and consultants with utter contempt. Your concerns and opinions fall on deaf ears. You won't feel valued as a person. You get little choice on your future. Frequently lied to and deceived by the FDM head office staff. Regular displays of incompetence from admin, finance and HR staff lead to errors and miscommunication. Annual Leave is at the legal minimum.

      Advice to Management

      Treat consultants and trainees like humans instead of the dirt on your shoe. Stop ignoring emails and communicate better with employees.

      FDM Group2019-04-04
    Found 251 reviews