FDM Group Project Manager Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

FDM Group Project Manager Reviews

Updated Oct 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
49%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
FDM Group CEO Rod Flavell
Rod Flavell
13 Ratings
  1. "IT Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at FDM Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Foot in the door to blue chip companies

    Cons

    Must commit to geographically flexible

    FDM Group2019-06-04
  2. "working at fdm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Leeds, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at FDM Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Opens doors to opportunities that would normally be difficult to get into.

    Cons

    training with no pay was quite difficult.

    FDM Group2019-09-23
  3. Helpful (3)

    "The Worst Immoral Company in Existence"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at FDM Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nil I can think of

    Cons

    Immoral Incapable Account Managers Awful Ex Services Team Take 58% of your charge out rate Do not assist in any way DONOT Consider these crooks

    Advice to Management

    Become Human again and treat your employees with a modicum of respect.

    FDM Group2019-09-28
  4. "Rough with the smooth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FDM Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Exposure to some excellent companies Some excellent job opportunities Potential to earn good money

    Cons

    The atmosphere when on the bench between contracts becomes toxic and then leads to a downwards spiral of negativity Some very poor job opportunities Salary is low with the bonus making up a large percentage of take home Mental health awareness is discussed but rarely put into action

    Advice to Management

    Open up the client base Run one off training sessions at different times of the week to break up the monotony of "beached" life

    FDM Group2019-06-20
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Good way of getting your foot in the door of a good client, but FDM are not an employer who you can work for long term"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Digital Project Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at FDM Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good client base, and some great roles to be placed in to. Lots of scope to gain experience in your field. Pay is okay for a grad scheme, but low compared to market rates in IT once you get towards the end of the 2 year commitment.

    Cons

    No choice over where you get placed, even what role you do - if you're on the PMO stream and want to be a PM, FDM will place you in the next available business role such as a BA role and even roles that have nothing to do with IT - its bums on seats that counts to them unfortunately and their consultants are livestock to them - £££. That said, if you get lucky and get a client, role and location that suits you then... its great (fortunately I found myself in that position, but others aren't so lucky). There's no interest in retaining staff at all, you're tied in for 2 years with heavy financial penalties if you leave, and that's when FDM makes most of its money. They'll offer a much better rate in the 3rd year, but salaries don't rise, you just get a subtantial bonus increase (Salary is 20k basic rate for all consultants, 3rd year graduate stream would expect a c.15,000 bonus on top). There are next to no fringe benefits at all. Sick pay and pension are both very poor as only based on basic rate rather than full package.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Value your people more - for such a people-oriented business, the disregard for consultants is shocking - the most common feedback you hear from consultants is that FDM don't care and only get in touch when they want something and are impossible to get hold of when we need something from them. Improve the pay and benefits offering for staff - particularly those who have served beyond 2 years, the current model... doesn't give financial security - e.g. a single day off sick leaves consultants incomes down for the month. Don't forget that today's consultants are tomorrow's clients.

    Show More
    FDM Group2019-04-26
  6. "Good stepping stone into IT industry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at FDM Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Network, opportunities, training, opening doors to great placements

    Cons

    Slow to respond to HR issues, lack of onsite support, viewed as a resource and not an employee

    FDM Group2018-12-15
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Return to Work Consultant Scheme"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Support Manager in Manchester City Centre, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FDM Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Training is thorough, clients that you are placed with are of a high calibre . FDM staff are supportive and knowledgeable. Salaries are fair. Biggest pros are the opportunities available both during the two year placement period and thereafter in terms of clients and job roles.

    Cons

    7 weeks of training with some expenses paid, relatively reasonable amount but it can be a tight .

    FDM Group2018-07-15
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Back to Business - Glasgow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Consultant/Project Manager in Glasgow, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FDM Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I'd been looking for a role for 5 years, and not succeeded. FDM recognised my potential and took me through their intensive 7 week "Back to Business" programme in Glasgow, which gave really useful training, confidence building, and repeated interview practice. At the end of the seven weeks I had a successful interview, and two weeks later I'm in a role I enjoy with a great client. I wish I'd found FDM years ago.

    Cons

    Pay and benefits aren't the best, but I expect I'll probably transition to a permanent role with the client after 2 years, so only a minor issue for me

    Advice to Management

    None

    FDM Group2017-12-08
  9. "FDM Ex Forces Advanced Course"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Trainee Project Manager in Glasgow, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at FDM Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent modular training delivered by knowledgable training staff in a modern office environment. Gaining industry recognised project management qualifications & certification

    Cons

    Not many other than perhaps: No placement or job guarantees (but you need to understand the business model and accept the rules)

    Advice to Management

    Keep supporting and encouraging the valuable source of hugely experienced potential PMs from across the Armed Forces Family.

    FDM Group2017-10-29
  10. Helpful (7)

    "Good transition for Military"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at FDM Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Foot in the door route for many leaving the Military. Able to train and certify and in some excellent areas.

    Cons

    Flexibility of locations but also the unpaid during the first 6 weeks is not always welcomed and nor is a further 6 weeks after training if no placement is found. However this is briefed and is an individual risk.

    Advice to Management

    Consider a basic payment during training or between weeks 6-12 in order to ensure staff do no go 12 full weeks unpaid. Even £200 per week would be helpful.

    FDM Group2017-10-04
Found 20 reviews