FDM Group FDM Mountie Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Find jobs for FDM Mountie

FDM Group FDM Mountie Reviews

Updated 18 Sep 2014

To filter reviews, or .

Found 17 reviews

2.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
52%
Recommend to a Friend
41%
Approve of CEO
FDM Group CEO Rod Flavell
Rod Flavell
13 Ratings
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Great career progression and the opportunity to work abroad!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - FDM Mountie in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FDM Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    International Opportunities Fast career progression Exposure to blue chip companies No commercial experience needed to apply

    Cons

    The training is unpaid, but the pro's out-weigh the con's. If you can afford to support yourself financially through the training up until you are placed then it is well worth doing!!

    FDM Group2013-12-04
  2. Helpful (9)

    "Easy to get in, difficult to get out"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - FDM Mountie in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at FDM Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Easy to get in You might get a temp job Gets you into a routine Central training locations

    Cons

    Us and them mentality if you are on the mountie scheme Training ( with no pay ) can go on for as long as FDM choose - regardless of whether you've run out of money Hard to get out with a £20k penalty if you go or are chucked out - which they seem to do for very minor transgressions Awful pay - impossible to get more because you can't leave No real prospects No job at the end of 2 years Negative environment

    Advice to Management

    God knows. Do they care?

    FDM Group2014-09-19
  3. "This is an employment agency with expensive training bolt-on"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - FDM Mountie in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at FDM Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It's difficult to say anything genuinely positive - I joined further to reading a huge amount of positive things - primarily from the self serving and self promoting 'directors' of this scheme. What I 'bought' was NOT what I was 'sold'

    Cons

    Just a torrent of excuses, blaming others and general unreliable information, which is broadcast on all wavelengths making it difficult to ever know what is going on

    Advice to Management

    None whatsoever - you know what you do and you know how you are doing it

    FDM Group2014-03-10
  4. Helpful (8)

    "Nice 'conveyor belt' business model, but can I get off please?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - FDM Mountie in London, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at FDM Group full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    They have some good sales people, they even talked me into signing up, so they definitely know what they're doing. Also good that we have access to Glassdoor, so that we can actually communicate with management without being summarily dismissed for rocking the rapidly sinking boat.

    Cons

    Still waiting to be signed off so that I can move on with my career, which will be a darn sight better than being paid NOTHING while waiting for jobs because they don't have any. Sorry, I mean waiting for my skills to be at the required level - yeah, right!

    FDM Group2013-10-24
  5. Helpful (8)

    "Untrustworthy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - FDM Mountie in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at FDM Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Low bar to acceptance Central Location A qualification at the end of 'training' Possibility that temporary placement could lead to a permanent position

    Cons

    Far from certain to get a placement - despite initial promises when you first contact them/they contact you No guarantee - if you do get a placement - of the quality of the job Pay very poor - You sign away at least 2 and a half years sometimes 3 for total pay of less than 45k over your stay. You have to relocate ( sometimes more than once ) and try to live on this At the end of your 2 years work with FDM - ...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I think that you should 'front up'. This isn't a technology company, as you try to portray yourself, it's a temp agency with a nasty sting in the tail that keeps people beholden to you even after they have gone

    FDM Group2013-10-15
  6. Helpful (10)

    "You have no control of what happens once you sign the £20,000 contract"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - FDM Mountie in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at FDM Group for more than a year

    Pros

    You might get a temp placement with a credible company doing something that you want to do which might add to your resume

    Cons

    You might train (yourself) for 6-9 months and get no placement - this is not uncommon You might train for 6-9 months and get a temp placement doing something you don't want to do - I repeat you have no control once you are at FDM. THe £20,000 serves to keep you doing exactly what you are told regardless of whether it is in your best interests Some of the placements are a joke - doing crap jobs for crap companies...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You are single handedly undercutting wages of the industry and undercutting employment rights with your cynical exploitation of people. You have reduced computer work to the lowest common denominator. Your mask of "aren't we great people" doesn't wash for a second with anyone after they have been tied into your miserable, exploitative, self-serving, parasitical contract

    FDM Group2013-05-16
  7. Helpful (8)

    "As greedy as they get..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - FDM Mountie in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at FDM Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Provided me a placement in a great blue chip company.

    Cons

    Unlike EVERY other agency that provides contract work who usually take no more than a 20% percent cut from your pay, FDM take a whopping near 70%!! Granted they provide you with a some training to begin with, but 70% is completely and utterly unjustifiable. IMO

    Advice to Management

    You know what the market rate is, you should at least meet half way.

    FDM Group2013-05-02
  8. Helpful (12)

    "Low morale, poor training, no communication"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - FDM Mountie in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at FDM Group full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    *Good to be taken seriously as a woman in IT *London office is nice, and good location

    Cons

    Looking at other reviews, I'm afraid I can't really add much new to the mix *Low morale - general sense of unease in the London office that opportunities are few. This could just be due to trading conditions *Poor level of training - I did not expect to have such little instructor feedback *No communication - It's hard to know what's really going on, except for the inspirational speech at the party, which makes me...

    Show More
    FDM Group2013-02-18
  9. Helpful (10)

    "Train yourself, then get paid very little."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - FDM Mountie in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at FDM Group (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Guaranteed job if you're going to put the work in and prep for interviews

    Cons

    Training is almost unassisted, it's basically sitting in a big room, and we're all teaching ourselves from online material. I was lead to believe that the training would be more instructor based. Finding out the rates that are charged for our services to companies was a big shock, I think it's very unethical for the company to make so much money, pay us so little, and not pay us anything at all during the training. Overall...

    Show More
    FDM Group2013-02-15
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Provides you with opportunities but not a guaranteed job."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - FDM Mountie in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at FDM Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Adequate training with competent trainers (for dev streams at least). Opportunities to work abroad if you prove competent. Guaranteed Interviews with top companies if you display promise.

    Cons

    Training is sink or swim, if you don't keep up you will quickly get left behind. Whether you get a job is based on how competent you are at both your discipline and interview techniques. You are "FDM's product" and it certainly feels like it. Salary could be better.

    Advice to Management

    n/a

    FDM Group2013-01-06
Found 17 reviews