FDM Group Graduate Trainee Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Find jobs for Graduate Trainee

FDM Group Graduate Trainee Reviews

Updated 31 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
70%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
FDM Group CEO Rod Flavell
Rod Flavell
5 Ratings
  1. Helpful (18)

    "Avoid If Possible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Trainee in Glasgow, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at FDM Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There are a only a few benefits to working with FDM, the training they provide isn't that bad, and you are provided with many opportunities for placements with large companies, getting you that much needed experience needed in today's job market!

    Cons

    With the pro's in mind, it's very very important to consider the various downsides to working at FDM, these include: - The Training is completely unpaid, and the work is full time, making it very difficult to find the time to work a part time job to make any form of money during your training. -Furthermore, you are forced to become "geographically flexible", you could be asked to relocate from Glasgow to... London for example at short notice, and FDM will either offer you a week in a hotel, or two weeks of your rent. This is subpar considering the high costs of living somewhere like London, having likely just graduated from University and being working unpaid for 3-6 months, it's not very likely anyone has the money lying around to be able to fund this move without support from family or some other source. - On top of this, the salary is incredibly poor, you'll barely be paid graduate level salary, and this doesn't change depending on where you are placed, no matter how much higher the cost of living may end up being. - You have absolutely no choice as to where you end up placed, you'll be given an interview, most of the time at short notice, then you'll have to attend these interviews despite knowing very little as to what the job entails, as with in my case, the job I was told about, and the job I interviewed for could not be more difficult.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Your employees are the life blood of your company, show them a little more respect and support them the best you can, the company would make a lot more money if consultants stayed on after the two year contract. Yet there's absolutely no benefit to doing so, the salary is still a joke, and the benefits and support are pathetic at best. Exploiting recent graduates and the ex-forces is not a respectable business... model.

    Show More
    FDM Group2017-03-10
  2. Helpful (6)

    "FDM graduate scheme"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Graduate Trainee in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at FDM Group full-time

    Pros

    Working here can potentially provide you with opportunities and get you in the door for sectors you wouldn't be able to get into yourself Access to a lot of information and learning material

    Cons

    My main frustration with this company comes from the account managers, the people in charge of placing you after you have finished training. I have found a few of them (not all) to be rude and unprofessional and I think this culture is something management really need to do something about. Upon finishing training I've found there is a very harmful trend of placement interviews and opportunities all going to... the same people. There are trainees in the company who have finished their training, been with the company for 3 months and have not yet had a single interview while others I have seen others get 5/6 interviews within a few weeks. When I took this up with the management, I was told they are aware but speaking with the account managers it is clear to me this is not the case. Communication between account managers and trainees is very very poor.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Ensure trainees get an equal chance to put themselves forward. Make more of an effort to get to know the consultants you are trying to place and make sure nobody is overlooked. Communicate more with trainees

    FDM Group2017-03-05
  3. Helpful (8)

    "Graduate programme"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Graduate Trainee in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at FDM Group

    Pros

    Some good work experience opportunities

    Cons

    -Long training period and unpaid -excessive work load - supervisors take credit for all your hard work - minimum wage

    FDM Group2016-07-02
  4. Helpful (14)

    "FDM is a dictatorship that is ready to get rid of it's trainees if they realise you are unprofitable"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Graduate Trainee in Leeds, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at FDM Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Self-taught training is a good thing to gain

    Cons

    - ''training'' is mostly teaching yourself as trainers can be away on meetings for whole days. - training does not really cater to beginners - trainees are dispensable and you have little say in where you want to work. - misinformation is a regular part of life at FDM - you can be unplaced and unpaid for up to 90 days after you complete your training (which you are not told prior to your training) - like all... other companies, FDM only cares about profit for itself however they will lie and make false claims and contradict each other

    Show More
    FDM Group2015-12-02
  5. Helpful (3)

    "APAC Program"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Graduate Trainee in London, England

    I have been working at FDM Group

    Pros

    Good overall Academy environment. Great Asia client base. Good management team

    Cons

    Highly dependant on market conditions in regards to availability of roles Lack of communication with trainees from account managers Lack of feedback from client interviews (without it, hard to self improve)

    FDM Group2015-09-01
  6. "/"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Graduate Trainee 

    I have been working at FDM Group full-time

    Pros

    Good training programme for fresh graduates

    Cons

    Tied to 2 years contract

    FDM Group2019-08-31
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Graduate trainee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Trainee in Hong Kong
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FDM Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Well supporting networks Good career planning

    Cons

    Training subsidy low not sure where to go

    FDM Group2018-07-23
  8. "A fruitful journey"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Trainee in Hong Kong
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FDM Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Graduates get this unmatched opportunity of working with big names in financial services industry on rotational bases, which is not provided by any other graduate programs -The roles that FDM's clients (Investment Banks & Financial Services Firm) have to offer are in Entry-Mid level roles. This means that these graduates get a significant role in a big firm which they otherwise would not have got as a fresh... graduate. So there's an amazing learning opportunity -It is not a recruitment firm. It trains its trainees, provide them with various certifications which would have cost them a lot if they had to do them on their own. -After working for 2 years with FDM clients, you get an opportunity to be internalised by one of them- meaning great salary and benefits at a Mid level role after just 2 years of work experience -FDM also provides international opportunities for its outstanding candidates- harder you work, more you get rewarded -FDM is a like a family to all the consultants placed at different banks and they all get together every once in a while to celebrate their journey. Events organised are great and fun

    Show More

    Cons

    -The contract is for 2 years- however after 2 years you have a possibility to get internalised directly by one of the FDM's clients at great benefits or you could continue to work with FDM

    FDM Group2017-08-02
Found 8 reviews