FDM Group Java Developer Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Find jobs for Java Developer

FDM Group Java Developer Reviews

Updated Dec 3, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.8
68%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
FDM Group CEO Rod Flavell
Rod Flavell
29 Ratings
  1. "Great! (if you can survive the no pay period)."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Java Developer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FDM Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Huge blue chip company connections will get yout through the door at places where you wouldn't have been considered before. Training is pretty good Good learning environment

    Cons

    Hefty fees No pay during training (which can be 3-4 months) Won't have much luck doing the training if you don't have family near a training centre to live for free/cheap

    Advice to Management

    Maybe have a low reimbursement to help with cost of living for people who are training

    FDM Group2017-02-24
  2. "Getting your foot in the door"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Java Developer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FDM Group for more than a year

    Pros

    Allows you to get a lot of interview experience Provides useful training

    Cons

    Two years minimum contract Relatively low rate of pay Lack of communication when you're on site

    Advice to Management

    Get account managers to contact their people more often.

    FDM Group2019-05-09
  3. Helpful (29)

    "Be VERY careful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Java Developer in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at FDM Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Training is useful for someone wanting to enter the IT industry without a background in technology. To someone with a background in technology, this is a waste of time and money as the training covers nothing more than your Computer Science degree did. - Training environment is great, the teachers are attentive and do what they can to help you through the process. - By far the biggest benefit, and the main... reason most people choose FDM - their client list is second to none for a graduate recruiter.

    Show More

    Cons

    I'm not going to labor the usual cons. They've been dealt with thoroughly in other reviews and are all valid, my issues with FDM are much more serious. - Training Contract / Employment Contract. When you start the training, you sign the 'Training Contract'. As has been stated by the COO & CIO in response to other reviews, there is a clause in this contract that gives you a 2 week cooling off period to trial the... training to see if it's suitable for you. The Training Contract states that you agree to pay the full cost of the course, which they cap at £20k, at the end of the course, or sign the Employment Contract. The Employment Contract states you have to work for FDM for 2 years. All of these details so far, FDM are open about. What they aren't open about is the contents of the Employment Contract, which does NOT match the promises that they make during the assessment day and the training. When you get to the end of the training and are presented with a choice, sign an Employment Contract, or pay £20k, the average graduate doesn't have an option but to sign it, even after reading the contract for the first time and finding the little surprises hidden therein. Here's a couple: FDM Claim: Throughout the assessment day and training, you're continuously told a statistic - "X% of employees once they finish their 2 year period are employed by the Blue Chip company they are on placement with" Reality: The Employment Contract contains a clause that states that if you terminate your contract, you can not work for any of the clients you have been on placement with. HR claim that this will be waived once the two years are completed, yet there is no clause in the Employment Contract for this. FDM Claim: "A salary of £21,500 1st year, £25,000 second year". Reality: This is nonsense. The Employment Contract states your salary is £18,000 per year, for both the first and the second year. This is the figure that matters. This is the figure that's counted on credit card applications, or mortgage applications. FDM gets to the figure of £21.5k and £25k by adding in their 'daily bonus'. The daily bonus is added to your salary for every day you work on a clients site, and it's paid the month following the work. What they fail to mention is that this daily bonus is 100% optional for them to pay, they have no contractual obligation to follow through on their claim, your actual secured and contracted salary is only £18,000 for each of the two years. The benefits to joining FDM are big, access to clients that are very hard to enter through the front door can give your career a great start. Just make sure you are fully aware of what you're signing up to. You are a product to FDM, not an employee, and they treat you that way. If I had a choice knowing what I know now, I wouldn't have joined FDM.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You do some great work in the industry supporting ex-military & supporting women in IT. It's very disappointing that the level of passion you put into those causes does not follow through with how you treat your consultants. Your consultants are your products as defined by your business model, but you forget that we are also employees & real people. I'm not complaining from the point of view of the salary -... when I signed up, I signed up understanding I would be paid significantly lower than average. My problem revolves around how the remainder of the organisation treats and views us as consultants. In the past I've contacted HR/Consultant Support, and received arrogant and patronizing responses to serious issues. You, as the Management team, keep repeating in your comments on Glassdoor that you value your employees. That might be true, but the rest of your organisation doesn't. Until you correct the ingrained belief of the rest of the company that they are 'higher' than the consultants and are allowed to treat consultants that way, you will continue to have a high percentage of unhappy consultants, which generate negative reviews on websites like this. Lastly, take my comments about your employment contract seriously. The two points detailed in the section above are just the tip of the iceberg of inconsistencies.

    Show More
    FDM Group2017-08-14
  4. Helpful (14)

    "With the benefit of hindsight I would not have joined"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Java Developer in Leeds, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at FDM Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    An introduction to a working type environment for recent graduates and a reintroduction to civvy st for ex forces staff. A real sense of camaraderie with fellow trainees. I made some good friends in the academy that I will keep in touch with. Good interview training. Initial training is of high quality (Common weeks Pro skills, SQL, Excel) though it is very much over valued by FDM. So much so that I felt after... these weeks I knew the subjects well enough to instruct them myself Could be a good introduction to IT for non stem grads but if you aren't enjoying it by the end of week 2 leave. A corporate subscription to pluralsight for upskilling

    Show More

    Cons

    A very poor (possibly unenforceable) contract that hangs over you for 2 years. I don't believe that FDM fulfilled the terms of its training agreement with me and had they attempted to recoup their overvalued "investment" I would have fought them in court and according to my solicitor I would have won, my advice to any prospective hire is that they note every interaction with HR and management in any way and if... called into a meeting ask for minutes to be taken and a witness to sit in. The sense of camaraderie is driven by a sense of us vs them in the way there would be camaraderie amongst prisoners vs their guards No money Little to no communication with the account managers who are supposed to be finding consultants roles. After the initial well structured training the development training is not of the same calibre and to be honest a Udemy or pluralsight course would teach you just as much. No certification for the development courses. Though there is for some of the other streams.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop messing with these reviews, having spoken to every single FDM consultant I'm still in touch with not one single one of your employees that I know rates the company at 5 stars. Stop lying about the churn of trainee consultants. Prospective trainees are told by over eager recruiters that 3/4% of trainees are unplaced. I find this incredibly hard to believe given that I know as many released staff as I do working... consultants. If management reply to this they will say these 4% figures are true but I can name 70 to 80 trainees off the top of my head and at least 30 who weren't placed. Stop the churn. Hire fewer better quality trainees and pay more attention to the training of those trainees. Tailor the training to the client and give individual syllabuses to trainees. Tie the process of recruitment and placement closer. Pay and treat consultants better and maybe you wouldn't need to hire so many as more would stay.

    Show More
    FDM Group2017-07-06
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Exciting adventure after graduating"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Java Developer in Glasgow, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FDM Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The training is highly-standard, taught by really good trainers, in where you learn a huge range of skills related to the IT world (SQL, Excel, UNIX, WebApp...) While the time you attend in the Academy (training), you can ask for the reimbursement of the travel expenses, which helps a lot. If you are not placed just when you finish your training and you have to wait some weeks, in the meantime, they offer you... different ways to upskill in your IT area: free unlimited access to Pluralsight, free to join another course in the Academy... You receive a really good training on how to prepare for client interviews, with plenty of tips and mock interviews. The clients who FDM work for are big companies, big names, and usually, are located in main cities of the UK. During your placement, you receive full attention of the Consultant Support team and from your Account Manager.

    Show More

    Cons

    The fact of being geographically flexible in the UK could be a problem sometimes, depending on which is your situation. The salary is not quite a lot, but most of the employees are recent graduates, so we can not expect too much. If you break the contract before 2 years, you have to pay to FDM the training fees, which are £20.000 Despite the fact the training was really good, I think that's too much for just some... weeks. I would say that's the only important con of FDM.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Try to improve the communication between the Account Managers and the trainees. Having some meetings every week would help to get to know each other and make easy the search of placements.

    FDM Group2017-02-14
  6. Helpful (7)

    "Java Developer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Java Developer in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at FDM Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good start for fresh graduate. Lots of opportunity Good training Peers are good Good start for business student in IT industry.

    Cons

    Sales do not respect the consultants. However, without consultant, they are actually nothing even they have business. Compare to the other consulting firm, for example Deloitte Financial Advisory, sales of FDM are not come from the consultant. So, they always send wrong people to wrong place since they have no practical skill.

    Advice to Management

    To be honest, if the sales/senior management ignore the situation and keep treating consultant as machine, FDM can never be a top tier consulting firm. No consultant no consulting firm Sales should have consultancy background. Compare to the other consulting firm, partner/sales are come from consultant.

    FDM Group2017-01-03
  7. Helpful (8)

    "Disorganisation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Java Developer in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at FDM Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Excellent training - One of the only ways to get into junior dev roles and establish yourself without 2+ years of proffesional dev experience

    Cons

    - Hawkish, incompetent account managers - Unhelpful HR department - Guaranteed placements aren't guaranteed. I have been accepted to two placements, only for them to fall through mysteriously. No one cares that I haven't been paid for months while waiting for FDM to get their act together.

    Advice to Management

    Offer more support to consultants that you want to keep, rather than having them extend their contracts only to be ignored by everyone in the business.

    FDM Group2016-11-15
  8. "Java developer trainee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Java Developer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FDM Group for less than a year

    Pros

    Training staff are extremely knowledgable and helpful. Facilities and offices are clean, bright and professional helping to provide a good working environment. I think having to wear a full suit is useful as if you go to any office you will be wearing it and if like me you are going somewhere more casual it's a bonus. Prepare for the strictest and you are fine for everything. Account managers are very... approachable and helpful, but it's a two way street, if you put the effort in they are more than happy to put effort into you, I was placed 4 weeks before the end of my training and part of the reason is the work I put in to finding a placement . Great opportunities, I disagree with some reviews that doing it yourself would get you the same access, the large companies wouldn't touch you without professional training and training yourself in your bedroom isn't good quality. At FDM you are taught the principles that underpin good programming something you wouldn't necessarily get at home.

    Show More

    Cons

    I have been placed in London and while it is possible to find somewhere suitable to live I do feel a London weighting is not an unreasonable thing to request for working in central London, most organisations offer this and I feel moving to London would be more sought after if FDM provided a weighting.

    Advice to Management

    I would try to review the payment structure to try and provide an inner London weighting for current and future employees

    FDM Group2016-05-18
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Great career kick-starter after graduation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Java Developer/Applications Supports in Falkirk, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at FDM Group

    Pros

    -Many blue-chip clients available -Thorough training -Reliable employment -Pleasant training environment -No experience required -Company is growing extremely quickly -Travel to training academy is paid for you

    Cons

    -Geographical flexibility within UK required for your first 2 years -Training is unpaid -After training is complete, it may take a while for you to be placed (this period is also unpaid) -You are required to try to get every placement presented to you, you cannot pick and choose which ones you want -You may be placed doing something different from what you trained in (I trained as a Java Dev, and am about to ... start a placement in Application Support.)

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    -Provide more transparency to trainees regarding the placement process -Take steps to make the trainees feel more valued

    FDM Group2016-02-25
  10. Helpful (38)

    "Glorified puppy mill for graduates"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Java Developer in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at FDM Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    None - I know people who left FDM within their training and are doing well for themselves.

    Cons

    I do not recommend coming to this company, opt for another consultancy firm. Why? You are not treated like a valuable asset of the company instead you are treated like a number and you are constantly reminded by senior management that you are dispensable regardless of how many years you have served at this place. There is no comradery between account managers and consultants. The account managers are only out... for themselves and do not care what direction you'll like your career to move in. In the testing stream? they'll put you up for app support and BA roles and if you express a slight reluctance towards a certain role- off to HR you go for the sacking. There is a big divide between the sales team and consultants- to the point that sales team avoid bars consultants go to.HR only care about protecting the business there is no one to talk to "off the record" about concerns. Anytime you seem abit unsure about something or don't smile when they want to send your CV off to a role in Glasgow they try to intimidate you and then report you to HR. They don't care if you have any longterm commitments such as children, mortgage or health issues. As far as they are concerned you signed a contract even if those things arise after signing the contract. Constantly encouraged to go talk to account managers on the sales floor yet they dismiss you when you talk to them. Send emails and they ignore you. Refuse to disclose location and job description when they have a potential role. Approach them for actual roles you like on the status board and they lie to your face and say its been filled because they don't want to put you forward. So essentially for 2 years FDM own you.You have no say in what you want to do. Your 2 years start from when you are placed not during training! Some people have finished training (8-12 weeks) yet not placed and have been here 6 months. So thats a big portion of time to waste on this company. People might say as a pro you get a blue chip client on your cv. That is not always true, Most leave with no blue chip companies on their CVs at all. The only consultancy "firm" that forces you to sign in and out like children. The training is abysmal at best, you are treated like children throughout your lifetime at FDM and constantly being monitored. Can't even use any of the plugs in the office for personal laptops, Can't eat anything at your desks even a fruit (yet have witnessed trainers and sales team eating on their desk), bombarded with emails if your data bandwidth is too high, blocked from most websites. There's a reason they have a high turn over rate, You will find that after the 2 years contract is over most, if not all leave. There is absolutely no reason to continue to stay with the company as there is nothing gain. Why would you stay after 2 years when you are not guaranteed a role you like in a location you want and the 3rd year salary is not even up to market standard. You aren't even treated any better in 3rd year. If you have a bad experience with one of their clients in a placement or bad interview, they will take the client's side 100% of the time because they value them more.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop tricking vulnerable graduates into joining this company be upfront about the training cost Stop getting sales team to create fake positive reviews on this site to increase your ratings! You're nothing without your consultants so stop treating them like they are beneath you.

    FDM Group2015-11-03
Found 46 reviews